Customer Reviews


198 Reviews
5 star:
 (137)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire
...that's the best word I can find to describe Madonna's futuristic techno-dance effort. It's one of those albums that I live for discovering. Confessions on a Dance Floor is its own little musical universe, where the music flows through you like fire and each song connects so seamlessly to the other that I forget that I'm listening to songs at all. With tempestuous...
Published on 3 May 2009 by Atli Hafsteinsson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Jury still out
I got this album on it's release last year and was not impressed. Like all Madonna fans I had been looking forward to hearing Madonna going back to her dance floor roots and was still waiting once I'd listened to this album all the way through. This was Stuart Price with a dash of Madonna or so it seemed.

6 months later and I still haven't got into this album...
Published on 15 Nov 2005 by Neil Parker


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire, 3 May 2009
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
...that's the best word I can find to describe Madonna's futuristic techno-dance effort. It's one of those albums that I live for discovering. Confessions on a Dance Floor is its own little musical universe, where the music flows through you like fire and each song connects so seamlessly to the other that I forget that I'm listening to songs at all. With tempestuous melodies, sounds and beats, this high-charged, all-enveloping musical experience is in my opinion one of Madonna's most recognisable and breathtaking works; an unforgettable sonic journey. Were fire made into music, it would sound something like this.

Madonna and Stuart Price made something truly magical come to life here. Listening to this album for the first time challenged my notion to what an album is supposed to be. Confessions on a Dance Floor is as close as I have dared hope for an album to become something truly spectacular as a whole. Just try to separate the song order, or to insert a silence - you can't do it. The whole album would fall apart. It's all produced as a whole, and this gives the album added character. The sleeve is the perfect hint at the beauty and passion of the music it adorns. The art direction was great.

The music is fantastic. It's electrical and riveting, full of energy and zest, and I don't just mean in the catchy department. This is thoughtful and moving music in its own right; it's music you actually would like to hear pop up on a dance playlist, something you look forward to hearing. The album's hits need no introduction. Check out Stuart Price's version of Cornershop's "Sleep on the Left Side" to see what he's capable of doing with already existing material. "Hung Up" will make even more sense then, and the extended version on the album is far better than the truncated radio edit. "Get Together" is the first real taste of the album's sound.

I wasn't even aware that "Sorry" was a Madonna track, just that I loved the song on the radio. I was intrigued, and lo, it led me to the album and a one-way ticket to Madonna fandom. "Sorry" is dynamite (I just wish the video hadn't been so corny - generally, great as this album is, it was cursed with bad videos). "Future Lovers" is, wow, fabulous; co-produced by Madonna's trusty associate Mirwais Ahmadzai, the stark and overpowering sound draw out the meat of this goosebump-inducing track.

This album actually is nothing but winners. There is not a dud track on the entire list. The exquisite "Forbidden Love" strolls so effortlessly into "Jump" that you'll be surprised to find that a new track has started, without you even realising it. "Isaac" is another sensual number, beautiful music.

Need I go on? Confessions on a Dance Floor is an extraordinary piece of music. While I love many works by many artists, I can still say that this is one of my favourite albums of all time. The reason? This album works so strongly, it sounds like perfection and reminds you that dance music can be fabulous and engaging. Confessions has my utmost recommendations. I confess that I think it's stupendous.

Now you know why I think "Fire" is the perfect description?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey!, 23 Nov 2005
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
I have never been a huge fan of Madonna, take her or leave her to be honest. OK so Vogue & Like a prayer re-kindle fond memories from my childhood but that is about it. As for her recent albums, Ray of Light and American Life almost missed my radar completely!
But Confessions on a Dancefloor has left me a little gobsmacked. Madonna has returned to what she always did best (even if I hadn't noticed until now!), disco. And not just your bog standard "down the local club on a friday night" kinda stuff, but original & catchy songs that keep on coming. Forbidden Love is not to dissimilar to some of Air's songs, hints of the Petshop Boys can be heard in "Jump", and is that a Donna Summer sample in "Future Lovers"?
Highly Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Basics!!, 30 Nov 2005
By 
I. Kelly "Ian" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
Most people here have been slagging this album - why? This is what she does best. A solid slab of 80's disco, beautifully produced, infinately listenable.
She's revisted her roots and sliced some Kabala in here too. Great album, deserves to number one for at least 3 months, or until everyone has bought it.
BTW, I am not a hardcore Madonna fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I confess - it's fabulous!, 6 May 2009
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
Madonna's latest LP once again proves her critics wrong; yes it's lyrically shallow, yes it's never going to be called a classic by the music press, but this collection of hi-energy dance tunes is a salutary lesson to those young pretenders out to steal Madge's crown as Queen of pop - there's life in the controversial old dog yet (no offence Guy). Ray of Light was a thoughtful move into a more contemporary sound, and to my mind remains Madonna's best album to date, however 'Confessions...' runs it a close second, with the ABBA sampling belter 'Hung Up' and the Pet Shop Boys produced 'Sorry' arguably its highlights. The whole CD though is top-notch, and although she may be nearing fifty, Madonna remains the only artist who can reach middle-age and still pull off THAT leotard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Totally Addictive, 23 Nov 2005
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
Beware you might not get this album off your cd player for a few weeks and will find yourself dancing when you really should be doing other stuff. Absolutely loving this album, every single track, gets better and better with each listen, great dance/trance beats and its only lost a star because there are a few dodgy lyrics which make me cringe but that doesn't stop it being brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be called Queen of the Dancefloor!, 23 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. D. A. Bradshaw "!" (Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
I write this review, just after a year after it's release, and why you might ask? Well the answer is simply that this is an album you will never get bored with and will remain a Madonna classic in many years to come.
One thing people should reaLise about Madonna is that she is not one of those artists who makes an album where you'd only choose the best few to put on your ipod, the album tracks are equally as good as the singles, particularly 'Isaac' and 'Let It Will Be' which was wasted as a B-side to 'Sorry'

A MUST HAVE IN YOUR COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna goes elektro pop, 31 Dec 2005
By 
G Salmons (Woking, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
Madonna. I mean she's not very de riguer is she? It's not cool to listen to Madonna is it? I mean it's all that Pappa don't preach kinda stuff isn't it?
Wrong.
Don't let your expectations of this artist colour your expectations of this disc.
From the first track to the last Madonna demonstrates her maturity, growth and connection to mainstream demand for music. This album is beautifully crafted, and will have you nodding your head, tapping your feet or just dancin for no reason from the moment you start to play it. There are no ballads, there are just strong melodies, stonking base lines and a superb elektro funk production that leaves you wanting for nothing.
Madonna's life is also crafted in to the album; as well the lyrical content to "How High" and "Like it or not", listen out for semitic melodies that creep into 'Sorry' and form 'Isaac' echoing her Kaballah interest.
Simply a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Dance album this year?, 11 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Confessions on a Dance Floor (Audio CD)
When i first heard the radio edit of hung up i thought 'yeah its a catchy tune' but there didnt seem to be a great dance rythm to it.... that was until i heard the video edit which is also the same on the album!I love the part where it grinds down right to the bass then builds itself back up again!Oh i could listen to it for years now! While hearing the whole album stream on Mtv's 'the leak' ive just been blown away to how fine this album sounds.
It plays just like a cream or clubland album which certainly gives this album in my opinion 'BEST DANCE ALBUM OF 2005'
If you are a club fanatic buy this album you wont regret it. Its high energy and dancetastic tracks really are cutting edge.
No offence to Madonna but if there was a remix of this album with only instrumentals it would be legend!
Favourite Tracks include
Hung Up - a fantastic track (just like video version)
Sorry - 'Talk is cheap' great lyrics my favourite track
Future Lovers - Great dance track
How High - great lyrics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have CD in your collection, 15 Nov 2005
I was a bit wary of buying this CD. I love 'hung up' and felt that the rest of the CD couldn't match that track. How wrong I was. From the first time I played it to the nth time of listening to it I fall more in love with it.
Buy this CD and Praise all that is holy for Madonna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it. It's worth investing it at full price, to have, to experience, seriously, with wine, with dancing shoes etc. ..., 21 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon sold this album from their good value Web audio downloads section for 79p, though I think it was part of their January sales in 2009. It's about time Amazon downloads were available to British people at home, thanks at last Amazon.

The downside is you have to Fast Forward / Rewind rather than picking tracks. Mmmm ... this was 79 pence for the whole album. Thank you Amazon. So if you're a miser or poor, or miserly for an album by Madonna, this is great value. Why not splash out with 79p and get the non-stop mix of Confessions on a Dancefloor from wonderful Amazon...?

This is a really strange album. I'm sure that's what was intended. 'Let's make a retro album to get them' - or 'double wonder retro' it's someone imagined from the retro world or 'a retro world' doing retro - 'to get them' - like those strange avant-garde artists who want to provoke a reaction of getting under your skin or something. Whilst also, you know, this piece of art disco music being a natural sort who just slowly crafts earthenware pots as a cottage industry in his backyard. It's worthy too, actually.

It is disco. Really obviously, with no identity concerns. It's certainly not house music, which some Madonna music can be a subset of. While it's modern club music as much as disco music, dance music based clubs (meaning 'non-mecca', or better, those living on the line in time which dated from rare groove and house in the 80s, sometimes called more underground clubs) aren't likely to play this much. 'Mecca' is an ancient British term for a popular dance venue, weekly fun location for many more dancers than any other dance venue type, and also an often hugely derided type of disco club. 'It just wasn't cool!'. And also, they just weren't cool at all, very frequently (that's me!) - also good places at times. Mecca goers would have loved this slow disco music, it would have fitted, though it's so much more serious and greater than most of the rest of Mecca hall popular tracks.

'Confessions on a Dance Floor' is though for every dance hall, cool clubs for a change, and the ghost of Mecca places too. Why not? They were fab at times too. And it would be funky in every dance hall, maybe not of the very best songs heard on that night.

It's certainly worth experiencing Madonna's conceptual throwback art for 79 pence. This album is so strange and contrived it's hard to say it's good or bad. But it's certainly interesting. And you can certainly enjoy doing dancing. Do dancing, it's good, it's serious, it's fitness and it's you, it is because you've started and you will find it worthwhile.

What's more, as the conceptual artists involved know so well, it's a social event kind of thing - this happened, you know. This really went and made big. So hear it. Hear the times inspired by past times. It's lovely. O.K. it's a bit more complex than that alone: Be involved in something a bit left of centre, a bit right of centre in being almost vacuously left of centre just in itself, which you should take notice of - that's what they made in essence, exactly that, from the drawing board. (Perhaps its right of centre first, then left, Canadians will tell you differently etc ...)

But it's also fine, so that doesn't always count. And of course it's a bit better than that too, quick rewinds in your head of what you've just listened to confirm there is quality in there. Just not TOO much. Why it's fun, really.

The album starts with the clock ticking, like going back in times I guess, then 'Time goes by ... so slowly' and I think that's because these people are still back there in the 70s and early 80s in this album. It doesn't matter that that last sentence doesn't make any sense, it's all in some science fiction disco world where it does make sense.

And, it's serious. It doesn't want to be great. And so you don't have to let it be. It doesn't want to be anything - it has integrity as well as being contrived, this paradox is part of its nucleus of identity. I don't know if it's possible to let it be great. I can't tell, truly.

I reallly need to add also that (as well as some quite clinical retro stuff which has quality) there are few classics on here - for example 'Get Together', with a production with a house tip and nodding to 70s, 80s, 90s slow techno, and techno pop influences is excellent. This song will easily fit among the top half in a single album of 10 tracks of Madonna's greatest tracks. The other thing I need to say is the example of what sounds like it could be a pretty wonderful song, 'Future Lovers', given a backing and rhythm arrangement which sounds only like the conceptual part of this album expressing that this stuff is 'been there, done that', for our notebooks. I think that's a shame. The next song 'I love N.Y.' makes it clear that everything's not good and bad though - just is, maybe without value, and there's the value (!), however hard and gritty and disappointing this may be to accept. The educational value of conceptual art. You know, it's not a good school though (to me at least), the minimalist, low key, has been, grungey quality of 'I love N.Y.' is again selling the production which Madonna's interpretation deserves far short. Conceptual art plan has lifted a low charting grungey rock techno pop song from a low chart position in 1982 and played it back underneath Madonna's fine, atmospheric, characterful vocals.

Generally Madonna is singing very well indeed on this. It's also a great theatre space the great lady is playing at. It's a further annoyance though that really great production arrangement elements are often followed by really naff elements.

If you have really good speakers, I know from experience that this album can be a really amazing experience, much better than with headphones. I don't have great speakers at the moment, but it's giving joy.

Despite the disappointing parts I mentioned, there is so much interesting stuff here, and a great deal of quality that the mix album just about deserves five stars. I hate to be relative and draw attention to the fact this is in the handful of better albums of the last 4 or 5 years, and there haven't been many better albums in recent times. But that's nothing to do with its 5 star ratings. A highly recommended album. Most interesting. Most rewarding and indulgent to experience. A true element of value of rich, modern culture, whenever it was actually first conceived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Confessions on a Dance Floor
Confessions on a Dance Floor by Madonna (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews