Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expected good, got great!
Im a huge fan of the movie "The Warriors". It was filmed in 1979 when new york was known for having a terrible crime record with gangs mugging, raping, stealing, pretty much any crime a man can commit.
The movie was ultra slick and very violent for its time and even today can still be viewed as quite a violent look on late 1970's gang warfare.
Everyone knows...
Published on 27 Oct 2005 by Craig Walker

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It was bad
This was really bad, I couldn't even play the damn thing, I purchased it on the wrong console so I lost money spent :(
Published 16 months ago by James Melling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expected good, got great!, 27 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
Im a huge fan of the movie "The Warriors". It was filmed in 1979 when new york was known for having a terrible crime record with gangs mugging, raping, stealing, pretty much any crime a man can commit.
The movie was ultra slick and very violent for its time and even today can still be viewed as quite a violent look on late 1970's gang warfare.
Everyone knows rockstar, being responsible for the hugely popular GTA series. When I heard they were doing a game version of the warriors i was slightly unsure if they could pull it off.
Scrolling beat em ups have had a great past history with streets of rage and final fight but the transition from 2d to 3d has been pretty dismal.
Right from the start of playing this game you can tell rockstar have done their homework. The game opens with the same film opening scene, except with actual game footage. They have secured the rights for the original soundtrack and also drafted in the actors from the film such as james remarr for the voice acting.
Graphical wise, the game doesnt look as hot as other beat em ups, however when you consider how many game characters are on screen you will realise they have to sacrafice for this.
Missions are pretty varied but as you would expect involve alot of random fights and boss fights.
The game will last a long time. Some missions involve alot of work and along the way you can take on submissions. The game also has alot to unlock such as gangs to play with on the rumble games and extra missions such as how the warrior gang orignally formed.
You will find it easy to pick up and play but very hard to put down. Not much to fault on this game apart from the camera view being slightly annoying at times but other than that, rockstar has created a new fresh wake up for the beat em up genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CAN YOU DIG IT?, 27 Oct 2005
By 
J. Pappenheim "Papsby" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
Yes We Can. Rockastar once again explodes onto the gaming scene with an epic masterpiece of violence and wonder. Based on the cult classic of 1979, the Warriors follows the story of the street gang, of the same name, in Coney Island, from their humble beginings (using flashbacks unlocked after some levels) to their fateful night alone in New York with 60,000 men between them and their turf. Many will not trust this game due to the utter dissapointment of Manhunt, another game based around the Rockstar GTA engine (bought by me simply because of the controversy after it's release), but this will not dissapoint. You begin playing as the new player Rembrandt, a self made graffiti artist, and continue through the story mode as many of the different gang members, such as Ajax (a good fighter), or Cleon (leader of the Warriors). Missions range from Graffiti Showdowns, to destroying enemy gang art galleries, from killing an old friend for money, to scrambling across roof tops, this game makes for great playing. With an intense fighting system and the ability to mug, steal and cause general panic this makes for one of the best Rockstar, and Xbox games yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Warriors, 15 Mar 2006
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
I must confess to never watching the film - the main reason I bought this game was that I have been waiting for a good free roaming beat 'em up since the Streets of Rage games on the Mega Drive. The genre has never successfully made the transition into 3D before The Warriors.

Intitially, I was slightly underwhelmed by this game. The opening training mission was great for introducing the controls (which are very good) and characters but the second proper mission is far too long, drawn out and boring. After that's done the game really picks up and is so hard to put down.

The sheer variety of gameplay and objectives on offer is impressive - it's not just mindless fighting from start to finish. You may have to cause as much destruction in a certain area as possible, spray tag The Warriors logo on walls, evade chases from other gangs, protect an area from a rival gang... the list goes on and on.

Even though this is a Rockstar game, this isn't to be confused with the GTA series. The Warriors is not as open ended and is much more clearly structured - it is divided into specific missions with set areas to explore (no huge city to explore at will). This is a different game entirely to GTA and has to be more linear in scope.

All the levels are set at night in 1970s New York as the game follows The Warriors in the months running up to the plot of the film. For fans of the film, the voice acting is done by the original cast members and is quite good.

This wouldn't be a typical Rockstar game if it didn't have lots of violence and bad language - and there's quite a lot in this game. You can put enemies through windows, use weapons and objects to throw at enemies or hit them with (knives, bottles, bricks, etc), throw molotov coctails or smash an opponents head against a wall. You can also steal car stereos and break into some stores (by picking the lock or sometimes just smashing your way in). The Warriors has deservedly been given an 18 rating.

Overall this is a hugely addictive game that will last ages - there are loads of unlockables to open up, from bonus missions/objectives to characters in Rumble Mode - a side game that basically comprises of rival gang members or entire gangs battling it out in an enclosed environment (although I've hardly played this mode as it didn't hold my interest for very long). I would recommend you give The Warriors a go, even if you're not a fan of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10/10 Game, 22 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
If you enjoyed manhunt or any of the GTA series you will surely love this it has a combination of both sneeking up on people peforming stealth moves (Like on Manhunt) and you can free roam around the streets of new york with your gang of nine fighting off the gangs that want you dead (GTA)
If you get bored of the story mode, there is also a rumble mode where you take part in different fights with teams with or without your gang.
For those of you who haven't seen the film i won't spoil the plot but the story is very good.
Like i said if liked Manhunt you will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real classic!, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game harks back to the age of the late 70's and 80s youth counter culture. Just like the film, you can play any of the characters from the gang as well as any of the characters from other gangs in the rumble mode. This is such a rare and retro game and I was glad to be able to find it. The item was in great condition and the service was fantastic. Look forward to buying more of these classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent movie ,excellent game, 23 May 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
The warriors is a game i bought for my xbox in 2005 and i always pull out my old xbox to play this good game ,if you dont like violence and street gangs dont buy this game,worriors does not work on xbox 360 so dont complain that it does not.
the warrior game is fun and the combat system is very easy to get to grips with ,you can also do double attacks on you enemies with bricks ,bottles or wood.the graphics are a little dated but this games is 8 years old so ,that should not spoil your game play experience.
the game is based on the movie and it is full of cut scenes from the film and it uses the actors voices.the games is set in 1979 new york and it include music from that time.worrior is a violent criminal street sim ,the good thing about the worrior is that when you complete the game you can fight all the other street gang in the small sub games .
warrior is a must buy for the xbox owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
V e r y. G o o d .. . . . . . . . . . . T h a n k u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors review, 14 Oct 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
Great game. A lot of fun and is split screen for you co-op people. Almost like a sandbox game but for multi player and is therefore awesome.

Game within a week. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Retro Gaming at it's best!!!, 17 April 2012
By 
Mr. P. Bush - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
Never got to play The Warriors when it was originally released for PS2 and Xbox, recently purchased an xbox off a mate who was selling his because of moving house. All i can say is that rockstar did it again with this game. Theres loads to do. I suppose you could call this a hark back to the 2d fighting games of yesteryear but only in 3d. The fighting is quite basic with punches and kicks, also diving tackles which lead to pummeling your opponent on the ground. But theres also shops to break into, car stereos to steal, graphitti spraying and more. The game starts of about 3 months before the film starts and details the rise of the warriors then through the fatal night where they become pariahs and hunted by all the other gangs in New York. The 18 cert is warranted there loads of violence and swearing here but if you still own an xbox and have not played this game then get it now!! On a final note don't expect state of the art graphics, there good but not great but they don't detract from the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wont work on 360, 18 Oct 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Warriors (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game is amazingly good fun I bought it for 1 recently as a punt to see if it would run on 360, sadly it wont, but if you have an original xbox and want a great game this is definately a good'un
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Warriors (Xbox)
The Warriors (Xbox) by Rockstar (Xbox)
Used & New from: 0.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews