Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars watch it twice it's better the 2nd time around
i have been waiting to see this film for ages and when i finally did it wasn't what i was expecting but i wasn't really sure what i was expecting so it worked. . Macaulay Culkin couldn't of picked a character further away from his 'Home Alone' days but scarily he still looks like that same little boy just taller. He was good but not a patch on Seth Greens camp cross...
Published on 3 Mar 2004 by J. C. Hutchinson

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Party Ends Before It Starts
The real-life story behind PARTY MONSTER the appeal of a three-car pile up on the highway of life: distasteful, grotesque, and you can't quite manage to look away. Michael Alig hit 1980s New York from nowhere and promptly managed to parlay himself into the party promoter to end all party promoters, earning big bucks for over-the-top "event" concepts that drew New York...
Published on 4 Mar 2004 by Gary F. Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars watch it twice it's better the 2nd time around, 3 Mar 2004
By 
J. C. Hutchinson (plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Party Monster [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
i have been waiting to see this film for ages and when i finally did it wasn't what i was expecting but i wasn't really sure what i was expecting so it worked. . Macaulay Culkin couldn't of picked a character further away from his 'Home Alone' days but scarily he still looks like that same little boy just taller. He was good but not a patch on Seth Greens camp cross dressing james st james which for me made the film he was amazing and i feel it was more his movie even though macaulay was the headlining star. marilyn mansons cameo was funny in an 'oh my god' kind of way, chloe sevigny isn't really in it that much and natasha lyonne even less and even though the whole story is leading up to the murder off his drug dealer angel, you don't see much of his story either. The 1st half is a happy intro into the lives of the clubs kids and it makes you smile and laugh and want to be there. the 2nd half is darker and kind of makes you shut up and watch especially the scene with james and the rat watching the murder. maybe thats why the critics hated it because it was too happy one second and so screwed up the next I haven't read the book so i can't compare and i didn't really know anything about the club kids or scene but i want to now, it is all so amazing and colourful and made me want to dress up and go mad i even bought the soundtrack and i hate techno music but i love this.
it was a fabulous look at club life back then and i wish i was part of it. This should become a cult favourite and i am sure will bring back memories to anyone who was there to experience the real thing if you weren't this is a good taster.
Don't hate the film cause its trashy and in your face, love it cause it's trashy and in your face, like the song says "everything BAD is GOOD" .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Party!, 9 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Party Monster [DVD] (DVD)
This movie shows just what happened when excess outweighed intelligence.

There were a group of us around at the same time just like these club kids who threw ourselves into the hedonism and pure outrageous abandonment of the lifestyle,but some of us knew there was a line you didnt cross while others merrily tripped (literally) over that line.Im glad i survived, some didnt, and some are now paying the price both physically and mentally. Party monster gives a pretty accurate picture of those times, the drugs, the sex, the attitude but most of all the parties! they were amazing on both sides of the atlantic, but, as is shown in the movie a price has to be paid and it was. Alig became a screwed up junkie nothing more or less, and there sure aint glamour in that. The murder of his drug dealer was the final act of his fall from grace and stands as a warning to all would be club kids....Be fabulous but be careful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i love it, 16 Mar 2004
By 
Ms. N. R. Foster (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Party Monster [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
great acting from macaulay culkin and seth green! really believable - i also find it hilarious that marilyn manson played christina - the whole cast looks great in drag! highly enjoyable, if a little unnerving!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's ecstacy!, 7 Feb 2006
This review is from: Party Monster [DVD] (DVD)
I couldn't possibly think of a fault in this film. The acting (in particular on the parts of Culkin and Green) is sublime, and, with the considerable help of an exquisite wardrobe and soundtrack, perfectly portrays the drug-fuelled hedonism of the New York Club Kids.
This is easily one of the most underrated films of the 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Till death do they party..., 29 April 2004
'Party Monster' is a refreshing account of Michael Alig's life. MichaelAlig (Macaulay Culkin) is a smalltown boy that moves to New York in thehope of being even more 'fabulous'. Here he meets James St. James (SethGreen) who teaches him how to 'make it' in the drag gay hip scene. Aliginstantly becomes the talk of the town and the number one promoter inclubland with his wild parties and his outrageous behaviour, leaving St.James in 2nd place. With drugs, techno, a giant rat and flamboyantclothing, everything gets out of hand when murder comes Alig's way. Butcan he get away with it?
Culkin and Green, as you have never seen thembefore, give superb performances throughout, with Marilyn Manson alsohaving a great film debut.
This strange but true story of the life of Michael Alig is vibrant andever so powerful. I would definately recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars party monster 2003, 21 April 2004
A must see film. Seth Green at his best. Party monster is a very funny,true story with a tragic end.If you are a fan of Marilyn Manson you willalso enjoy watching him play drag queen Christina.
I hope you enjoy thefilm as much as I did. If you do enjoy it you must buy James st James'book which the film is based on. Michael Alig (the party monster) is anunmissable character, whose work in the New York club scene will never beforgotten.
My favourite film, make it yours too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars convincing, 17 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Party Monster [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
this films worth seeing if only for the most convincing seth green as a drag queen.. pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Party Ends Before It Starts, 4 Mar 2004
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Party Monster [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
The real-life story behind PARTY MONSTER the appeal of a three-car pile up on the highway of life: distasteful, grotesque, and you can't quite manage to look away. Michael Alig hit 1980s New York from nowhere and promptly managed to parlay himself into the party promoter to end all party promoters, earning big bucks for over-the-top "event" concepts that drew New York youth by the thousands. But Alig also developed a drug habit, a nasty arrogance, and a sociopathic disposition, and his story ends with the sort of grotesque murder you might find on the front page of a super market tabloid.
In other hands, PARTY MONSTER might have been a fascinating film, a commentary on the too-much-too-soon syndrome by way of the 1980s ultra-plastic "Me" generation. But while directors Fenton Bailey and Randy Barbato start well, they immediately run into a major problem: for all the excitement he may have generated on the New York 1980s club scene, Michael Alig was a deliberately abrasive person--and ultimately PARTY MONSTER manages to contain all the abrasion without enough of the excitement.
The cast is generally quite good, with Marilyn Manson, Diana Scarwid, Dylan McDermott, and a host of others scoring memorable turns; Seth Green is also truly remarkable as "Club Kid" James St. James (on whose book the film is based.) But ultimately it is with Macaulay Culkin, former child superstar of HOME ALONE, with which the film sinks or swims. Culkin does indeed look the part of Alig, and heaven knows he nails Alig's grating quality--but the script and directors let him down: they never manage to provide him with an opportunity to show the excitement that Alig was said to generate, and consequently his performance feels singularly one note.
It's all very well to say what every one's intentions were, but ultimately what counts is what shows on the screen. And while it has moments of interest, when all is said and done the party's over before it really starts. The DVD includes several bonuses, including several interviews with Alig himself, and presents the film in your choice of widescreen or pan-and-scan.
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy and I like it, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this movie and was so glad I got it at such a great price, worth the buy to see a brilliant film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars erm, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Party Monster [2003] [DVD] (DVD)
no plans to watch it just needed it for a student project, all i know is that its"based on a true Story" but that dosent really mean much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Party Monster [DVD]
Party Monster [DVD] by Randy Barbato (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews