Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I luuuurve DOOM!
I'd like to make it clear that while I like lots of music, on a basic level I'm a complete metalhead! There are a few amazing exceptions to this and MF Doom is one of them. This album is sweeeeeet! If you want to hear a truely talented MC then just listen to this (or any of his alter-egos for that matter, MF Doom, Viktor Vaughan, Mad Villain, King Geedorah, ALL...
Published on 16 May 2007 by Mr. Alexander Collins

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh where has Zev Love X gone?
I was a bit disappointed at this release from MF Doom, who is my favorite emcee still as he is able to rhyme like no-one else can. It seems like as his fame is exploding along with his friends at the label Stones Throw his and their releases are getting too watered down.

The album has more of a commercial feel to it which isn't the problem really, as...
Published on 4 Mar 2007 by J. Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I luuuurve DOOM!, 16 May 2007
By 
Mr. Alexander Collins "xmetal loverx" (Maesteg, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mouse & The Mask (Audio CD)
I'd like to make it clear that while I like lots of music, on a basic level I'm a complete metalhead! There are a few amazing exceptions to this and MF Doom is one of them. This album is sweeeeeet! If you want to hear a truely talented MC then just listen to this (or any of his alter-egos for that matter, MF Doom, Viktor Vaughan, Mad Villain, King Geedorah, ALL AMAZING!)It puts any gangster rap or general commercial hip hop rubbish to shame! He creates beats and lyrics that should make anyone want put 'In Da Club' in da bin! If you like hip hop and you haven't heard this your mad because its truely innovative! Plus if you like Aqua Teen or any Adult Swim Cartoons, all the skits and interludes feature characters voices which is cool! If you like J5, Blackalicious, Ugly Duckling and Adult Swim (all of which I love), GET THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aqua Team Hunger Force, 13 Nov 2005
This review is from: Mouse & the Mask (Audio CD)
Well, it's been a very long time since i enjoyed a hiphop album like this, well in fact it was MF Dooms Mm...Food album. When you take MF Doom's vocals and lyrics and mix it up with Danger Mouse's beats and production, you get pure class hiphop. No BS here easy listening music that just sinks in, very rarley do you come across something like this, and when you do, pick it up. There really isn't much more i can say on this album, just buy it and you will not be dissapointed. Pure class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could have been a lot better, 20 Oct 2005
By 
There's a lot to like about this album - but a lot to forget too. If you're looking at this page, no doubt you know who the two perpetrators are... MF Doom, arguably the most original and consistently offbeat rapper of recent years, and Danger Mouse, producer responsible for the lawsuit-attracting Jay Z / Beatles mash up known as the 'Grey Album'. The third element to The Mouse And The Mask is the addition of characters from the late-night American cartoon show Adult Swim. The skits, which run throughout the album and appear on most songs in one form or another, are funny at first but quickly become grating. Maybe a listener more familiar with the Adult Swim characters would appreciate them more, but I found myself skipping them after the first hearing.
As for the music itself, Danger provides a palette of bouncy, occasionally corny samples and keyboard swirls that neatly offset Doom's regulated, deadpan rapping style. Where this works - on tracks such as 'El Chupa Nibre', ' Space Hoes', the Ghostface-guested 'The Mask' and 'Sofa King' - it comes off brilliantly. Unfortunately, some of the tracks just sound too poppy; despite a nicely crooned chorus from Cee-Lo Brown, 'Bizzie Box' is a dull and overly twee number, while a couple of other tracks are just plain boring. Dm's beats, in this project among others, tend towards the repetetive, and this happens too often on this album.
Still its a worthwhile album because, even on the less interesting songs, Doom enlivens proceedings with his ridiculous wordplay. Disses towards other MCs that are almost subliminal - "They raps ain't got no gift like a lonely Christmas"; "Digest a group and sell the poop on eBay" - bump up against references to Janeane Garofalo, "Superfly" Jimmy Snuka and "those dudes in red shirts off Star Trek". Delivered in Doom's trademark quotidian, metered sentences and with his drawling patois, the listener hangs onto ever word, wondering just how the masked supervillain can rhyme "Gats is borin'" with "vats of urine" and get away with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dangerdoom, with a load of limited gumph as well, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
saw this ltd package when it came out..should have bought it, but didn't, regretted it ever since, but am delighted to finally have one in my posession, great album, unique packaging, all good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest album bar none., 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: Mouse & The Mask (Audio CD)
I have to start by saying my opinion is biased owing to the fact that I have been in love with MF doom's music for a long time and everything he has done up to and after this album has been fantastic, I cannot for the life of me think of any bad albums. This however is on a completely different level.

The whole album hits hard and leaves you wanting more. It has the trademark oddball nature of dooms previous work and the raw lyrics combined with the heavy beats by Danger makes it a perfect album for any occasion, I think I would like to be buried with benzie box playing in the background.

Yes it is that great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of last years best albums, 23 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. M. D. F. Jones "Jonesy2Bad" (Pompey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once I got this and Vaudeville Villain, I was hooked to MF Doom and kept on listening to my hip hop and neglecting my punk and reggae. Any fan of Gorillaz 'Demon Days' should get this album, as MF Doom's appearence is one of the highlights of the whole album. The cartoon voices may annoy some people, but they dont annoy me. They add to the playful nature of the album, similar to the way the dark production works so well with the dark lyrics of Vaudeville Villain. To me, MF Doom is all about the rhymes, they are very good on this, with great referrences and delivery. Good introduction to MF Doom or dangermouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dangermouse and MF Doom do it!, 1 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Mouse & The Mask (Audio CD)
DJ Dangermouse, for those that don't know, is the other hottest producer in Hip Hop these days alongside Kanye West. He's created 'The Grey Album' out of Jay Z's lyrics on the Black album and The Beatles music on The White Album. Needless to say the keepers of The Beatles estate were not best pleased so you'll never find it in a regular shop. That was live though, as was his album with Jemini, so I was looking forward to this.
MF Doom has always been one of the cleverest, wierdest rappers out there- his gruff dry tones disguising the smartest use of metaphor ane a hilarious dark sense of humour. Unfortunately his producers have, more often than not, been a let down.
Not here though. Dangermouse does his thing brilliantly while Doom is crisp and cutting throughout. The humour is often puerile, but anyone with a slightly sick sense of humour (most hip hop kids) will laugh out loud.
In short, a banging album that you'll want to listen closely to- this is a big hip hop must for those of you bored with the g-Unit nonsense although if you like all that you'll still enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh where has Zev Love X gone?, 4 Mar 2007
This review is from: Mouse & The Mask (Audio CD)
I was a bit disappointed at this release from MF Doom, who is my favorite emcee still as he is able to rhyme like no-one else can. It seems like as his fame is exploding along with his friends at the label Stones Throw his and their releases are getting too watered down.

The album has more of a commercial feel to it which isn't the problem really, as Dangermouse has produced some great beats on here, but the album just feels too gimmicky. Instead of the hard hip-hop beats, great guest emcess and 80s cartoon skits on Operation Doomsday, you get Gorillaz type beats and gimmicky skits from Aqua Teen Hunger Force and Space Ghost. I just can't brush off the feeling that it seems like one big advertisement for Cartoon Network/Adult Swim with lyrics such as: 'I'm trying to watch Adult Swim...'.

From the first listen you can tell Dangermouse was influenced by Damon Albarn's Gorillaz album, as the many of the tracks such as Benzie Box have Brit-pop influences. The standout tracks include: Sofa King, The mask which which features a short appearance by Ghostface Killah, Vats of Urine, and Space Hos.

If this is your first taste of underground hip-hop, or you liked the Gorillaz album you'll love this. The album also has appeal to cartoon nerds who will love the appearances by Space Ghost, Brak and Zorak and the constant Jetsons references.

If you're an MF Doom fan who has loved him since Operation Doomsday and the Monster Island Czars you might be a bit disappointed. Underground fans may be quick to say he's fell off after this, but i'd wait until his highly anticipated album with Ghostface Killah b4 that is said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lbee, 15 Jun 2006
By 
This review is from: Mouse & the Mask (Audio CD)
This is the best hip hop album I have heard in a long time.

I got the Gnarls Barkley album- 'St Elsewhere' and was very disappointed, so I wanted to find some earlier Danger mouse stuff and came across this. Doom's flow is quite monotonal but it works!

Since losing faith in new hip hop in the past few years, I have been playing this non stop since I got it.

Buy it! - Lbee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doom does it again, 8 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Mouse & The Mask (Audio CD)
A slightly surprising combo here, with Dangermouse being one of the slickest producers around whilst Doom's flow and beats always have this rough, raw feel. The pairing works though, as Dangermouse drops some great cartoon inpspired beats and Doom delivers some of his best lyrics yet, being a massive comic book fan in his own right. DM never gets as blingy as he did on the Jemini album, always managing to stay on the right side of over-produced. Admittedly it may not have the weight or originality of say the Madvillain album, but if Doom's a little too heavy for you Dangermouse's beats lighten things up a bit, and vice versa. Whatever you say about Dangermouse he's a very competent producer, and there are some classic head-nodders on here, especially the track with Talib Kweli. Just about essential
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9de93408)

This product

Mouse & the Mask
Mouse & the Mask by MF Doom (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews