Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Peak of The Show - 1994 to 1995
The Simpsons was, quite simply, at its best between 1994 and 1995 after half a decade of character development. As such, Season 6 ran through both of these years with 25 fantastic episodes - not a single one you would want to skip. I feel that Seasons 5 to 7 are the best simply because after trial and error, the series had found its best mix of humour and emotions, being...
Published on 31 Dec 2009 by Picard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Came fast but not in condition and without manual specified.
I was very exited when I received "The Simpsons Season 6". Until I found that the box was badly damaged, most of the disks were scratched (One had a long bold scratch down the disk, another had two black permanent marker blotches on the disk). The manual was also missing and when I asked for one, I was told that they would give me 1.20 compensation, or return the...
Published 12 months ago by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Peak of The Show - 1994 to 1995, 31 Dec 2009
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons was, quite simply, at its best between 1994 and 1995 after half a decade of character development. As such, Season 6 ran through both of these years with 25 fantastic episodes - not a single one you would want to skip. I feel that Seasons 5 to 7 are the best simply because after trial and error, the series had found its best mix of humour and emotions, being neither too "wacky" nor too dark. The result is a Season that can be related to by all the family with perfect story telling and patient scenes - two elements that have clearly been lost from the latest episodes.

This was also a time when The Simpsons had no-one else to compete against; as such, the series was at its most original. Looking again at the series now, the show has lost all character because it feels the need to rival other shows like 'Family Guy', which are far, far more fast paced and focussed on current affairs.

Season 6's highlights for me personally, and probably the best ever Simpsons episodes are the following:

"Bart of Darkness" (No. 1)
One of the great 'summer' episodes featuring an issue that would have us all miserable... Bart breaks his leg and as such, cannot use the pool Homer has constructed in the back yard (after building a Barn House initially by mistake!) Aside from the countless brilliant gags, this episode features one very memorable scene in which Ned reveals how he never murdered his family, followed with "that" scream and Homers laughable detective speech! The first of a bunch of great summer episodes with the typical competition element as Martin builds a bigger, better pool.

"Treehouse of Horror 5" (No. 6)
The original Treehouse of Horrors were very, very original and actually retained the Halloween/fear elements. I think T.O.H 5 is the best because it not only parodies some of the best thrillers in movie history, but it has continuing gags such as Groundskeeper Willie attempting to save Bart, only to fail every time and eventually say "Acchh, I'm noot very good at this!". Classic episode that never tires.

"Grampa vs. Sexual Inadequacy" (No. 10)
As mentioned earlier, this season really entertains all the family, and "Grampa vs. Sexual Inadequacy" is certainly one of the best Simpsons episodes because the plot is seen from both the children's and adults mind. The story see's Grampa reveal to Homer an old family tonic recipe that was used to enhance... An adults 'mojo'! For the citizens, its a miracle drink, but the kids just don't understand whats going on. Their interpretation? Aliens have took over their minds! Much to the rolling eyeballs of Lisa...

"Barts Comet" (No. 14)
What happens when Springfield is about to be hit by a gigantic meteor? Everyone rushes over to Flanders back yard bunker! But it was Bart who discovers a comet in the sky whilst serving a punishment with Principal Skinner for releasing a weather balloon with his face on it! This is followed by one of the best 3-step gags in the series - Skinner crying out when he hears it was Bart who discovered the comet, when a paper boy delivers a newspaper with Barts Comet as the headline, and realising he's just let go of the weather balloon! Very fun episode.

"Round Springfield" (No. 22)
I always love episodes that surround primarily around Bart and Lisa, and this is probably the best of the duo - each having their own story, and ending up helping each other. Bart eats a jagged and sharp 'Krusty-o" in his serial, which wins him 500 dollars compensation and the brilliant deliberation of whether to purchase "The Ultimate Pog" or a rare Bleeding Gums Murphy album for Lisa. Why? In a brilliant sequence, Murphy sadly passes away much to the distraught Lisa who wants an album to be played on the radio to commemorate his passing. Bart, being the good brother with a heart (between Season 5 and 7, anyway) eventually buys the album and the episode finishes wonderfully. Classic hearty Simpsons!

"Lemon of Troy" (No. 24)
My favourite Simpsons episode ever, period. Set in the summer again, Bart and his friends hike up to "the ol' lemon tree" to hear a tale of its history with Granpa. But when a Shelbyville gang of boys discover how ripe and perfect the Lemons on the tree are, they dig it up and take it back to their town! Laughably separated by just a change in grass colour, Bart and his unlikely troops carefully sneak into Shelbyville to rescue the Lemon tree, only for Homer and the other kids parents to eventually get involved. The satire of how parents would act to defend their own pride and that of their town is absolutely brilliant, and the "goofy" comparisons of how Shelbyville is supposedly backwards is just inspired. They just don't make them like this anymore.

If I could only buy one 'Simpsons' boxset, then make no mistake - it would be this one. There are of course a handful of other episodes I would love to snatch from Season 5 and 7; in particular, "Bart Sells His Soul" which would be my second favourite Simpsons episode. But this Season is certainly the most consistent, and now that the packaging is back to something you can actually 'use', every Simpsons fan needs this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm More Simpsons Boxsets!!!, 16 Aug 2005
Currently they have done 16 seasons with 356 episodes. Season 17 is about to start in the US and I'm sure will be over here soon! I've realised that they're bringing out these season boxsets every 6 months so I garuntee you that season 7 will be out by March!!! - Just wait!
Anyway while we wait for season 17 and the ever closer 400th episode we can feast our eyes on the 6th season which yes has tonnes of great moments! "The Shinning" being one of the best haloween stories ever done by the simpsons in which Homer goes in a murderous rage when deprived of T.V. and beer for all of 10 seconds! You learn that Ned Flanders screams like a girl in an episode where Bart thinks Ned killed Maude! Sideshow Bob returns! (Voiced by Kelsey Grammer!) In an episode where he runs for mayor of Sprigfield but what would become of Quimby?! Homer goes to clown college (or Klown Kollege to carry on the Krusty 'K' joke!) and saving Krusty from Fat Tony and "an old italian stereotype"! And Santas Lil Helper gets some and the simpsons are stuck with a dozen puppies and eventually have to save them from Mr Burns' evil plan to turn them into a tuxedo. My god so many great moments!
The best moment in my view of the whole series is from "two dozen and one greyhounds" the episode where Santas Lil Helper spawns puppies who eventually catch the evil yet fashionable eye of Mr Burns. The moment I speak of is Mr Burn's imfamous 'See My Vest' song (in the tune of Disney's Beauty and the Beast song 'Be Our Guest') Also in the series Marge becomes a cop, Bart falls in love, Lisa sees her future, Homer and Grampa try to help their fellow impotent man and the Simpsons family causes havoc in Australia and also in a classic episode visit Itchy and Scratchy land!
Now into their sixth year the writing of the Simpsons had become so much better than the first couple of seasons. Where as the first couple of seasons were extremely random in the way of jokes and was so much more family oriented, around seasons 4-6 is when The Simpsons really become the whacky disfunctional family we all love!
One last note - This is the first time the simpsons ever ended a season on a cliffhanger. The last episode of this series is the imfamous and classic first part of the 'Who Shot Mr Burns?' two parter with the 2nd part kicking off season 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season 6, 25 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 6 of the Simpsons followed on from the brilliant Season 5 and has more episodes and more special features. this was when the Simpsons were beginning to reach there best, and is right in the middle of the best seasons to be made (5-8). It is also the first season to end in a cliffhanger, with the "Who Shot Mr. Burns" mystery being revealed at the start of Series 7.
This season has 25 episodes, 3 more than the previous season 5, and they are some of the best episodes yet. In my opinion, the best episodes on the 4 discs are Bart of Darkness, Homie the Clown, The Springfield Connection, Lemon of Troy. There are tons of special features to keep you occupied once you have watched all 25 episodes, with the total running time of the 4 discs coming to 540 minutes!!!
As in the previous seasons, there are loads of guest stars including Larry King, Patrick Stewart, and Mel Brooks, and loads of funny moments, such as Homer doing the loop the loop on a tiny bicycle, and Maggie in the Halloween special with the famous quote "This is indeed a disturbing universe".
Overall, this is one of the very best seasons of the Simpsons, and with 25 episodes and 540 minutes, this will keep the laughs coming for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springfield year six, 20 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
All twenty five episodes of the sixth seasons of the Simpsons are here in one box set, spread over four dvds.

This is one of those seasons that nobody argues about the quality of. And it has a very memorable cliffhanger ending.

Episodes are as follows:

Bart of Darkness.
Lisa's rival.
Another Simpsons clip show.
Itchy and Scratchy Land.
Sideshow Bob Roberts.
Treehouse of Horror V.
Bart's girlfriend.
Lisa on Ice.
Homer Badman.
Grampa Vs Sexual inadequacy.
Fear of flying.
Homer the Great.
And Maggie makes three.
Bart's Comet.
Homie the Clown.
Bart Vs Australia.
Homer Vs Patty and Selma.
A Star is Burns.
Lisa's wedding.
Two Dozen and one Greyhounds.
The PTA disbands.
Round Springfield.
The Springfield Connection.
Lemon of Troy.
Who shot Mr. Burns? [Part one.]

Still very much riding the crest of the wave of having become a phenomenon at the time this season went out, they capitalised on it by producing a clifhanger ending with a mystery that gripped a nation. The resolution to which is on season seven.

All discs begin with an anti piracy ad, but you can skip that via the next button on the dvd remote.

All have direct scene access ad a commentary from the production staff.

The only language and subtitles option on this season is English. Save for Who Shot Mr. Burns part one which can, via a special language feature, be watched in Parisian French, Castilian Spanish, Czech or Russian.

Most episodes have deleted scenes, but they can't be watched individually. You're given the option to reinstate them in the episode or not.

Disc one has an introduction to the season from show creator Matt Groening.

Discs two and four do present animation showcases on one episode each, showing the animation at various stages of development.

Discs one and three do the same with an animatic.

Disc four also offers:

An illustrated commentary.

All twenty six minutes worth of aforementioned deleted scenes, which you can watch all in one go. Not individually.

Three short tv commercials for various products all of which featured Simpsons characters.

A one minute feature about a promotional tie in between the show and an airline.

A sketch gallery.

And a genuine rarity: 'Springfield's most wanted.' A special edition of America's most wanted, the US version of Crimewatch, which went out before Who Shot Mr. Burns part two, and which looks at the case. With lots of clips and contributions from celebrities.

There's also a short introduction to the episode by one of the producers.

The non limited edition box for the season is just the same as for previous years and is fine and sturdy.

It's a pity it lacks international subtitles, but it's another great collection for a classic season of a great show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Have A Cow Man!, 25 Nov 2005
By 
Mr. J. WARE "wolvieware" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons are now at the top of their game. After five very good seasons, by this sixth series, The Simpsons had permeated into pop culture. They were everywhere. Everyone knew who they were. And the amount of merchandise avaliable was just staggering.
So Season six had an awful lot of anticipation behind it when it was first aired. And it succeeds in every way.
Plot details this time round were more detailed than ever before, but the joke rate still caused a laugh a minute. There are visual gags, one liners, and enough adult jokes that fly over little kids head to appeal to everyone.
Standout episodes are the Halloween special, featuring the Shining (Ssh, lad, do you wanna get sued? It's the Shinning!), the episode where Bart insults Australia and the now infamous Who Shot Mr. Burns.
This last epsiode was a season cliffhanger, the first time The Simpsons had used a to be continued to end a season. Everyone in Springfield could have killed Mr. Burns, and everyone had a motive. So who was it? You have to wait till season 7 is released to find out!!
The extras, as usual for Simpsons DVDs are plentiful, except this time we get a 20 minute doc, which is a tongue in cheek look at the Anerica's Most Wanted TV show, called Springfield's Most Wanted, and it builds up the Who Shot Mr. Burn's episode. Otherwise, you get commentaries on ALL episodes, animation showcases, just loads of stuff to watch.
AS usual, its real value for money, expecially packaged in the brilliant Homer head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply can't wait to add another to my Simpsons collection, 12 Jun 2005
The laughs continue as another complete season of The Simpsons comes to DVD complete with the extra's fans have become accustomed to. Only a complete specs list has yet to be issued by FOX so along with the artwork not known yet. You'll have to wait a bit longer to see what's in store for Season Six. Fox Home Entertainment has revealed early details on the Sixth Season, which will be released this August (16th) in the US but we the Brits have to wait another month for it over here. Each of the Sixth Season episodes will be presented in 1.33:1 full frame along as usual in English Dolby Digital 5.1 sound.
My theory was that they made a Christmas release last year so that they can now release them annually at Christmas time, where people will buy many more of them as gifts. If they release in June and December, they catch the Christmas market with half of the releases. Red Dwarf release their DVDs every November and February for the same reason which is what the Simpsons should do, releasing 2 Seasons a year would help speed up the process of coming to DVD.
EPISODES..
Bart of Darkness
Lisa's Rival
Another Simpson Clip Show
Itchy And Scratchy Land
Sideshow Bob Roberts
Tree House of Horror V
Bart's Girlfriend
Lisa on Ice
Homer Badman
Grampa vs. Sexual Inadequacy
Fear of Flying.
Homer the Great
And Maggie Takes Three
Bart's Comet
Homie the Clown
Bart vs. Australia
Homer vs. Patty and Selma
A Star is Burns
Lisa's Wedding
Two Dozen and One Greyhounds
The PTA Disbands
Round Springfield
Springfield Connection
Lemon of Troy
Who Shot Mr. Burns? (1)
In all the Simpsons box sets are very well done and presented well like Father Ted and The Legaue Of Gentlemen, only wish The Fresh Prince box set was like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO buy this but not the limited addition version, 19 Jun 2006
Further to the comments made by another reviewer, I would also like to express how bad this limited edition DVD cover is. The DVDs are excellent, but this limited addition cover is terrible. I've spent the last couple of months trying to find someone that sells the standard cover. These are so much better, fit in with the rest of the collection AND won't fall off your shelf because of the odd shape of the box!

Get the set, but don't get the limited edition one readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gr8!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect, great homer head shaped box, and even bought used in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Simpson, 9 May 2014
By 
John W. Goater (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for my grandson who was more than pleased with this gift. He loves all types of comedy so is a happy chappie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Season, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Generally a good season of the Simpsons. Some of my favourite episodes are there, and the extra's were OK. It finishes with the 'Who Shot Mr Burns? Part 1' episode of course, and this means that I had to go and buy the Season 7 just to see that again (I've seen it a few times on TV before). Nevertheless, you can get this pretty cheap on Amazon.

If you like the Simpsons, I recommend it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons - Season 6  [DVD]
The Simpsons - Season 6 [DVD] by The Simpsons (DVD - 2005)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews