Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


309 of 316 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance for the money.
This and a Tokina 12-24mm ultra wide angle lens are my travelling companions everywhere I go. The Tokina is wonderful for landscape/seascape shots, the Canon 70-300mm for getting in nice and close for sharp detail. I've also used it very successfully for portraiture (allows you distance, so no need to crowd your model) and for fine art photography subjects. It's an...
Published on 7 Jun 2007 by ladybegood

versus
151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, but there are pro's and cons.
In this zoom range there are 3 contenders if you stick to Canon lenses, this one and the 2 "L" 70-200mm zooms. The first apparent advantage is the extra 100mm in zoom length, which is actually 160mm on a crop sensor camera. The second consideration is price, the non IS version is quite a bit more, and you will suffer from the lack of this on handheld shots, the IS version...
Published on 13 Aug 2011 by Ian Of Bristol


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

309 of 316 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance for the money., 7 Jun 2007
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
This and a Tokina 12-24mm ultra wide angle lens are my travelling companions everywhere I go. The Tokina is wonderful for landscape/seascape shots, the Canon 70-300mm for getting in nice and close for sharp detail. I've also used it very successfully for portraiture (allows you distance, so no need to crowd your model) and for fine art photography subjects. It's an absolute boon for travelling, being fairly light, and the image quality is consistently high every time. Thanks to the Image Stabilisation, hand-held shots, even at the full telephoto 300mm range of things, are plenty sharp enough and despite its relatively small aperture, the IS ensures the lens performs well in fairly dingy light too - providing you know how to set your camera up right. Okay, so the build isn't L class, but then you're not paying L Class money either. For a very useful and extensive zoom range, image quality, and convenience, this lens is invaluable and excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens, 7 Oct 2008
By 
Nigel Sharp (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
I use this lens with an EOS450D and the results are really exceeding my expectations. I have used the lens in a wide variety of conditions and have yet to find reason to complain about anything of substance. It is simple to use in automatic mode, and there are two image stabilisation modes which enable you to take photographs using this lens without having to resort to a tripod.

Canon have to be congratulated on producing a very fine lens with an excellent range, and Amazon need to be congratulated on their price (circa 350) for this great piece of photographic kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for mid range, 24 April 2012
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
This is a perfect zoom lens for anyone in the mid-range bracket. I would not recommend the sub 500 L series lens (up to 200mm) unless you shoot permanently from a tripod. This has image stabilisation and the L series doesn't and that's a huge difference.
If you pretty much shoot in automatic mode all the time (which is fine) and have little experience of a longer zoom lens, don't see this as a magic wand. You'll love the quality but if you're letting the camera make the decisions, you'll get some of the quibbles mentioned in other reviews. If you shoot manually and are of reasonable experience (and understand your camera), you'll know how to work with the lens to avoid them.

1. Weight. It's not that heavy for the length of it, but yes, carrying it around your neck for an extended period may start to cause you some discomfort. So, as with anything else, you should consider how to carry, wear or use it. But the tech spec tells you how heavy it is so weight should not be a complaint.

2. Light. I'm using a 550D and as with anything else you plug into that camera, it handles low light superbly. Tracking and shooting in low light with a mid range 300mm zoom lens means you need to be more patient, so if you're trying to shoot a goose landing on a flowing river on a cloudy midnight, then adjust your expectations.
Once the goose has landed, give it a try and I bet you get a good shot :0)

3. Focus. The response time is terrific. It can react to autofocus extremely quickly and re-stabilise. With any autofocus lens or camera you'll have problems if you're trying to focus on a subject through trees or a wire fence. Fortunately the nice people at Canon provide a manual focus switch for those occasions and options on your camera for how narrowly or widely it focuses.

Oh yeah, I tried a Tamron in the same range. It was good (and the IS kicks like a shotgun) but the zoom was really stiff. Someone told me it's to avoid the lens creeping forward at a downward angle. The Canon 70-300 doesn't creep either, has a lock in case it starts to do so and is a lot slicker.

So, my advice would be to consider your requirements and set your expectations appropriately. Do that, and this will blow you away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


219 of 228 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The image stabilization system alone is worth every penny, 5 Feb 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
I'll only review the IS aspect of this lens and make one other comment since I have only had it 24 hours and have yet to go out and about with it.

Image Stabilization:
Having solved the problem I comment on below, I hooked this brand new lens up to my 400D and started shooting objects at maximum focal length across the room using available light only. No flash. I took two frames of each, one with IS on, and the other with IS off. Shutter speed was 1/10 - 1/20 second in each case. Yes, 1/10 - 1/20 second and I was using 300mm focal length, hand held. Those frames taken with IS off were blurred beyond any semblance of use. Those with IS on were pin sharp. I was blown away. Truly. One of the frames was of a toy car on a shelf, the car occupying the whole photo. Naturally, depth of field was short - which added to impact - but for the chosen focus area every spec of dust was clearly visible. No lens will completely compensate for bad technique, but I proved that with good techique (in this case how to hold equipment and relax with low shutter speeds) the realms of expectation can be dramatically extended.

Comment:
On first attaching this lens to my 400D the camera would occasionally "hang" mid shot and need the battery removing to reset it; no buttons would operate, the screen went out, and bizarrely the camera's power LED stayed on even when the camera was switched off. I was sure I had a duff lens, but found help on the web saying "FULLY recharge your battery first, and then try again before sending the lens back". They were right. My battery (actually two in a BG-E3 grip) were not showing flat according to the camera but recharging them had the lens working perfectly. The reason for this behaviour is that the IS system demands much more power than a normal lens. Nothing to stop you buying this awesome piece of kit, but something to be aware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good lens at a reasonable price, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
I earlier had a 70-200 f4 L, but felt I required a bit more reach. I did consider the 'L' 70-300 but decided that it cost much more than I was willing to spend for a hobby item, plus I dislike the silly pale grey Canon insist on painting their professional telephoto zooms and primes. My priority was good optical quality - both in terms of sharpness one stop down and lack of chromatic aberrations. After doing fairly extensive research I decided on this lens. Optically it is close enough to the 70-300L to make no difference. Mechanically it isn't in the same league, but is well made and perfectly adequate for anything short of day-in, day-out professional hammer. Although it has USM focusing, this is the micromotor rather than ring motor version, but is reasonably quiet and fast; I find it tracks aircraft perfectly well. The only theoretical downside is that this doesn't allow full-time manual focus, you have to switch it to manual first. But FTM is a much overrated quality. If you do wish to focus manually the focus ring is good by modern standards but of course does spin when using AF, so you do have to keep your fingers clear. Again, not something to get upset about considering that this lens costs about a third of the L version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, but there are pro's and cons., 13 Aug 2011
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
In this zoom range there are 3 contenders if you stick to Canon lenses, this one and the 2 "L" 70-200mm zooms. The first apparent advantage is the extra 100mm in zoom length, which is actually 160mm on a crop sensor camera. The second consideration is price, the non IS version is quite a bit more, and you will suffer from the lack of this on handheld shots, the IS version is about 3 times the cost! So this is a no brainer, you can buy this lens and a wide angle zoom and still have change left. What about image quality? Tests show that it does not fall much short of an L lens, IF AT ALL in the same zoom range, so you won't get worse results here, but where it does fall off is at the longer length between 200 to 300, somewhat negating the advantage of this extra length. However you have to realise that on a crop sensor model, 300mm equates to 480mm, so on a full sensor model you would need a 500mm lens on to do the same job! Ouch! (Or on a crop sensor model you are getting a "500mm" lens for a VERY reasonable price)

It does suffer with a smaller aperature at longer lengths compared to the L lenses, (although the IS would more than compensate for this over the "cheaper" L lens). So what are the "cons"? Well the lack of weather/dust sealing compared to the L models may well not be important to you, EXCEPT that the lens extends and retracts a great deal on zoom and focus, and when it retracts the air and any dust has to go somewhere, and guess where? Into the camera/lens and sensor! This MAY make a difference over time with the sensor needing cleaning, and "bloom" on the inside of the lens. But what is annoying is the fact that the lens rotates during both zoom and focus, making the use of polarising or ND filters difficult and frustrating, (of course if you don't use these this won't matter), to the point that I abandoned try to use them.

So to summarise I sometimes wish I had the vastly dearer L model with IS, at others I'm glad I saved the money and spent it on other equipment. So you have to decide how much more an IS L model is worth to you, over the same zoom range you would be hard pressed to tell the difference in image quality, and it's also considerably lighter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking lens., 2 Aug 2011
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
This lens is about cost, I bought it because it was the best available for my budget. You need to have the right expectations if you purchase this lens. Images are great and a noticed improvement from my standard 17-85, it is not fast, but as expected for a f4-5.6, there is a little focus noise (as expected), and the IS works great. If you don't want to splash out 3-6 times more for a L lens, and just want quality for your pounds, do not hesitate to buy this lens. On the down side, it does make you wonder what difference a L lens would make, and even worse a fast L lens, as an amateur, I just cannot justify the extra cost for the pro lenses, the images from this lens are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 81 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good lens, but not perfect., 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
I bought this lens to use with My EOS 40D last year.

For a lens with a maximum of 300mm focal length it is quite compact and is easy to use hand held, the image stablizer works quite well in all but poor light conditions.

Auto focus although generally good can be a bit hit and miss at times, searching back and forth to find the focus for a few seconds, but it usually focuses well in the end, it does work a lot better in bright light conditions though.

The picture quality is sharp and clear throught the zoom range and the fine detail is well rendered, on most pictures colour is also rendered well, but on some higher contrast subjects, slight colour fringing (chromatic abberations) is apparent especially when you zoom into the picture for a closer look, it is not a major problem, and you can remove it in post processing, but on a lens of this price I would have expected better than that from Canon.

Overall this is a very good lens giving you sharp clear pictures, and it has a good zoom range, it has no major faults and I have been happy with the vast majority of the pictures that I have taken with it, but it loses one star because the autofocus can be a tad slow under certain conditions, and colour fringing can affect some high contrast subjects.

Not perfect, but it is still a very good lens and it is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Lens!, 6 Oct 2010
By 
D. Stroud (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
I bought this a few months ago not long after buying the Canon 500d.

This is a great lens and I use it mostly for wildlife photography. For this alone I find it invaluable and a great asset to my kit. The image stabiliser is very useful and I opted for this rather than a lens from another supplier. I could only find this Canon lens with the images stabiliser and thought I'd need it for the wildlife stuff.

I highly recommend this lens if like me you're looking for a lens with a good enough zoom for wildlife photography but not overly expensive (mid-price), compared to the extreme high end lenses that are on the market. I'd also recommend this over non Canon lenses due to the image stabiliser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very very good alround lens, 18 Jun 2007
By 
B. Keeton (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens (Accessory)
I have been using this lens for some time now with my EOS 300D and have been really happy with the results, I have used it in all types of lighting conditions, indoors and out and as long as you take these into account this lens will perform really well. I have even taken macro shots, which have been fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon EF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 IS USM Lens
379.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews