Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight but lots of fun.
OK The title doesn't really help - Slutty sounds like a soft porn type film, which it isn't. This is an obviously gay, very lightweight, but very enjoyable film. The characters are over-the-top, yet I could recognise traits in friends of mine and it is easy to sympathise with them as the story evolves. Eventually, it all comes together and you realize that there are true...
Published on 12 May 2006 by Pete Kendricks

versus
29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ever the optimist, I gave it a spin...
... OH DEAR! I should have paid heed to the other, low-scoring reviews.

Don't be lured by the professional looking cover. This is pure amateaur night. It's poorly scripted, badly acted and just plain dull. And - as if falling short on these essentials wasn't bad enough, the sound quality is also hit and miss. Lunging from muffled mumbles one moment to TV...
Published on 3 Feb 2007 by R. LANGRISH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ever the optimist, I gave it a spin..., 3 Feb 2007
By 
R. LANGRISH (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
... OH DEAR! I should have paid heed to the other, low-scoring reviews.

Don't be lured by the professional looking cover. This is pure amateaur night. It's poorly scripted, badly acted and just plain dull. And - as if falling short on these essentials wasn't bad enough, the sound quality is also hit and miss. Lunging from muffled mumbles one moment to TV vibrating Club sound track the next. Laughingly memorable was a café scene which must surely have been filmed during a monsoon - I don't know why the characters didn't just give in and continue in mime! So there you have it.... I wasn't expecting much and not much is about all I got. Don't waste your time or your money on Slutty Summer.

(For the record - this reviewer is a partnered, 45 year old gay male).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My Own Fault!, 6 Nov 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
OK, I admit it I was tempted by the cover image, it is slutty! It is also nothing to do with the movie beyond showing two of the 'actors'! This is one of those films made by people who know gay men will go and see them because they're gay and want to support the cause so they don't have to try very hard. The script was supposedly written by the lead actor but I think he was making his words up (slowly) as he went along - which can work if you're Mike Leigh but doesn't here. I actually enjoy some really bad movies which entertain with their awfulness but this just left me with a feeling of resentment for the time it took out of my life -avoid at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst movie I have ever seen!, 23 April 2006
By 
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
If you think porn actors are bad ... wait till you see this movie. It is horrible. To say this is the gay version of "Sex and the city" is REALLY an insult to any self respecting gay person and to everyone who watches "Sex and the City". I fell asleep a couple of times during this movie. It is a really low budget production and not worth the money I paid for it.

If you want a movie to put you to sleep ... try this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight but lots of fun., 12 May 2006
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
OK The title doesn't really help - Slutty sounds like a soft porn type film, which it isn't. This is an obviously gay, very lightweight, but very enjoyable film. The characters are over-the-top, yet I could recognise traits in friends of mine and it is easy to sympathise with them as the story evolves. Eventually, it all comes together and you realize that there are true emotions in there as well as all the camp and bitchiness.

There aren't that many good, enjoyable gay films around. "Mambo Italiano" comes to mind. This is at least as good. Give it a try, I'm glad I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gay Indy at Its Best (No, It's Not Sex and the City), 15 April 2009
By 
Ford Ka (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
After reading the other reviews I felt I just had to write my own. Apparently we saw different movies...
This is a low-cost indy comedy - there is no big money, no big names, no special effects etc. The cast is limited in numbers and you are more likely to see on the screen real people who play actors than actors who play real people (and really know what they are doing). You wanted a gay blockbuster? Well, watch "Brokeback Mountain" again. And again.
One more warning - this is an indy gay comedy. Not gay porn. There is no nudity and sex is rather vaguely suggested than presented. I can't believe you don't know where to look if you need your porn, guys...
"Slutty Summer" tells the story of a young gay writer who found his boyfriend cheating on him and left him. As he has not much to do during a long NY summer he takes to waiting on tables in a restaurant where his fag hag friend also works. Although one of his new colleagues Luke suggests that the best way to get back on his feet is to sleep around (and he practices exactly as he preaches) Marcus soon falls for yet another colleague, sexy model Tyler and after some ups and downs obligatory happy end follows.
The adventures of the gay pack (we get here four fairly different types, each of them getting what they ask for) are mixed with that of Marylin, their best female friend who also dreams of happy relationship but apparently connects too well with a stiff drink every now and then to keep a man by her side.
All in all - a not too deep slice of gay life in the big city. Nothing special but if you can keep your expectations on a reasonable level it works OK especially with the decent soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The first movie I Bined on the day I received it, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
Yeah, Like other reviewers I'll admit I was like - ok, so this isn't porn, but maybe there'll be some nice bulges or suggestive scenes if it isn't a good film. Sadly, it's not a great film. Good effort (I'd grade it as a very good student production) but as a serious movie it fails for me providing no real drama or story to grab you. Neither does it compensate with a worthy horny level. Actually ... it's like a below-average epsiode of Hollyoaks, where everyone is gay and in America. I'd reccomend against buying, as much as I hate to not support the arts. This should be a portfolio piece for the team involved, and not an on-sale item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stupid Summer, 12 Aug 2010
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
The best part about this product was the front cover. It is poorly shot, poorly written and extremely poorly acted. Please don't buy. I've binned my copy so no one can get fobbed off with it. Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I wasn't bored!, 27 Jan 2010
By 
M. E. Martin (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
This is far from a great movie, but is watchable and at times actually quite enjoyable. Quite strong characters on the whole and overall not a bad script (although a bit trite) and some convincing performances.
Sadly the ego of the writer/director who cast himself in the lead is what really lets the film down - he is a TERRIBLE actor.
Surrounding himself with buffed, very good looking men was good for us shallow enough to appreciate that, but also mistake no 2 as he is not really either making the premise of his character being the centre of attention quite unconvincing.
Good effort though and a damn site better than your average 'Arnie' blockbuster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring!, 21 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I have to begin by saying that it's beyond my understanding why this was given an 18 certificate. I've seen more nudity and explicit sex in many mainstream films with only a 15 certificate. The only nudity is about 2 SECONDS at the beginning where the 'hero' Markus arrives home to find his boyfriend naked on the carpet (back to the camera) with another naked young man almost invisible behind the boyfriend, and another couple of equally unrevealing seconds later on, showing Markus with (I think - can't remember - that's how much the film impressed me!) Tyler.

For the rest of the film the previous reviews say it all so there's no point in my repeating the comments. This film is indeed poorly acted and is boring in the extreme. I'd advise avoiding it at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004]
Slutty Summer [2005] [DVD] [2004] by Casper Andreas (DVD - 2006)
13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews