Customer Reviews


402 Reviews
5 star:
 (276)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review
I dont see many blu-ray reviews here so I thought I would address that imbalance.

This is top notch entertainment. The film can be interpreted on many levels. It can be seen as an action flick with many amazing set pieces with gunfire, explosions and gory violence. Or it can be seen as a deep political statement with strong relevance to the uprisings happening...
Published on 26 Feb 2011 by G. O'Neill

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars view from a distance?
I enjoyed this film, I enjoyed the moral ambiguity at the centre of the character V, and I enjoyed the absurdity that many here found irritating. Cliched imagery works because they are cliches - obvious symbols known and (too readily?) understood - but the film works only at a distance: it probably would not merit re-watching, and, as many reviewers have shown here, it...
Published on 21 Jun 2008 by Dr. Vernon M. Hewitt


‹ Previous | 135 36 3741 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent movie, 21 Sep 2011
Nothing to say, it's a very entertaining movie which will also make you think about our society that we're so proud off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The film was very good, Hugo Weaving played the role rather well.
I think some of the actors do try and over act the others however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A triumph!!!, 20 Jun 2011
This review is from: V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This is simple a brilliant movie!
The story, the effects, the sound, the acting. Its as good (if not better) as Inception!
You will be on your edge of your seat in the 2 hours of company of V
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, Action, Adventure and a little romance!, 12 Jun 2011
I bought this movie not knowing what to expect and was very pleasantly surprised. One thing is still driving me crazy: who is under that mask?! Well, I guess I will never find out :-)) Anyway, a well-written and acted out movie, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars V for Vendetta, 10 May 2011
This review is from: V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I love V for Vendetta, Hugo weaving is a fantastic actor even with the mask and Natalie Portman definately steps up her game with this movie.
It is such a dark and sinister version of the future, and as such it is enthralling. V is a new take on the typical 'hero' with a fantastic dry-wit and some excellent one liners. The mind games that he plays with Evey are brilliantly Sadistic and the development of characters in this film is amazing.Stephen Fry!!!!
I would tell anyone to buy this movie right now for it is definately one to add to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandioso!, 22 July 2010
Compra super recomendada, pois soma-se ao "1984" de George Orwell uma boa dose de vingança. Imagem perfeita. Excelente blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same old same old!, 9 Oct 2006
By 
David Hearnshaw "David H" (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Any film that purports to show Britain in the near future is, of itself, potentially interesting. Other reviewers have highlighted some unbelievable elements in the plot (Is there really an underground line right under parliament?) but the film is quite watchable. However, why does any totalitarian government have to be `right wing'? (Think Stalin etc) In fact, it is a Labour government that is pushing the country into a totalitarian future and even today, certain attitudes and views are not permitted, but they are exactly the opposite of those that are proscibed in the film. I fear that this is a vehicle for the same old anti western/anti Americanism and the left's PC agenda. There is one scene where we see the Union Jack and Stars and Stripes with a swastika superimposed and the Fry character refers reverentially to the Koran and its `beautiful language'. By contrast, the Christian church is represented by a leacherous old paedophilic bishop and the Sutler character is said to be `deeply religious'. How predictable, how unsubtle, how PC!

On a final note, could we ever imagine the good old institutionally left leaning BEEB becoming the BTN of the film - it would take a lot more than 20 years to change it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 31 Dec 2008
By 
S. Mc Cormick "SM" (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
An epic cult classic that will withstand the sands of time and like a great wine will only get better with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Oct 2014
By 
L. Hanna "L.H." (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Good for V
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 135 36 3741 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006]
V for Vendetta [DVD] [2006] by James McTeigue (DVD - 2006)
£3.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews