Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Large as life & twice as natural
Highly influential guitarist Davy Graham back in the studio again in 1969. By this time he was beginning to be known outside strictly folk circles; musicians like Bert Jansch and John Martyn had helped to spread the word about about his influence. This album provides a typical cross-section of DG's interests. Traditional folk from Britain and thereabouts on 'Bruton town',...
Published on 23 April 2006 by A. W. Kindness

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars wavy davy
The 60s doyen of folkie guitar players and a constant source of inspiration to Bert Jansch , John Martyn , Paul Simon , John Renbourn etc. etc. My problem with Davy is that , no matter how hard I try I have never been able to find an album which I really like . This starts with a version of Both Sides Now which suggests that the arrival of the men in white coats is...
Published 10 days ago by david handy ( a mackem )


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Large as life & twice as natural, 23 April 2006
By 
A. W. Kindness (London G.B.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Large as Life & Twice as Natural (Audio CD)
Highly influential guitarist Davy Graham back in the studio again in 1969. By this time he was beginning to be known outside strictly folk circles; musicians like Bert Jansch and John Martyn had helped to spread the word about about his influence. This album provides a typical cross-section of DG's interests. Traditional folk from Britain and thereabouts on 'Bruton town', blues on a number of tracks, gospel on 'Beautiful city', jazz on 'Tristano', a fascinating analogue on guitar to Lennie Tristano's piano style, and orientalism on 'Jenra' and the two 'Ragas' which sound more middle eastern than Indian, but couldn't be anyone else but DG. Where does this leave Joni Mitchell's 'Both sides now'? Whatever the category, Danny Thompson's bass and Jon Hiseman's drums help to give it a whacking impact.

The weak point is at times the singing; he seems to be distracted by words from precision of pitch and does go badly off at times. The wordless quasi-instrumental vocal on 'Freight train' is brilliant.

Harold McNair's flute and Dick Heckstall-Smith's sax lend jazz-cred to a couple of tracks and there is a nice variety of texture with some solo, some guitar, bass and drum tracks. Full marks for the re-mastering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Graham's greatest achievement...., 12 July 2011
From the opening meditation into a mind blowing version of Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now" this album is surely the finest example of Graham's playing. The dazzling instrumental "Tristano" is like a long lost sophisticated child of "Anji".
The extended ragas are sublime and the hard rocking "Good Morning Blues" is peerless.
If this record was released today Davy Graham would be heralded as being ahead of his time. As it is; this is the great undiscovered treasure of 1967.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 22 April 2012
By 
Mr. Aa James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
IF YOUR LIKE ME AND LOVE GREAT GUITAR WORK AND A GOOD CHOCE OF MATERIAL
YOU CANT GO TO WRONG WITH THIS. DAVY HAD NOT A BRILLIANT VOICE , BUT MADE UP FOR IT
WITH HIS GUITAR PLAYING AND STYLE .HE WAS THE INFLUENCE FOR BERT JANSCH AND JOHN
RENBOURN. THIS IS A GREAT SESSION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plastic Perfection, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Mrs. Cj Harrison "Joshypops" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Large as Life & Twice as Natural (Audio CD)
Very rarely do albums come this close to perfection. Much more focused than his previous two solo albums. This is Davy at his absolute best and thus the 60 British Folk scene at its peak too. Good Morning Blues, Tristano & Sunshine Raga are the highlights, but, seriously, there is not a weak track on this disc.

Withoout this man and his music the british folk/ folk-rock music of the last 50 years would have sounded very different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wavy davy, 13 July 2014
The 60s doyen of folkie guitar players and a constant source of inspiration to Bert Jansch , John Martyn , Paul Simon , John Renbourn etc. etc. My problem with Davy is that , no matter how hard I try I have never been able to find an album which I really like . This starts with a version of Both Sides Now which suggests that the arrival of the men in white coats is imminent . I know , I can see that he is trying to combine a pretty song with a Scottish lament but he misses the goal like a Chris Waddle penalty . The other numbers are a fairly weak selection of songs and instrumentals . I can hear that he is good but I feel admiration rather than love . Looks like I'll be sticking with the people he inspired .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Davy Graham, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what i was expecting, after hearing his music, some of his other stuff is really good, but unfortunately this does not hit the spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Davy Graham's greatest album ?, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably Davy Graham's greatest album, 100% quality from the first to the last. Davy's guitar playing is amazing as always the real surprise for me was his singing which on this album is superb. The other musicians involved all do a fantastic job, in particular John Hiseman on drums who is absolutely outstanding. This one is a real treat for anyone who loves excellent music. Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jumbo, 9 Feb 2012
quite a good album by the late lamented artist,i saw him at the troubador in the 90,s.featuring (both sides now).m g
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Large as Life & Twice as Natural
Large as Life & Twice as Natural by Davy Graham (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews