Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Astley returns with a collection of timeless classics
After a twelve year absence from the UK music scene, Portrait sees British pop crooner Rick Astley return with an album of timeless covers. The collection is an eclectic mix of songs originally sung by such artists as Elvis Presley, Matt Monro, Andy Williams.
On listening to the first track, Don McLean's Vincent, one is instantly reminded of Astley's incredibly rich,...
Published on 18 Oct 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'laid back' Rick!
A very laid back or I suppose 'Nice' album without any oomph! ... which at times it needs.
Rick is a good singer - the choice of material is quite good on the whole, but nothing like his Stock/Aitken/Waterman days .. so if that is what you're expecting then forget it.
This is much quieter. The backing is somewhat lacklustre at times and doesn't always give his...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by Traveller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rick Astley returns with a collection of timeless classics, 18 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
After a twelve year absence from the UK music scene, Portrait sees British pop crooner Rick Astley return with an album of timeless covers. The collection is an eclectic mix of songs originally sung by such artists as Elvis Presley, Matt Monro, Andy Williams.
On listening to the first track, Don McLean's Vincent, one is instantly reminded of Astley's incredibly rich, powerful and emotive voice. If Elvis Presley and Frank Sinatra were the benchmark for American male singers then Rick Astley's voice is surely the British equivalent. From the emotional Vincent on to moody renditions of songs as Cry Me A River and Nature Boy, and ending with an unconventional yet effective pop version of Bacharach and David's What The World Needs Now, Astley proves how great and versatile a singer he is. In our era of disposal celebrity culture and reality shows such as X Factor and Pop Idol, Rick Astley's Portrait is a timely reminder how the most gifted singers don't need television talent shows to showcase their talent. Their talent, quite literally, 'sings' for itself.
Portrait proves beyond a shadow of a doubt that Rick Astley is one of the greatest male singers to ever grace a song. An essential purchase for anyone that loves music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portrait of Rick Astley, 13 Nov 2005
By 
Lindy J. Peppiatt "PaleDeer" (Redwood City, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
It's been a while since Mr. Astley's "Keep It Turned On" and the two tracks he recorded for the "Max" album.
I've always felt that Rick had the voice to explore the standard songs of the 40's and 50's. Now it's happened.
My particular favorites on this CD are "Portrait of My Love","And I Love You So", "Nature Boy" and "Cry Me a River".
What impresses me most about Rick Astley is that he really doesn't have to record at all. He's already made it. His love of music shows and his appreciation of others artists is apparent.
I love it when every word can be understood, whether it be in Rock, Soul, Jazz or contemporary styles.
Thank you Rick for making music beautiful and not just so much noise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually really good, 4 Dec 2007
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I am an old fan of Rick Astley and have his earlier records. I think some of them are fantastic and others are, well, more average. I read the reviews on this page and they made me hesitate in bying the record. But I listened to some of the songs and found that I really enjoyed them!

I think it's a really good collection of interpretations of old classics. I think he really aimed at presenting the songs in his own personal style and most of the times it really works. He's come a long way since his earlier work which shows on these recordings. I mean, he's not 18 anymore...

So, if you like his latest albums then you'll probably enjoy this one too. If you're more into the dance music - you'll probably hate it. Personally - I think it's a gem and I think I'll regard some of the songs as minor classics which I can return to in the future. A strong 4-star album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars portrait!, 5 Nov 2005
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
finally rick decided to sing standards and he did a very good job!its only the style of the production that can devide some people.i think there are some masterpeaces on like"nature boy,these foolish things,where do i begin,somewhere,portrait of my love,make it easy on yourself"the style is very stripped down witch is good to hear his fantastic baritone!!it's sometimes like unplugged,some country and some jazzy sounds on there so i think enough for a tru music lover!!lets hope mr astley records a big band album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a great album, 25 Nov 2005
By 
Michel Schauenberg (Horgen, ZH Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I´m a big Rick Astley fan since 1987. And I´m still surprised what he can do with his voice. Having him singing all this classics is fabulous. I´m sure that he bringst with this Album this classic songs to a new audience. Just listen to his fantasic voice and enjoy every minute. The songs will send you a shiver down your spine and maybe even make you cry a tear, but in a very good way. Thanks a lot for this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars portrait, 28 Oct 2005
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
allright people will say "another cover album" but this album shows talents of rick astley i think a lot of people didn't knew he had!just listen to his "nature boy" he can sing jazz!!and the album has a very original production style kinda unplugged,countryish and a little jazzy.just hear the bossa nova version of"these foolish things" and the ballads like portrait of my love with a cool hammond backing!the beautifull soprano sax on where do i begin!finally rick astley's voice is conected to great musicians!a perfect marriage!nico kanakaris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'laid back' Rick!, 29 Oct 2009
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
A very laid back or I suppose 'Nice' album without any oomph! ... which at times it needs.
Rick is a good singer - the choice of material is quite good on the whole, but nothing like his Stock/Aitken/Waterman days .. so if that is what you're expecting then forget it.
This is much quieter. The backing is somewhat lacklustre at times and doesn't always give his voice the support it sometimes needs...but it's ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
reminds me of the good old days (GOD am i getting that old that i sound like my dad? Oh spit)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
Bought with greatest hits, not really what I expected but still good. Definitely worth a listen on a lazy Sunday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That voice!, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Portrait (Audio CD)
I can not get enough of that mans voice. Glad I found this, even it it's 8 years after the fact. Ricky's voice is just as smooth as the first time I heard it. Good cd...hope there is more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Portrait
Portrait by Rick Astley (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews