Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinead at Tuff Gong ...crisp.
Sinead O Connor doing a reggae record. Could be a disaster .. but it isn't. Why not?

I guess because Ms O Connor is a genuine artist. She does it the way she hears it and feels it, and doesn't care at all what the critics or the marketing people say.

And also because she's gone to Tuff Gong - Marley's studio - to record it, with Sly Dunbar and Robbie...
Published on 10 Dec. 2009 by Gareth Smyth

versus
9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another weird move by Sinead O'Connor
Sinead O'Connor undoubtedly has a great voice,and some of the songs she picks here are excellent (Burning Spear's Marcus Garvey,Bob Marley's War),but the combination of the two is quite odd,although there is a lot of passion put into the performances,she definitely 'means it'.
It often seems that Sinead O'Connor works much better in collaboration with artists as or...
Published on 24 Oct. 2005 by Ted Maul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sinead at Tuff Gong ...crisp., 10 Dec. 2009
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
Sinead O Connor doing a reggae record. Could be a disaster .. but it isn't. Why not?

I guess because Ms O Connor is a genuine artist. She does it the way she hears it and feels it, and doesn't care at all what the critics or the marketing people say.

And also because she's gone to Tuff Gong - Marley's studio - to record it, with Sly Dunbar and Robbie Shakespeare, as well as Mikey Chung, on guitar, who has played with Peter Tosh and Lee, Uziah `Sticky' Thompson, who's played with the Wailers and the Mighty Diamonds.

So there's a lovely crisp sound, and Ms O Connor's distinctive vocals. Sean-Nos it ain't, but you can get that from her elsewhere.

Still sceptical (and, as someone who loved the originals, I was until I heard it)?

Well, then get it cheap from one of the Amazon sellers ... ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Departure and a Revelation, 1 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
I'm no reggae fan, and I honestly believed that Sinead O'Connor had released her last track and was fading into musical retirement, but this album proves me wrong on both counts. Sinead's voice combined with the traditional reggae beat is nothing short of a revelation. Her's has always been a voice full of raw emotion, but it's not quite right to say that she gives new meaning to the music. It's more a case of her interpretation at last explaining the music, revealing the meaning that's been there all along to those of us who haven't understood previously.
This is brave departure for Sinead, but I've a feeling that she made this album for love of the music rather than for any deliberate attempt to change direction. I think this album will introduce both Sinead and reggae to many who haven't really appreciated either before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say what you like about Sinead, 21 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. M. L. Brown "Planet Buffy." (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
Say what you like about Sinead, she may well be a little "cookie" to say the least but when it comes to making music you cannot fault her. A flawless CD, beautiful vocals, great playing by the band that includes Sly & Robbie, great songs. A Cd that is on constant play in this household. Do yourself a favour & buy yourself a copy today, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Reggae Album in Years, 11 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. Peter Barrett (Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
This is wonderful. Sinead plays it absolutely straight and pays tribute to these '70s reggae classics (with some of the original artists) which she so obviously loves.

Her absolute sincerity and the faultless musicianship of this album make it a real treat for reggae fans and non-reggae fans alike.

Lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New soundtrack to my recent life., 7 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
I bought this album as soon as I heard one track of it on the radio. I've been listening to it on and off for years now.

It has become one of my favourite albums of all time.

It's not perfect and some of the songs are less plausible than others but they are all good and some are brilliant.

If you like reggae, you'll probably love this.

(Also, I've introduced this album to lots of my friends over the years and they all love it too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 8 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
Absolutely love this album, and have been playing it continuously since buying it. Track 7 (Vampire) is the favourite in our house, but they're all good. I love Sinead's voice, and I love reggae, so this album is a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top banana, 9 July 2012
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
Reviews such as that by sunworshipper who sounds as though they have not got one clue about reggae can be ignored The one thing I agree on is that the jah no dread track can be skipped - no probs Then you are left with in my opinion the best reggae album ever by a British band/artist In any category...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Awesome Awesome, 21 Dec. 2005
By 
Lenono7638 (MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
I never thought Sinead would be able to top "Universal Mother" (especially "Fire On Babylon"), but this album does it. what an artist!!! Brave enough to continue to side step the expected paths of a "popular" artist. I was able to see Sinead perform this cd live in Detroit and it is amazing. KUDOS to Sinead. Awesome to see an artists have convictions and stick to them!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sinead as good as she gets, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
Love this album .She sings about things that most mainstream music shys away from .Her faith in God and her outrage at the state of the world and the people who keep like that .She is fierce and gentle all at once .Great reggae album as well .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Throw Down Your Arms (Audio CD)
Great cd very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Throw Down Your Arms
Throw Down Your Arms by Sinead O'Connor (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews