Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a Classic Christmas
I would disregard the first review of this CD and skip straight to the second. This CD is wonderful. For those that want a more traditional, classic Christmas this is the one to get. Sit by a roaring fireside under the twinkling lights of the christmas tree, mulled wine in one hand, mince pie in the other and this music playing in the background. Truly magical...
Published on 30 Nov 2007 by Ms. A. Stevenson

versus
69 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This
Don't buy this CD. The sound quality is absolutely appalling -- it's as if someone is holding a microphone to a cheap radio with bad reception. Dreadful, absolutely waste of money even though it is cheap. (I'd give it ``minus'' stars if I could.)
Published on 7 Dec 2006 by Peter J. Hegarty


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For a Classic Christmas, 30 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. A. Stevenson "amio_uk" (Glossop, Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I would disregard the first review of this CD and skip straight to the second. This CD is wonderful. For those that want a more traditional, classic Christmas this is the one to get. Sit by a roaring fireside under the twinkling lights of the christmas tree, mulled wine in one hand, mince pie in the other and this music playing in the background. Truly magical!

My favourites on the 2 CD's (bargain!) are Dean Martin's "It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas", Louis Armstrong's "Zat you Santa Claus" and Frank Sinatra's "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas".

The quality of the music is as good as you can get when the recordings are so old. It's not crackly and inaudible however, just full of charm.

You really can't go wrong purchasing this! Merry Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb- A Heartwarming Soundtrack to Your Xmas, 25 Nov 2007
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I really dont understand the last reviewers negative comments. True, these recordings arent modern quality ... GOOOOOOD !. These were recorded well over 50 years ago, what do you expect ?. For me, this adds to the experience.
These recordings are good quality, not like some of those rediculous Rat Pack
sets you get, which are live & terrible quality. Most are studio recordings & some are songs lifted from live recordings of festive radio shows (still recorded in a studio). I love this 3 cd set, just pop it on, on Christmas morning ... Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of three Christmas albums you will need..., 19 Dec 2009
By 
Colin Mccartney (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
...the other two being:

Now That's What I Call Xmas (or similar);
Best Christmas Carols...Ever!, the (or similar)

This one's something special though. It contains some of the greatest singers, musicians and songwriters the world has ever known, among them - Nat King Cole, Louis Armstrong, Frank Sinatra and not forgetting the "unnerving unswerving Irving Berlin". Put it on and at once you will feel as though the snow's 2 feet thick outside, there's a roaring log fire in your living room and Bing Crosby's about to call round with a bottle of brandy and a box of mince pies. The sound is no longer coming from your CD or MP3 player, but from your grandmother's radiogram.

The spoken-word interludes (possibly from original live TV or radio performances, maybe even well known ones? I don't know myself) add to the atmosphere - an ambience and warmth oddly similar to Kraftwerk's Radio-Activity.

For a compilation, the album is unusually cohesive. It sounds like a collaborative studio project recorded in one session. It almost certainly wasn't (though some of the pieces may be related?) and maybe (or maybe not) a lot of the songs were recorded in Los Angeles in July...or something. Which just goes to show how good the production is.

You can't force magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nostalgic, 12 Dec 2008
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I agree with the other positive comments. This is a magical cd choc full of christmas classics. The sound quality only adds to the experience of listening to these wonderful songs.
I can 100% recommend this cd to anyone who gets excited at the prospect of christmas, and please do not let the negative comment put you off!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 82 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Buy This, 7 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
Don't buy this CD. The sound quality is absolutely appalling -- it's as if someone is holding a microphone to a cheap radio with bad reception. Dreadful, absolutely waste of money even though it is cheap. (I'd give it ``minus'' stars if I could.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHRISTMAS CROONERS, 7 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I treated my daughter and myself to this cd. We both spent many happy hours listerning to these cd's over the Christmas period.

Worth every penny - Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting!, 20 Dec 2008
By 
Mrs P (Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I have bought a Crooners at Christmas cd before where the sound quality was appalling ~ THIS cd on the other hand isn't like that! Yes, occasionally you get a hiss or crackle but on the whole the sound quality is amazing considering the age of the recordings.

I love this cd, it is extremely atmospheric, like stepping back in time and listening to an old radio broadcast ~ I love some of the talky-bits that have been captured.

If you have any taste in Christmas music then you won't let this cd pass you by!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very nice addition to your Xmas collection, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I know its a bit soppy but I love playing this throughout the Xmas season, a great collection of those male singers like Dean Martin, Nat King Cole and Bing Crosby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Crooners: 50 Yuletide Classics from a Golden Age (Audio CD), 14 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I was so looking forward to this CD but it is awful! Yes the recording quality could be better but the worst thing is the awful/corny comentary before most of the tracks, this will drive you mad. Its going off to the charity shop in the morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful sound quality, 13 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] (Audio CD)
I love the way these guys did Christmas songs. But if you do too, please avoid this CD. It is a collection of extremely poor quality recordings culled from what sounds like 1950s Radio and TV shows.

Studio recording technology at the time was far better than this bootlegged fare. Listen to Frank Sinatra's 1950s albums with Nelson Riddle: the quality is stunning; they knew what they were doing. You are much better going for a collection culled from the official studio recordings, rather than this shoddy offering. It is telling that no session dates or studio information is included on the sleeve. Look for an album where this information is available!

I don't mind crackly or vintage, but that isn't what you're getting here. What you're getting here is insulted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition]
Christmas Crooners [3d Pop-Up Edition] by The Essence of the Blues (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews