Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste time reading the reviews... just go buy it!
So many times, reviews contain such words as 'indescribable', 'hugely exciting', 'like-nothing-you've-heard-before', 'defying all labels', 'mesmerising', 'enchanting', 'shockingly original', or 'a breath of fresh air on a jaded music scene'.
But for once you couldhonestly apply all of these accolades and many more to 'PRR' and you'd still not quite get the complete...
Published on 4 Oct 2005 by Groove74

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very average
can't quite put my finger on why a band, with clearly some songwriting talent, would release an album like this. some great moments, particularly on the 2nd track, but overall this is a pretty disappointing album. the use of vocals is extremely irritating throughout, particularly their obsession with the lyrics 'a million bright ambassadors of morning', which are outright...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by Schpleeb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dont waste time reading the reviews... just go buy it!, 4 Oct 2005
This review is from: Cautionary Tales For The Brave (Audio CD)
So many times, reviews contain such words as 'indescribable', 'hugely exciting', 'like-nothing-you've-heard-before', 'defying all labels', 'mesmerising', 'enchanting', 'shockingly original', or 'a breath of fresh air on a jaded music scene'.
But for once you couldhonestly apply all of these accolades and many more to 'PRR' and you'd still not quite get the complete pciture of just how refreshingly different and original these guys (and one gal!) are.
Yes there are four part harmonies very reminiscent of the Beach Boys and yes the 13 minute epic swirls of guitar, strings and synth are very Floyd-esque, but present too are huge grunge guitar riffs and driving bass lines that keep the sound bang up to date. Obviously hugely musically accomplished - this band is just so darned tight! The songs are multi-layered enough that there are parts you'll instantly love and other threads that you'll only start to discover 15 or 20 listenings in...
DO buy the album - it'll be stuck in your car CD player or as a favourite playlist in your 'pod for months if not years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Approach Without Caution, 28 Jan 2006
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cautionary Tales For The Brave (Audio CD)
CDs usually come in "jewel cases" but rarely do those cases contain jewels as bright as "Cautionary Tales for the Brave".
Here we are witnessing the return of the music genre that dare not speak its name: progressive rock. Once it was a revered and world-conquering genre led by giants like Yes and Pink Floyd. Among other things they were inspired by the barrier-pushing explorations of artists like the Beatles and the Who, the possibilities offered by new instruments such as the synthesiser, and the more sophisticated recording facilities becoming available in the late sixties. It may be unfashionable to say so but a lot of the resulting music was very good. By the mid-seventies though, many (not all) prog rock bands had become too remote and self-absorbed. The back to basics movement of punk rendered them uncool if not necessarily unpopular. So prog returned from whence it came: underground.
But now another wave of bands is coming. A wave of bands producing grander, more ornate sounds than we've heard in quite a while. And riding the crest of that wave is Pure Reason Revolution. This mini-album, clocking in at a little under thirty minutes, introduces us to a band intent on creating richly varied and multi-layered music that is opulent and immediate. "Cautionary Tales..." is brimming with magical melodies, seductive vocal harmonies and agile guitars. Embellished in true prog fashion by voluptuous keyboards and anchored by rock-solid drums. It features the epic "Bright Amabassadors of Morning" and other songs that are shorter but no less exotic. The effect is reminiscent of Yes especially in their seventies heyday, not least in the welcoming, embracing atmosphere they create.
After the eleven-minute journey of "Bright Ambassadors of Morning" you might expect the rest of the album to be an anti-climax, but gladly it is far from it as PRR surge forward through "Arrival"/"The Intention Craft" with the power and grace of a racehorse. The more delicate harmonic interplay of "He Tried To Show Them Magic" is followed by the concluding track, a brief "Bright Ambassadors" reprise. Well, of course! This is prog rock after all. And it is, frankly, gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best discovery of the year., 15 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Cautionary Tales For The Brave (Audio CD)
I first heard of this band when somehow because someone got hold of my email address and for some reason I didn't just delete the email straight away. It was a good move.
The sound on this mini-album is unique and beautiful. Its breathtaking and the best track has to be Bright AMbassadors of Morning. Its exactly the kind of rock I enjoy listening to- bright, refressingly original and almost psychedelic. Its the best of prog rock.
I reckon this band is gonna be huge. I would recommend this album to anyone who thinks theres more to music than coldplay and Keane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never thought I'd like prog, 21 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Cautionary Tales For The Brave (Audio CD)
Well I didn't really know what it was. Anyway, PRR are it and they're great. This mini-album, a prelude to 2006's The Dark Third, is a fine debut, full of soaring harmonies, rip-roaring guitars and well crafted synthesized sounds. The 12 minute epic 'The Bright Ambassadors of Morning' is a majestic masterpiece that takes you everywhere, while 'The Intention Craft' is great rock tune that you'll just want to listen to again and again. If they keep this standard up, their first full length album will be worth a listen or million.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very average, 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: Cautionary Tales For The Brave (Audio CD)
can't quite put my finger on why a band, with clearly some songwriting talent, would release an album like this. some great moments, particularly on the 2nd track, but overall this is a pretty disappointing album. the use of vocals is extremely irritating throughout, particularly their obsession with the lyrics 'a million bright ambassadors of morning', which are outright taken from pink floyd's opus 'echoes'. these lyrics annoyingly echo [no pun intended] throughout all the songs. ! this is an album to download, not impulse buy as I did, and was left feeling hugely disappointed. A similar sound at times to porcupine tree, although this band are not a patch on steven wilson's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic...moving and entrancing music!!!, 13 May 2006
This review is from: Cautionary Tales For The Brave (Audio CD)
if you want a piece of music that can both calm you down and make you want to jump around on your sofa then you have found it. I hate the very word prog-rock it sums up old aged men sitting round in a hazy of smoke longing to be rock stars, but when my dad said i should try this nu-prog rock how wrong i was!

It frankly kicks arse!! Thats coming from a 21 year old who can't stand anything by Yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cautionary Tales For The Brave
Cautionary Tales For The Brave by Pure Reason Revolution (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews