Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning masterpiece.
A stunning masterpiece from Japanese master Mizoguchi, set in a feudal Japan run by gangs of warlords. A simple but ambitious potter is led astray by ghosts, repenting only when he returns to "reality". Visually breathtaking, with a wonderful "special effect" near the end requiring no trickery or computer animation whatever! My only slight quibble...
Published on 7 Oct 2001 by Alan Pavelin

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful Blu Ray transfer
The film itself is one of cinema's supreme masterpeices. But this Blu Ray transfer by Eureka is awful. There is no attempt at any kind of film restoration prior to tranferring to high definition. There are damaged lines and marks throughout. I guess HD makes this more apparent. All the more reason, if you are going to put it on Blu-Ray to make it worth our money, and not...
Published 20 months ago by G. V. Cherian


Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning masterpiece., 7 Oct 2001
By 
Alan Pavelin (Chislehurst, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ugetsu Monogatari [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A stunning masterpiece from Japanese master Mizoguchi, set in a feudal Japan run by gangs of warlords. A simple but ambitious potter is led astray by ghosts, repenting only when he returns to "reality". Visually breathtaking, with a wonderful "special effect" near the end requiring no trickery or computer animation whatever! My only slight quibble is that the film is basically two stories, concerning the potter and his brother-in-law, which don't dovetail completely naturally. But still 4.9 stars out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 7 May 2012
By 
P. J. Beaver (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best movies I have ever seen. The story is very simple but it is superb. The themes are an interesting mix of the universal, and particular to Japanese culture. Even in black and white some of the visuals are close to stunning (but at the same time this is an old movie and its condition is not perfect). It is a very powerful story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful Blu Ray transfer, 25 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film itself is one of cinema's supreme masterpeices. But this Blu Ray transfer by Eureka is awful. There is no attempt at any kind of film restoration prior to tranferring to high definition. There are damaged lines and marks throughout. I guess HD makes this more apparent. All the more reason, if you are going to put it on Blu-Ray to make it worth our money, and not just ransfer your exisiting DVD print onto it. I had, so far, had the highest opinion for Eureka- one of the best DVD companies in the world. This is therefore a real disappointment! Dont waste your money on this as I did. Stick with the DVD version- especially if you can get hold of the version put out by Criterion in US. That has a very clean print, good dvd supplements and the whole thing is presented in a classy slipcased paper box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film - poor transfer, 30 Dec 2012
Having just watched this excellent film on the Eureka Blu-Ray edition boasting 'Newly restored Hi-Def transfer', I was surprised they even bothered wasting a BluRay disc at all and simply kept with a DVD issue. The transfer is appalling and there is no visual evidence of restoration - if anything the BluRay highlights the inadequacies of the scratched print.
Either wait for the next reissue when they have bothered cleaning up the source print, or buy the Criterion edition.
It's an interesting and well made film although don't expect the ghost story element to be to the fore. For a scarier Japanese horror experience, get Onibaba or Kwaidan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even the most beautiful silk fades, 29 May 2013
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Kenji Mizoguchi's favorite theme is the condition/behavior of women in society, psychologically as well as socially. In 'Street of Shame', he evokes masterfully the socio-economic condition of the geishas in Japanese society. Here, he brushes a psychological portrait of two women through their `ghosts' (`even the most beautiful silks fade'), which reveal diametrically opposite comportments: an obsessed seductress and a faithful wife.

Based on two stories of Akinari's 'Tales of Moonlight and Rain' ('The Serpent's Lust' and 'The ReedChoked House'), a ghost of a young lady seeks to live 'the ardent love on earth', while a faithful wife became a ghost in order to be able to await faithfully the return of her husband. In other words, the main theme is the dichotomy between sex and love.
The overall background of the stories is a Japan ravaged by clan wars.
As for the men, they are stupid, but full of ambition to profit from the 'God of War', one as a warrior and the other as a potter/trader.

This magnificent movie nevertheless doesn't reach the same superb level as 'Street of Shame'. In addition, Akinari's book with its meditations on religious and artistic themes is richer and more profound than the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ugetsu Monogatari, uk blu-ray, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The movie itself is a masterpiece.

Image: Scratched permanently, as if it was raining white lines and speckles all the time. Very distracting. This is what happens when you refuse to pay for what has to be done - manual digital removing of damages to the frames. Beyond that, details and depth of field are certainly improved.

Sound: Ok.

Bonuses: What bonuses? Another movie, yes. And a short monologue by some expert far less informative than I expected.

Conclusion: one should wait for a proper transfer. This Blu-ray is way too costly for what it has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NICE QUALITY ON BLU-RAY, 16 May 2012
By 
Paul Scott (CENTRAL COAST,, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a classic,

Masters of Cinema Blu-ray - April 2012: Not much to address - we get a Mizoguchi classic in hi-def courtesy of MoC! The improved resolution is a significant improvement in-motion - the image is brighter, more detailed via the layered contrast - it shows a shade more information in the frame. Audio gets the HD-bump and ratchets up a notch closer to purity. Optional subtitles are at MoC's usual high standard.

On the supplements they have included Mizoguchi's Oyu-sama in 1080P plus the Rayns discussions on both films. There is also the included booklet. The Dual-format package also contains a DVD of the feature.

This film always floors me - and it have it in such a wonderful Blu-ray package makes it a true keepsake for the digital library. I rate this 'Essential'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible copy of my favorite movie of all times, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't believe how bad the blu-ray edition of Ugetsu Monogatari is !!! It's like looking at a very old VHS. The sound is bad, the print is awful. EUREKA should be ashamed of releasing such a poor copy of Mizoguchi's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Criterion Collection: Ugetsu [DVD] [1953] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£23.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews