Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Final Destiny, 29 Oct 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
This is it folks - the end of Destiny's Child - as Beyonce, Kelly and Michelle branch out on their various solo projects. It all ends in Vancouver, Canada this fall with the last concert of their world tour.
The group known as "The Best-selling Female Group of All Time" has morphed from a duo to a trio, to a quartet and back to a trio since their formation in 1990 through their first albums, and finally to this greatest hits album. The album has thirteen hits and three new songs, the first single being the group's last hurrah, "Stand Up For Love", officially the 2005 World Children's Day Anthem, and widely known as the song of hope for the victims of Hurricane Katrina. The other two new songs are the excellent dance/hip hop track "Check On it" featuring Slim Thug and the solid R&B song "Feel the Same Way I Do".
The other tracks are "No No No Part 2" featuring Wyclef Jean, the remix single from their first album "Destiny's Child" in 1998; the four hits from 1999's "The Writing's on the Wall"; four from the huge 2001 album "Survivor" the first album with Beyonce, Kelly and Michelle as a trio, and including mega hits "Independent Woman Part 1", "Bootylicious" and "Survivor"; and four from 2004's "Destiny Fulfilled".
This album is a "must-have" for any music collection, but as Destiny's Child have so many other great songs, you need to collect `em all. Buy it for yourself, and then buy it for your friends.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection of superb pop, 23 Nov 2007
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
For the first few years of the 21st century, Destiny's Child ruled the roost in terms of pop music. Their touch was golden, and pretty much everything they released was extremely successful in the UK or the USA, or both.

Listening to this collection, it's not difficult to know why. Their competence in carrying off great pop hooks is considerable, and their vocals are way better than those of people in so-called 'credible' Indie bands. Vocals should actually count for something, and by God can Beyonce Knowles carry a note.

Great pop music is all over this album, from the memorable 'Bills, Bills, Bills', to the utterly anthemic 'Independent Woman' and the similarly anthemic 'Survivor'. This was where Destiny's Child were at their best, promoting the idea of friendship and female solidarity, actually quite a positive message for a pop band to be putting across. Even sludgier songs like 'Emotion', a Bee-Gees cover, are carried off by the sheer force of Beyonce's voice, and if there is anyone who can not want to dance to 'Bootylicious', they must be one severely miserable so and so. 'Lose Your Breath' has a similar effect, hinting all too tantalisingly at what Destiny's Child may have gone on to release had they not split up when they did.

Buy this and revel in the past glories of arguably one of the greatest pop acts of all time, from these purveyors of damn near perfect pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destiny's Child Album, 28 May 2010
By 
K. Christie "karen" (liverpool england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
The album was fab, lots of the old music and very familiar songs. If you love Destiny's Child you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No. 1's..., 6 April 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
I cannot honestly say that Destiny's Child are my favourite trio, or my sort of music, not really. As a middle-aged prog rock lover who enjoys all sorts of music I thought I'd give the album a try and see what I'd been missing. I'd also bought and enjoyed much of Beyonce's album 'I Am... Sasha Fierce' and wanted to hear more from her earlier career.

Not really being into rap and hip-hop, some of the tracks featuring that more heavily didn't count as my favourites but the slower, more traditional songs, with their harmonies did. Songs such as 'Emotion' and the World Children's Day Anthem, 'Stand Up' might seem a bit boring to younger audiences but they were well crafted and superbly sung.

There were non that I actually disliked enough to skip and as a number 1 hit's album, I can appreciate that they represent Destiny Child's best work. For a relative oldie to enjoy as much as I did must say quite a lot about the sustained quality here on this, now, very good value CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miss You, 22 Oct 2005
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
Well it's that time of the year when 'Best of' albums start appearing from everywhere, including groups that only seem to release 1 single and think they can justify it with a 'Best of' album. Whatever. It's quite sad that DC have decided to split (boo hoo hoo) as they have belted out some of the finest tunes of the 90's and 00's, and this album documents their success from 'No, no, no' up to 'Girl'.
Sadly, there's a few missing, including my fave DC track, 'Get on The Bus' and the singles released from their debut album ('Illusion' being the highlight), but I'm yet to find a 'Best Of' album that has 'everything' you'd want to see on it. Not into the whole marking out of ten, but the tracks worth skipping to are: 'Say My Name', 'Bug A Boo', 'Bootylicious', 'Independent Women Part I', 'Soldier' (Feat. T.I. and Lil Wayne), 'Cater 2 U'.... I'm gonna end up listing them all here!
A collection well worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
Excellent item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it....., 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
I love this album would definitely recommend it to friends and family I play it all the time in my car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Destiny's Child, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
Brought as a present for my granddaughter who has had great fun listening to this and has really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: #1s (Audio CD)
Nicely put together and all the tracks bring back good memories when they were at the top of their careers, still we can only live in hope they get back together and make more great songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Damn they was good!!!!!!, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: #1's (MP3 Download)
Decided to buy this as i recently listened to Lose My Breath and was planning on downloading that song only but as i went thru the track list so many memories came flooding back!!!!!

Tracks like Jumpin' Jumpin' Say My Name Bug a Boo all classic then there is Survivor,Bootylicious,Girl,Solider and My fave Lose My Breath!!! I hope the decide on a new album soon!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

#1's
#1's by Destiny's Child (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews