Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE YOU BUY
First things first this is a trully awesome game to play which is updated (free) nearly every month with new map or models.
Having said that DO NOT BUY A USED COPY, this is why...
When you install Counter-Strike Source you have to register online (no choice in the mater doesn't work other wise) if it has been used then someone else has registered it so when...
Published on 2 Feb 2006 by D_Stinger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The potential is there!
This game simply is not as fun as Counter Strike; the graphics are better but it is not as intense and does not get the adrenaline going as much when you get on a rampage. The potential is there: the visuals are amazing but this too requires a very good pc. In a few years time, when more people are playing this game, and people have better machines this game may become...
Published on 17 Feb 2006


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 131 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars READ THIS REVIEW BEFORE YOU BUY, 2 Feb 2006
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
First things first this is a trully awesome game to play which is updated (free) nearly every month with new map or models.
Having said that DO NOT BUY A USED COPY, this is why...
When you install Counter-Strike Source you have to register online (no choice in the mater doesn't work other wise) if it has been used then someone else has registered it so when you come to do it you will be unsuccessful you could try complaining to STEAM but they will just say it is not there responsibility and that you have to get another copy, it is possible to sign in but you would have to know the exact account details of the previous owner so you could sign in as them. Finally once installed CS Source WORKS WITHOUT the disk so the person selling may still be playing and of course that mean that while they are playing online YOU CAN'T.
This is what seems to be the problem people install and register a copy of Source, realise they don't need the DVD so they sell it knowing full well that it is WORTHLESS because the person they sell it to can't do anything with it, most shops like game have cottened onto this and don't sell used PC games.
I hope I have helped, and though it is more expensive a brand new copy of CS Source is worth every penny you spend (you never know you might meet me online look for Rázzer then you can tell me yourselfwhat you though of this review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step into the hardcore..., 28 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
The original counterstrike set the benchmark for online FPS, ever since, FPS games have used ideas from it and developed games with its engine.

Counterstrike source is just breathtaking.

The graphics are completely realistic to fine detail, the objects move realisticly when shot or pushed, and its totally like real life.

In the game, you buy weapons of your choice and set out to complete objectives (hostage rescue and bombing etc), and kill anyone who gets in your way.

This game is hardcore in everyway, and i cant put it down.

This game is the single best online FPS money can buy. nothing beats it for me, its part of my life now - i play it whenever i can. it is addictive.

If you think your an FPS gamer, when you get this - your more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Mar 2006
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
i know purists will hate the change to a new game. i am a newcomer to this game tho and love it. the graphics look like half life 2. the gameplay is amazing and the guns are awesome to fire.
it includes the totally amazing day of defeat source which to be honest is even better.
and also half life 2 deathmatch which is ok.
and its not expensive. this and battlefield 2 are the best games ive bought in the last year or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GET IT NOW, 21 Jan 2006
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I got counter strike source with halflife 2 a while back when it first came out. I have played halflife 2 in total about 4 times. Its an amazing game dont get me wrong. However Counter strike source is so addictive. The graphics are awsome. good effects when flashbangs/grenades go off neer you.
Because i played the origional counterstrike i was slightly skeptical about this new version. My skeptical mind was put to rest as soon as i entered a server.
ITS INCREDIBLE.
Roughly one month ago i also bought this game, the reason i bought the game was because of Day of Defeat:source which comes with it. It is an amazing WW2 game, packed with all the great features which comes with the source engine. Again i played DOD the original version of the game before playing the Source version. i knew it would be good, and i was right.
I have had zero trouble with steam, and im sure you will also have no problems using steam.
Im loving both CS:S and DOD:S, but word of warning, you will become addicted to playing them. so make sure you have a lot of spare time handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Game, 20 Sep 2006
By 
hutton90 (Darlington, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
ive had this for about 2 weeks now and the game is amazing. some fast gameplay and easy to learn controls make this game in my opinion a definate 5 star. theres all kinds of guns for all kinds of gamers, sniper rifles, machine guns, pistols, shotguns, rifles etc. an excellent game and well worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, Simple. Addictive. The best game ever., 20 Jun 2008
By 
James Barrow (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Although this game is quite old, the enjoyment gained when one plays this game easily compares to modern day games like GTA. The graphics are simple but realistic and doesn't require a top class PC at all. The gameplay is very easy to learn and once you have played it for about a week, you will be hooked. I currently go to a high school and out of a 1000 pupils, over 100 play this game because it is so enjoyable. Even though we have access to more modern games, we still choose this because it is absolutely amazing.
FUN. SIMPLE. ADDICTIVE. = GREAT BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great game at a great price, 16 July 2009
By 
T. Pollitt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is definitely my favourite first-person-shooter and is an amazing game to play. For those new to fps games or gaming in general, this might not be for you as the learning curve is a bit steep, but once you get good it is great fun. It also comes with a couple of other games which are a cool bonus. This retail version is no different than if you buy the game from the steam website, other than it's on DVD plus it is also slightly cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILL FPS!!!, 27 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is probably the most realistic shooter out. As an avid fps player i do have all titles bf2 halo far cry etc etc. CS is the most fun and tactical fps. You cant simply rush out with a machine gun and blast guys to pieces. DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT buy a copy as you will only be able to play against pc and not go online as you need a product code which cant be used moire thn once. This game is more than 5 stars get it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The potential is there!, 17 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game simply is not as fun as Counter Strike; the graphics are better but it is not as intense and does not get the adrenaline going as much when you get on a rampage. The potential is there: the visuals are amazing but this too requires a very good pc. In a few years time, when more people are playing this game, and people have better machines this game may become more popular. Not a patch on counter strike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars warn the family.... your life is over, 1 Nov 2005
By 
This review is from: Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) (Video Game)
counter strike source is the most amazing multiplayer game of all time, with the graphics and the gameplay being above the standards of and other multiplayer game.
in addition to the price tag, which is worth it for the game by itself, you get the wonderful Day Of Defeate Source, which is the updated version of the World War II online shooter which is as wonderful as counterstrike as it is different. you also get the amazing Half Life 2 Deathmatch which is not as good as the other two, but if the others wern't around, would be the new best multiplayer game
in a summery....get it, get it now!
finally, ignore what you hear about the horrors of Steam, the required application system for these games, as i have used it since the start and love the system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD)
Counter -Strike: Source (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows XP)
Used & New from: £4.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews