Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE YOU BUY
First things first this is a trully awesome game to play which is updated (free) nearly every month with new map or models.
Having said that DO NOT BUY A USED COPY, this is why...
When you install Counter-Strike Source you have to register online (no choice in the mater doesn't work other wise) if it has been used then someone else has registered it so when...
Published on 2 Feb 2006 by D_Stinger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The potential is there!
This game simply is not as fun as Counter Strike; the graphics are better but it is not as intense and does not get the adrenaline going as much when you get on a rampage. The potential is there: the visuals are amazing but this too requires a very good pc. In a few years time, when more people are playing this game, and people have better machines this game may become...
Published on 17 Feb 2006


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE YOU BUY, 2 Feb 2006
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First things first this is a trully awesome game to play which is updated (free) nearly every month with new map or models.
Having said that DO NOT BUY A USED COPY, this is why...
When you install Counter-Strike Source you have to register online (no choice in the mater doesn't work other wise) if it has been used then someone else has registered it so when you come to do it you will be unsuccessful you could try complaining to STEAM but they will just say it is not there responsibility and that you have to get another copy, it is possible to sign in but you would have to know the exact account details of the previous owner so you could sign in as them. Finally once installed CS Source WORKS WITHOUT the disk so the person selling may still be playing and of course that mean that while they are playing online YOU CAN'T.
This is what seems to be the problem people install and register a copy of Source, realise they don't need the DVD so they sell it knowing full well that it is WORTHLESS because the person they sell it to can't do anything with it, most shops like game have cottened onto this and don't sell used PC games.
I hope I have helped, and though it is more expensive a brand new copy of CS Source is worth every penny you spend (you never know you might meet me online look for Rázzer then you can tell me yourselfwhat you though of this review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Mar 2006
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
i know purists will hate the change to a new game. i am a newcomer to this game tho and love it. the graphics look like half life 2. the gameplay is amazing and the guns are awesome to fire.
it includes the totally amazing day of defeat source which to be honest is even better.
and also half life 2 deathmatch which is ok.
and its not expensive. this and battlefield 2 are the best games ive bought in the last year or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step into the hardcore..., 28 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The original counterstrike set the benchmark for online FPS, ever since, FPS games have used ideas from it and developed games with its engine.

Counterstrike source is just breathtaking.

The graphics are completely realistic to fine detail, the objects move realisticly when shot or pushed, and its totally like real life.

In the game, you buy weapons of your choice and set out to complete objectives (hostage rescue and bombing etc), and kill anyone who gets in your way.

This game is hardcore in everyway, and i cant put it down.

This game is the single best online FPS money can buy. nothing beats it for me, its part of my life now - i play it whenever i can. it is addictive.

If you think your an FPS gamer, when you get this - your more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 20 Sep 2006
By 
hutton90 (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
ive had this for about 2 weeks now and the game is amazing. some fast gameplay and easy to learn controls make this game in my opinion a definate 5 star. theres all kinds of guns for all kinds of gamers, sniper rifles, machine guns, pistols, shotguns, rifles etc. an excellent game and well worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT NOW, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I got counter strike source with halflife 2 a while back when it first came out. I have played halflife 2 in total about 4 times. Its an amazing game dont get me wrong. However Counter strike source is so addictive. The graphics are awsome. good effects when flashbangs/grenades go off neer you.
Because i played the origional counterstrike i was slightly skeptical about this new version. My skeptical mind was put to rest as soon as i entered a server.
ITS INCREDIBLE.
Roughly one month ago i also bought this game, the reason i bought the game was because of Day of Defeat:source which comes with it. It is an amazing WW2 game, packed with all the great features which comes with the source engine. Again i played DOD the original version of the game before playing the Source version. i knew it would be good, and i was right.
I have had zero trouble with steam, and im sure you will also have no problems using steam.
Im loving both CS:S and DOD:S, but word of warning, you will become addicted to playing them. so make sure you have a lot of spare time handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not for the noobs, 26 Oct 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is very high quality in terms of production, fast-paced and unforgiving game play, and value for money as two other beta games come with.
The graphics are continually updated and are in league with 'Crisis' quality environments except not open and more structured. You join servers for different maps and have all the options for customisation.
The game play punishes you for not having a gaming mouse with very high sensitivity and your hand-eye coordination will be strained to the limits. I found myself wondering whether it was worth investing in a gaming mouse or that my reflexes would negate the benefits of having top-of-the-range equipment.
The game comes with 'half life:2' and 'day of defeat' on-line beta versions (I think they're beta) but it does require you to have good on-line connection as all of the games are created for fast-paced multi-player shoot-outs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be warned, 5 Sep 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is amazing! It can be quite hard to get used to as some players are very skilled but it is fun even if you only kill one person in 30 games. The bots are not stupid they dont always go the exact route they went in the last game. If they dont see you they wont find you. But if they see you they will stay near the area until they die or you do. You can create a map but it is very hard and you have to be a very good person on computers to make it work.You can cReate a server for friends and make it private by using a password.Although even if you want some practice or tired of dying online you have to create a server to do it.If your computer is old the chances are that it will crash one hell of a lot and the graphics will be bad also it will lag if your near someone(that gets annoying). If your computer is top of the range it will work like a dream.(I know what your saying how do you know that? I have a okay computer from 2007 and it does not mix with Counterstrike Source.I have another good one and it will mix like chocolate cake and smarties!) I hope I helped (:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best FPS game EVER, 15 April 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
It's very easy to say that it is the best FPS ever, but it really is. It has paved the way for everything. it is definitely up there with half life 2 and gmod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game at a great price, 16 July 2009
By 
T. Pollitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is definitely my favourite first-person-shooter and is an amazing game to play. For those new to fps games or gaming in general, this might not be for you as the learning curve is a bit steep, but once you get good it is great fun. It also comes with a couple of other games which are a cool bonus. This retail version is no different than if you buy the game from the steam website, other than it's on DVD plus it is also slightly cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutly Brilliant!, 28 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. M. Hill "Xoton" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is highly addictive but unlike all of the other FPS out now for example Call of Duty 4 you do not get board of CSS. It is a lot more than just a FPS where you just virtually kill people it has lots of mini games and it has a vast range of things to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa27648b8)

This product

Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD)
Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows XP)
16.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews