Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Long Last!
Over 40 years after 96 Tears hit the top of the American charts comes the first official Best Of CD from the mighty Question Mark and the Mysterians. Althought several of these tracks have been kicking around for a few years on various 'unofficial' greatest hits packages, or as re-recordings, only now can we hear the true original versions, digitally remastered from the...
Published on 7 Feb. 2007 by Gerard Hennessy

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ? Mark & the Mysterians
I bought this because I wished to acquire the original version of 96 Tears which is worth 5 stars alone. Previous releases were either live or re-recordings and fell short. The remainder of the album is good value and essential to completists. A genuine release
Published on 19 Mar. 2013 by Stoneshelp


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Long Last!, 7 Feb. 2007
By 
Gerard Hennessy (Wilmington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
Over 40 years after 96 Tears hit the top of the American charts comes the first official Best Of CD from the mighty Question Mark and the Mysterians. Althought several of these tracks have been kicking around for a few years on various 'unofficial' greatest hits packages, or as re-recordings, only now can we hear the true original versions, digitally remastered from the source tapes in the Cameo-Parkway vaults. Just as they deserve to be heard.

So what do we get for our money? Basically, everything from the Mysterians' two original studio albums - 96 Tears and Action, plus both sides of the non-LP 45 Do Something To Me b/w Love Me Baby (Cherry July) dating from 1967, together with alternative versions of 96 Tears and Midnight Hour for good measure.

And is it worth buying? Absolutely! Even after half-a-lifetime the 27 tracks you get here (their entire Cameo-Parkway output) can still leap out from the speakers and grab you with both hands. And that is because, more than any other band, Question Mark and the Mysterians epitomised the whole 60's garage-rock genre. A bunch of street kids from Detroit who loved making music, lit up the charts for a few gloriously incandescent moments, and, in the process, created arguably the greatest garage-band classic ever! Everything about them - their look, their lyrics, their posturing - screamed ATTITUDE! But they were talented too. While most of their contemporaries relied heavily on cover-versions, the Mysterians wrote almost all of their own material, while creating a organ-based sound that was unmistakable their own. And in the sinuous, swaggering Question Mark they had a fantastic front-man, who was able to project both macho sexuality and romantic vulnerability all at once.

Overall then, whether you want to remind yourself of how great it was to be a teenager once upon a time, or explore one of the great seminal influences on everything from 70's punk to the garage-bands of today, go grab yourself a copy of this.

You'll be glad you did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who?, 28 Sept. 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
A lot of fuss is made of the so-called garage bands of mid-1960s USA. For all their enthusiasm, however, the likes of The Seeds and The Standells were mostly one-trick ponies. This band are the real deal. Gorgeous organ riffs are the icing on a tight, raunchy r&b unit who otherwise seem to have taken their cue partly from British bands such as the Stones. '96 Tears' may be their only well-known song, but they wrote a lot of other good material, which sits alongside the occasional cover version. They had a few surprises up their sleeves too, such as the blues instrumental 'Set Aside' which gives early Manfred Mann a run for their money. Not everything they recorded is here. I recall a fine track from the 'Pebbles' compilations called 'Make You Mine', for instance. The disc does, however, seem to represent what they were doing at their peak. An individual and entertaining collection of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ? Mark & the Mysterians, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
I bought this because I wished to acquire the original version of 96 Tears which is worth 5 stars alone. Previous releases were either live or re-recordings and fell short. The remainder of the album is good value and essential to completists. A genuine release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
Excellent, very pleased with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sound, nice band, 15 April 2013
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
The sound on this cd is magnificent!! I dont know what the other reviewer was refering to. The bass is heavy as hell, the organ as sparkley as the cymbals and tambourine. The vocals are in your face.
The sound is like a primitive Doors, or early Kinks. Maybe the melodies are basic, but the overall feel is so full of energy it is exhilarating. recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
Cracking cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cameo's last great shout, 3 May 2008
This review is from: Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) (Audio CD)
86 Tears was licensed by Cameo from a tiny label called Pa-G-Go and topped the charts.In the U K just 2 singles were issued.
In the 80s the song was revived by the Stranglers who were named as part of the Punk revolution but were actually closer to real American garage pop.The single came to the attantion of the New Wave and was kept alive but the actual band had long gone
With no attempts to issue an album in the 60s all this material comes as new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings)
Cameo Parkway - The Best Of ? And The Mysterians (Original Hit Recordings) by Question Mark & The Mysterians (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews