Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'pick up and play' treat
As the name suggests, this is a pinball game with a Metroid spin. The table designs reprise scenes from the classic Metroid Prime game on the Gamecube as the player bats Samus around in her 'ball' form. If that sentence makes no sense to you don't worry, what you have here is sci fi pinball game - just the same as normal pinball but with the added fun of a few monsters...
Published on 17 April 2007 by i wrote this

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love this game but only in single player mode
This is a great pinball game for the DS. Since pinball stopped being included with Windows I've been hunting for a replacement.

Playing single player is the most exciting as the two player mission only has one level so you always have the play the exact same game - it would have been better if the levels unlocked in single player mode were available to choose...
Published on 14 Jan 2012 by Lady Precious


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'pick up and play' treat, 17 April 2007
By 
i wrote this "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
As the name suggests, this is a pinball game with a Metroid spin. The table designs reprise scenes from the classic Metroid Prime game on the Gamecube as the player bats Samus around in her 'ball' form. If that sentence makes no sense to you don't worry, what you have here is sci fi pinball game - just the same as normal pinball but with the added fun of a few monsters to knock into and lasers to shoot every now and then. The game is from the same team who developed Mario pinball on the GBA. As in their previous game, the graphics are very impressive (for the system) but where the Mario game had a better variety of tables, this game is a lot more fun to play.

The game features some neat little tricks like shooting and jumping sections that break up the pinball action nicely without distrupting the flow and feel of the game. It includes all the various multi ball modes and bonuses you would expect. Most importantly for a game of this sort, the ball phyics are convincing enough to feel like proper pinball and stretching the table across the two screens works very well indeed. There is a slight blind spot inbetween the DS's screens but so far it hasn't distrupted my game play.

The only thing stopping this game from getting 5 stars for me is the lack of tables. There are several game modes but really only a couple of tables to play them on. Having said that, I recommend this game to anyone with a DS. It has enough pick up and play appeal for anybody to enjoy, at it's heart is a simple game of pinball that children and adults of any age can have fun with, Nintendo fan boys like myself will get a big kick out of the way the Metorid franchise is used and hard core gamers will have plenty of fun comparing hi scores with friends.

If you buy the American version of the game as I did you will also get the offical DS rumble pack which works with some other DS games like Mario & Luigi partners in time. This is a nice little extra but it's not worth sweating to track it down; the pack makes a lot more noise then it does rumbles and it doesn't add much to the play expirience, it certainly doesn't compare well with the rumble feature in Wario ware twisted on the GBA. However, the game has been out for about 18 months in the US and often sells at a reduced price so you might find it cheaper to import then to buy from the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metroid Prime Pinball, 31 Dec 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I love playing pinball in any format. This is sooooooooooo handy on the DS because of it's portableness. Graphics & game play are very good, would highly recommend it if you are a genuine pinball fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you're looking for a pinball game on the ds, buy this, 10 Feb 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a fun game. Although some will will be put off by the lack of tables (seven in all, but four are boss levels, while one is for the multi-player option, leaving only two proper tables), there is enough complexity in completing the different missions and learning how to unlock the various bonuses & features to keep most occupied for a while.

Using the shoulder buttons as flipper, plus realistic ball physics gives it a surprisingly accurate feel as a real table, although the nudge option doesn't work too well (you have to use your thumbs on the touch screen to nudge the table, which I would have thought could potentially damage it?)
Multi-player is slightly dull, being merely a straight race to 100,000 points on a table that is pretty boring, but at least only one card is required for multiple ds machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinball, 21 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
What a brilliant, exciting,awe inspiring game,I picked this game to buy because I like playing Pinball,I did not expect to not put it down till my wife took it off me so she could play it.(just got it back now).Buy this game its great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars metriod pinball, 15 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a good game to buy (not to easy but not to difficult either) I'm very happy with it had many hours entertainment only problem I found was when ball transfering between screens but soon got used to it,would certainly recommend this game for those people that want simple fun gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sure plays a mean pinball, 3 July 2007
By 
RK "RK" (Brighton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Metroid Prime Pinball is a surprisingly lifelike pinball game. The tables are displayed over both screens giving a full view and eliminating the troublesome scrolling used in many video pinball games. Most of the features from physical pintables are included: multiball, ramps, loops and hurryups. There's also many additional video game features, monsters roaming the playfield, shoot 'em up modes etc. Everything is well executed and feels almost like 'real' pinball.

The only real drawback is the the lack of variety. There are two main tables, both of which contain the same objectives and play pretty much the same (though the Frigate table is tougher than the Overworld one). There's a dedicated wall-jump section plus four sub-tables that are all essentially boss battles. Once unlocked, all tables can be played stand-alone; the two main tables for points and the four sub-tables to beat the boss in the shortest possible time.

This is one of the best pinball games I've played on a handheld (Kirby's Pinball Land on the original Gameboy is still my favourite), if only it had a few more tables....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love this game but only in single player mode, 14 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This is a great pinball game for the DS. Since pinball stopped being included with Windows I've been hunting for a replacement.

Playing single player is the most exciting as the two player mission only has one level so you always have the play the exact same game - it would have been better if the levels unlocked in single player mode were available to choose from as I can tell we will be bored of playing together soon but I'm very happy to play on my own. It's a really fun game with or without the rumble pack - I've only rated it a 3 due to the two player mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant waste of time!, 28 Nov 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i have to be honest, i bought this game for the rumble pak, (as i didnt fancy actionloop, and those are the only two game i know that include the rumble pak) but this game is brilliant! it emmerses you in the full metroid prime aura, but doesnt overpower you so its great for those who are pretty new to the metroid scence. the graphics are great, the gameplay slick and tidy, its the prefect pick up and play game, plus it has the rumble pak, which basically turns your ds into a dual shock controller, although a bit noisier and slightly less effective, and if you have a ds lite, it will protrude out of the end (like all gba games, although im not sure as i have a "proper" ds, and it fits perfectly :D) oh and it does drain your battery like theres no 2moro, there are a few good games that use the rumble pak feature so dispite these flaws, its a good investment.

buy this now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars metroid prime pinball, 6 Nov 2008
A Kid's Review
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
this game isreally boring and short only six or so tables and 4 of them are bosses. this game is a complete waste of your time and money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS)
Metroid Prime Pinball (Nintendo DS) by Nintendo (Nintendo DS)
Used & New from: 12.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews