Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film
I've just read the previous reviewers comments that this film is outdated. That may be because its SEVENTY TWO YEARS OLD! This film would have been terrifying at the time, the stop action animation was state of the art and the audience would have bought it. The story is an absolute classic and still stands up today although film structures have changed and it may...
Published on 1 Dec 2005 by Mr. Paul D. Maher

versus
39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How to insult a classic
Apparently this is a special edition? Rubbish. How dare they re-release this classic legendary movie with absolutley no extras to compliment it. Of course if you have a region one player then you can buy the region one 2 disc version which IS a special edition, with numerous documentaries on how this great movie was made. Once again the region two buyers are shafted as...
Published on 2 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Film, 1 Dec 2005
By 
Mr. Paul D. Maher "joey-chickenskin" (Nottingham NG7) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Kong [DVD] [1933] (DVD)
I've just read the previous reviewers comments that this film is outdated. That may be because its SEVENTY TWO YEARS OLD! This film would have been terrifying at the time, the stop action animation was state of the art and the audience would have bought it. The story is an absolute classic and still stands up today although film structures have changed and it may seem rushed. I would recommend anyone to see it before the Peter Jackson film just to get an idea of how some elements of films have changed but the important ones have stayed the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic King Kong finally on bluray, 13 Mar 2011
By 
Marc Van Kerschaver "Makkedude" (Oudenaarde, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't add much to that what's already known: King Kong is still one of the best adventure/fantasy/monster movies in the history of filmmaking. It is simply amazing that a movie of almost eighty years old is still a true joy to watch and to watch again. Now the gem is finally on bluray and it is something for the real filmlover and collector to own. Its packed in a great hardcover book with the story behind the film, the film itself is restored to its maximum and the disk is also packed with fantastic documentaries...Like I said, this is what a bluray version of a classic should look like. Highly recommended. Oh by the way. It's an American import, but it's region free so it can be played without any trouble on region 2 players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LONG LIVE THE KING, 30 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: King Kong [DVD] (DVD)
Without a doubt the first, the greatest and the best action film of all time. Nothing keeps you on the edge of your seat as much as the scene of the brontosaurus in the swamp chasing the sailors into the jungle to only meet Kong who shakes them from the log bridge to their deaths.
Truly a masterpiece! I agree that today's special effects are without a doubt great but Kong tops them all. The techniques used were so visionary for the time.
If you are a true film collector, you must have this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old gold, 2 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: King Kong [DVD] (DVD)
King Kong is one of those genuinely iconic movies that transcend classification and time. This is not to say it isn't dated; as an early talkie - and a special effects driven one at that - it inevitably is. Yet its primitivism actually adds to its enjoyment. By the standards of any generation 'Kong', once it gets going, is still pretty much the most sustained, fast-paced and imaginative action adventure ever made.
Examined against modern CGI monster movies, the stop-motion techniques of Willis O'Brien may now look jerky and crude, but the sheer scale and ambition of them is still way ahead of anything done since. Think about it, in all the Jurassic Park's and Godzilla's of the last generation, it's more the conviction and naturalism of the monsters themselves that we admire rather than what they actually get up to. A triumph of muscle and tissue co-ordination, they run around a bit and attack people and let out deafening surround sound-roars, but do any of them manage the kind of big scale action Kong does? Within an hour of screen time our great ape fights three separate monsters, brings down a native village, rips up New York and becomes a cinematic martyr atop the Empire State Building. Beside this the activities of our snorting, sweating, salivating CGI creatures seems quite passive.
Its this giddy ambition of the film that still keeps it ahead of the pack. Despite all the money chucked around, no recent monster movie has ever delivered quite so much. If we can see beyond the squeaky soundtrack, the dodgy acting and fuzzy monochrome we can still shake our heads and marvel at the fact that it was even attempted, let alone done.
And lets not ignore the other aspects that make Kong great. The fantastic art direction creating what is still the scariest, most mysterious jungle ever put on screen. Max Steiner's fantastic music score that set the template for movie soundtracks to come. The detailed, atmospheric sound-effects that were years ahead of their time and belie the technology available. The seamless editing once Kong appears and the no-nonsense direction of Cooper and Schoedsack that never wastes a shot once we get the static preliminaries out of the way. If ever there were two 20th century adventurers who deserved their own biopic it is surely Cooper and Schoedsack - they were the Indiana Joneses of their day.
Looked at historically, Kong is a fascinating example of other aspects of 30s cinema. Dialogue is hard-boiled and minimalist in the crime reporter way so beloved of the time. The acting is stagy and cartoonish but oddly endearing in this fantasy setting. Men are men - they bark at each other, discuss nothing personal, are largely sketched in and generally get about things with minimum fuss. No wonder movies are so much longer these days, with all the analysing, character development and soul-searching that goes on. For her part, Fay Wray is no plucky heroine, she is just there to be beautiful, fragile and in need of constant rescue. Wray may have become an iconic blonde image through this picture (despite actually being a brunette), but she is no feminist advancement, nor is she ever meant to be.
Kong himself is largely treated unsympathetically. He moons over Wray but she hates him from beginning to end, and it's only in his final moments against the by-planes that the audience is allowed to feel sorry for him. This is absolutely right * Kong should for the most part be dangerous and terrifying, not some cuddly ape. He is the stuff of nightmares and should not be a familiar if overgrown gorilla from some nature programme. This is where model work and stop-motion really do have it over on the naturalness of CGI * the lack of realism works to its advantage. It will be interesting to see how Peter Jackson handles this crucial aspect of Kong's success in his upcoming CGI-heavy remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Towers Above The Competition, 14 Jun 2001
This review is from: King Kong [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As a budding movie historian and lover of all films, King Kong was unmissable. I collect all kinds of classic films but this is one that I think all movie fans should enjoy. The picture is in itself an historical landmark in the history of celluloid, featuring groundbreaking special effects, a star performance that would become a household name and one of the iconic images of American popular culture and the definitive 'damsel in distress'. This film gave a deafening roar that echoes today. But as a work of art, it is not to be missed. Being that we have all been reared in the post-Kong days of cinema, the idea of a giant ape stalking his prey is hardly shocking, we say 'oh that's just King Kong', but the first shot of the beast is still utterly gripping. Political correctness and liberalism tell us to look at Fay Wraye's performance as a symbol of the dark days when women were treated as dolls and weak creatures, but she portrays a classic role to perfection, and political incorrectness was never this good. Kong and his prehistoric pals are brought to life by stop-motion animation, some of the movements are rather jerky and the effects themselves are primitive by today's standards, but the effect that they generate has never been lost. Kong was in reality a metal skeleton with sponge-rubber muscles covered in rabbit fur, but 30s audiences and the 30s cast found it realistic, and that movement provides one with a feeling it would take more than a computer to beat this. The famous wall and door, behind which Kong resides was first used in Cecil B. De Mille's King of Kings, and was later used as a burning backdrop in the doomed city of Atlanta in Gone With The Wind. This film is packed to bursting point with breathtaking action and wonderful work all round, as a landmark and as a film, this one is truly special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTY AND THE BEAST..., 9 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Kong [VHS] (VHS Tape)
As a young child in the nineteen fifties, I used to watch this film whenever it appeared on TV on "Million Dollar Movie". I loved it then. I love it now. Time has not diminished the capacity of this film to mesmerize and hold the viewer in its thrall.
The story line is basic. Carl Denham (Robert Armstrong), a filmmaker and entrepreneur, leads an expedition to Skull Island where he discovers its deep, dark secret. It is a land where time has stood still, and prehistoric monsters still hold sway over the island and its inhabitants. There, the natives pay homage to the one whom they revere as "Kong", and who is, indeed, king of the island.
Denham, together with his beautiful, budding starlet, Ann Darrow (Fay Wray), as well as with the crew of the ship that brought him to Skull Island, investigates the strange ritual being performed on the island by its native population. Before she knows it, Ann finds herself captured by the natives. She is to become the bride of the mysterious "Kong".
When Ann discovers who the mysterious "Kong" is, she starts screaming and doesn't stop. The ship's first mate, Jack Driscoll (Bruce Cabot), who happens to be in love with Ann, manages to rescue her from the clutches of "Kong". Notwithstanding the fact that "Kong" has taken a shine to her, Ann is relieved to have been rescued by the man whom she loves.
Denham then arranges to capture the creature, whom he calls "King Kong" and takes him back to New York with them on the ship that brought them to Skull Island. There, King Kong makes his debut, one that movie lovers will long remember.
The special effects of this film were superlative for its time and still pass muster today. The relationship between the beauty and the beast still makes the viewer sit up and take notice. This is an attention grabbing film that is as exciting today, as when it was first released over seventy years ago. It is a truly timeless, cinema classic. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eighth Wonder of the World!, 10 Oct 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Kong [DVD] (DVD)
Undoubtedly a classic film that is enjoyable in all it's unboundless cliches!
This film is deservedly remembered for it's amazing (at the time) special effects. Today, they look kind of quaint, and reminiscent of a different era in Hollywood, but it's to the film's credit that even now, when they look so poor, the effects don't take away from the film.
Kong is quite a sympathetic character, especially when he gets taken to New York, and with his fight against the Trex on Skull Island you are behind him all the way.
Fay Wray is also superb as the lady in peril. Screaming her head off, she doesn't get on your nerves. She's meant to be an airhead blonde bimbo, but she's quite loveable. The perfect antidote to Kong's violent scenes.
I know that this films is old, but the DVD transfer wasn't to the highest of standards. Very patchy, crackly and spotty. But the half hour documentary looking back on the film from some of its makers is quite interesting.
For anyone interested in old black and white films, classic films, or need to prepare for Peter Jackson's remake coming out later this year - then this is a perfect choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don’t monkey around with Kong, 18 Jan 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: King Kong [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The basic story is of Carl Denham (Robert Armstrong), who makes those cute little animal pictures that are going out of style. If he wants to stay in business he must add a female interest and some excitement.
Circumstances forcing him to leave port quickly, he meets a girl Ann Darrow (Fay Wray), that is down on her luck and convinces her that he will make her a star (on the up and up).
Things get complicated, as you know it is bad luck to bring a woman onboard a freighter. And Ann really stirs them up including the first mate, Jack Driscoll (Bruce Cabot). On top of this she has a large date awaiting her at Skull Island.
I will not tell the rest of the story just incase you are one of the few that has missed the movie. But as you have guessed it includes a big ape named KONG. Not that cheesy thing that is always tussling around in Japanese movies, but a much more convincing Kong that can show great emotion.
You are about to watch the eight wonder of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTY AND THE BEAST..., 12 Sep 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Kong [VHS] [1933] (VHS Tape)
As a young child in the nineteen fifties, I used to watch this film whenever it appeared on TV on "Million Dollar Movie". I loved it then. I love it now. Time has not diminished the capacity of this film to mesmerize and hold the viewer in its thrall.
The story line is basic. Carl Denham (Robert Armstrong), a filmmaker and entrepreneur, leads an expedition to Skull Island where he discovers its deep, dark secret. It is a land where time has stood still, and prehistoric monsters still hold sway over the island and its inhabitants. There, the natives pay homage to the one whom they revere as "Kong", and who is, indeed, king of the island.
Denham, together with his beautiful, budding starlet, Ann Darrow (Fay Wray), as well as with the crew of the ship that brought him to Skull Island, investigates the strange ritual being performed on the island by its native population. Before she knows it, Ann finds herself captured by the natives. She is to become the bride of the mysterious "Kong".
When Ann discovers who the mysterious "Kong" is, she starts screaming and doesn't stop. The ship's first mate, Jack Driscoll (Bruce Cabot), who happens to be in love with Ann, manages to rescue her from the clutches of "Kong". Notwithstanding the fact that "Kong" has taken a shine to her, Ann is relieved to have been rescued by the man whom she loves.
Denham then arranges to capture the creature, whom he calls "King Kong", and takes him back to New York on the ship that brought them to Skull Island. There, King Kong makes his debut, one that movie lovers will long remember.
The special effects of this film were superlative for its time and still pass muster today. The relationship between the beauty and the beast still makes the viewer sit up and take notice. This is an attention grabbing film that is as exciting today, as when it was first released over seventy years ago. It is a truly timeless, cinema classic. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eighth Wonder Of The World!, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a Blu-Ray I have been waiting for. In Fact I've been waiting for this for years. In my opinion "King Kong" (1933) is one of the greatest movies ever made. I've owned the movie on VHS, DVD & now Blu-Ray. This is the best version yet. The picture is outstanding given the age of the film. The level of detail is amazing & if you are a fan of this film it's like seeing it for the first time. I won't go into details of plot, cast, crew etc as I'm sure anyone considering this disc will already be familiar with all of this. I have only one small negative comment: I find that my Sony Blu-Ray player will not allow me to access the special features menu. However when using other players this is not a problem. Indeed the extras are worth a look especially the "lost spider sequence" & the "Creation" test footage with comments by Ray Harryhausen. I recommend this disc for all film fantasy fans & fans of classic films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Kong [DVD] [1933]
King Kong [DVD] [1933] by Ernest B. Schoedsack (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews