Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars99
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 April 2007
I never saw Night of the Living Dead in it's cinema release days - far too young! - but it's a really cool movie, especially the twist at the end. 'Dawn' wasn't up to the same standard, but it was still a decent flick. 'Day' was the best of the bunch overall - such a cool movie, combining good horror and action. So, I came to this with high hopes. Oh well... This is the weakest of the four. Not only is the plot cliché and already well-used, but other than some really spectacular special effects employed to kill the zombies, it brings nothing new to the genre at all. As horror/action goes, the remake of Dawn is by far superior to this. Yep, Romero's really dropped the ball with this one. He originally set the standard, but now is barely keeping up with his contemporaries, with this effort actually seeing him lagging behind. It's a pity the franchise had to end on such a downer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2006
For me this movie gets off to a bad start from which it doesn't recover. Early on the main character is watching a zombie through binoculars and suggests that it `knows we're here' - since when did zombies have psychic abilities!?
The film makers decided to inject some new ideas that didn't work for me. The central `zombie tribe' and the emotional Big Daddy character were perhaps too much of a change (or just bad ideas). The script is poor and feels contrived. There are also some really cheap scares, the zombie attacking from inside a fridge in the liquor store - what was going on there! The ending was daft and seemed to be just a setup for a sequel.
But there are some good moments.
Avoid unless you're a fan of the genre. The original Dawn of the Dead and the excellent comedy Shaun of the Dead are much more fun.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
George Romero re-activates his career with another thought provoking social commentary. There's a lot going on in this film with in my opinion too many social messages going on. In someways it's almost a rethinking of Dawn of the Dead and it's attack on consumerist culture but now this film also addresses the current issue of the imbalance of wealth and the failures of the trickle down theory of 80's capitalism. The story line is good, the special effects are fantastic and the acting is a little woody at times but overall is compellign viewing thanks to the addition of some name actors such as the legendary Dennis Hopper. Not George Romero's best work but definately a modern classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2006
Having worked through the zombie movies I must say I enjoyed this the most even more than Shaun of the dead.The bandstand scene alone is worth it and I did laugh a lot at the excessive gore.
It is just a bit of light entertainment with some pop politics thrown in to give it a little weight but it ended up like any old morality tale the greedy get their come uppance and the hero prospers.A new twist for Romeros films as the endings are usually bleak as all get devoured.
I would recommend this as a good get the friends round and have a laugh watch it with Shaun of the dead kick off your shoes and enjoy oh and stock up on fireworks.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
As a fan of zombie films and horror in general I recently rented this not to be disappointed. The film carries on from the other films and I feel it is a good progression. The effects are excellent with plenty of gore. If you like the other films in the 'Dead' collection you'll like this. It has a modern feel about it which is good (better than the Dawn of the Dead remake). I gave this 5 stars because you cannot really flaw it - it delivers what you expect - blood, guts and zombies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
First time I've written a review, but I watched this on TV this week, and it was the worst film I've seen in years. You live in a land of zombies, so it wouldn't take long to learn not to turn you back (in a dark place) to look for your car keys! They rounded up the extras from the Thunderdome for several of the scenes, and why the Ninja hooker got thrown to the zombie cage fighters is beyond me. Even if you offered this DVD for free, not even a zombie would bite your hand off for it!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
The film is full of action, and zombies. From start 2 finish. Great special effects. I would recommend this film 2 any zombie film buff.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
a good movie with lots of gory zombie action with good actors and interesting chracters and also some of the story focuses on one of the zombies which is a bit different from other zombie movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2006
The fourth installment of George A Romero's Dead series may lack the social commentary that fans have come to expect from the previous films, Dawn of the Dead and Day of the Dead, and to a lesser extent Night of the Dead, but if you don't watch this film because of that, then you are missing out on an enjoyable gore fest.
Put your social context to one side, leave your double meanings at the door - this is just pure, all out popcorn fun, and it excells at that.
The film starts with humans holed up in a city, with the Dead practically taking over the whole planet. But then they start to attack the last city, while the cities defence, an uber-militaristic truck called Dead Reckoning, is stolen by Cholo (John Leguizamo). That sets in motion a gory, violent and action packed hour and a half.
The zombies have also learned to think for themselves and actually follow a leader, the only real development between this film and the others. The effects are pretty good, particularly the blood and gore. This version includes more bloody footage that wasn't seen in cinema's (bumping it up to an 18 certificate) and having seen both versions, you can spot the new footage. Some of it is quite gruesome, but in an enjoyable, have a lugh way. You feel the creators went all the way to see how far they could take it onscreen!
Overall, it was just short, to the point, and fun. I havn't enjoyed a film for so long. Some sharp, witty lines, great performances and explosive action, it was more than I expected.
The DVD also includes pretty extensive extras. The making ofs, however, are slightly too self congratulatory. But it's worth watching John Leguizamo's diary, which is short but funny, and Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright's (creators of Dawn of The Dead homage, Shaun of the Dead) cameo appearance documentary which shows their make up and journey to the set in the only way those two can - in a humourous way! Plenty of involvement from zombie maestro Romero too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)