Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot peaks, 5 May 2008
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This collection contains the following;

The complete season 5 (1993)

The adventure of the Egytian tomb
The underdog
The yellow iris
The case of the missing will
The adventure of the Italian Nobleman
The chocolate box
Dead man's mirror
Jewel robery at the Grand Metropolitan

2 hour Specials (1995 to 2000)

Hecule Poirot's Christmas (part 1 and 2)
Hickory Dickory Dock (part 1 and 2)
Murder on the Links (part 1 and 2)
Dumb Witness (part 1 and 2)

These episodes are what some would call early TV Poirot, as after these the show takes on a darker feel. However Poirot is a joy to watch from beginning to end in my opinion. I hope that Suchet is allowed to complete all Poirot's stories as his portrayal is the best ever attempted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 disks of superb Agatha Christie entertainment, 14 Aug. 2007
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
To many people David Suchet is the ultimate Poirot - I agree, he is perfect as Agatha Christie's Belgum detective. This 4 disk set contains some of the short story adaptions as well as the longer adaptions of Agatha Christie's novels. I must admit I prefer the adaptions of the novels rather than the short stories. 4 novels Hercule Poirot's Christmas, Hickory Dickory Dock, Murder On The Links and Dumb Witness as well as several short story adaptions. This set has all the regular supporting characters Captain Hastings, Miss Lemon and Chief Inspector Japp (who are sadly missing in the later episodes). These stories are lighter than the later adaptions where Poirot's character is alot darker. I am looking forward to the new adaptions which are being filmed - I am reliably informed are Mrs McGinty's Dead and Dead Man's Folly. Lets hope Japp, Hastings and Miss lemon are bought back for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot - Collection 4, 25 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. A. J. Tennant "Metalhead" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This fourth individual collection set consists of the entire fifth series from 1993 and the entire sixth series from 1994 (all four stories from series 6 being feature-lengths). Once again, David Suchet is in excellent form as the Belgian sleuth, again ably supported by Hugh Fraser as Captain Hastings, Philip Jackson as Chief Inspector Japp, and Pauline Moran as Miss Lemon. Like with the first three individual collection sets, I saw these ones on the telly (mostly on Granada Plus, although I do remember Dumb Witness from when it was first on ITV). Poirot has always been one of my favourite TV programmes to watch as the stories are very entertaining and the plots are very believable, despite the fact that I have never read any of Agatha Christie's Poirot novels, perhaps I should treat myself to a Poirot novel sometime.

Going back to the DVD, it is packed with very good stories and this collection, along with the others, is very highly recommended to anyone who likes great detective stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poirot DVD collection 4, 15 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD collection 4 was very enjoyable, I have long been a fan of the Agatha Christie Poirot novels, and think David Suchet plays the part to perfection. In fact I am in the process of acquiring all of the Poirot Collections on DVD. The DVD boxed sets ordered to date have all arrived in a reasonable amount of time following the placing of the order. Thank you Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
A great Poirot and a classic stories. You know what you get here, great acting, costumes and locations, never disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 15 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
the quaulity of the acting and actors is really breathtaking,also the filming is
quite brilliant.the plots follow A Christies book very well.great period stories
well produced!! excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Parfaitment, mon ami, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I love them! Suchet and Hastings are superb, and Miss Lemon is just perfect. The stories are well adapted from both the short stories and the novels. Always looking at the costumes and luggage. A must for Chrisite fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, Happy!, 9 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Received my collection yesterday and couldn't wait to sit down with a cup of tea and WATCH. WATCH, WATCH!!! and so i did and i loved every minite - Poirot is a delight to watch! Loved it!!! Im a very happy woman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars agatha christie number one fan., 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing this lady has written is ever bad as far as I am concerned and david suchet is number one poirot. well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD] (DVD)
David Suchet is brilliant all of the episodes are fabulous although the mystery of the Egyptian tomb can be sightly boring. This is worth getting trust me.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Agatha Christie's Poirot: The Collection 4 [DVD]
£14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews