Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie film ever
Awesome film, Great price, Dont hesitate, the best zombie film i've watched, very well made film with no noticeable floors.
Published 9 months ago by James

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but fun
I have always been a fan of Zombie flicks and George's ability to make a good horror film whilst still including a very deep social commentary is what makes his films stand out....
The film revolves around the last human city, ran by Kaufman (Dennis Hopper) the rest of the world it would seem is overran by the zombie hordes. Of course even in this post zombie...
Published on 3 Oct 2005 by M. Bridge-wilkinson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best zombie film ever, 23 Nov 2013
By 
James (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome film, Great price, Dont hesitate, the best zombie film i've watched, very well made film with no noticeable floors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just Zombie Cliches, 20 Sep 2011
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
I don't think I'd have watched this film if a friend of mine hadn't made me. It seemed that it would be a bunch of slow-walking lame actors saying things like "brains" and catching credulous bimbos who do not have the good sense to run.

Not only is this film more than that, it is actually a very watchable film. Having not encountered a George Romero film before (except via many inaccurate parodies), I wasn't aware that there is proper direction and a decent plot at its heart.

Although occasionally you may shout at the screen as the charactors end up splitting up or abandoning safety for stupid reasons, it is still compelling viewing and there is enough suspense, gore and horror to make a highly entertaining film.

It's also worth mentioning that there is almost a Greek fable quality to the film, with stupid selfish humans ending up being horribly mauled while the more enlightened humans escape the zombies' clutches.

Lastly there is the acting, with the guy who plays The Mentalist doing a sterling job as the lead, and Dennis Hopper doing his usual best as the villain of the film. Furthermore, none of the acting comes across as hammy, and I didn't see any scenes which were stilted or not believable.

To sum up, although slow-walking Zombie films may seem ten-a-penny, really the work of an original master is beyond the sordid cliches of his imitators.
Like watching an original Wes Craven movie (as opposed to a franchised sequel), the watered-down version often marrs the original.
But if you're fearing this film is a lemon, then don't worry - it's not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confusing but fun, 3 Oct 2005
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
I have always been a fan of Zombie flicks and George's ability to make a good horror film whilst still including a very deep social commentary is what makes his films stand out....
The film revolves around the last human city, ran by Kaufman (Dennis Hopper) the rest of the world it would seem is overran by the zombie hordes. Of course even in this post zombie apocolyptic world, power and money it seems are king. Kaufman decides who gets in and who remains on the outskirts of the sanctuary.
The strangest thing about this film, that frankly I expected to really dislike is that Romero has in some ways humanised the zombies, strange as that sounds.
Although most are of course relatively mindless the main lead zombie played by Eugene Clark seems to retain a little of the intellect of his living counterpart and in ways leads the zombies.
This gives a strong contrast to the humans and leaves you wondering who the true monsters really are. This aspect is the films strength adding to the social commentary but at the same time its weakness. Frankly I couldnt decide if I should be cheering for the living or the dead. After a while I didnt worry and just let myself enjoy the action. It did feel wrong to be pitying the zombies, but maybe thats what George intended. If you can pity the monsters when compared to humans then we truly are lost.
The film is quite gory, with plenty of dark humour that is needed in this kind of film. For me it wasnt quite as good as the remake of Dawn of the Dead, but I enjoyed it none the less and will be buying it when its available on DVD.
I was borderline giving it 4 stars but that would be my rating for the remake of Dawn of the Dead and I feel this one fell short of that mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Someone shot the little fatman...., 4 Feb 2014
The living dead have overtaken humanity. The last remnants of the human race live inside a walled city as they come to grips with the situation.

The wealthy live in sealed skyscrapers as the poor fend for themselves on the streets.

Protecting them is an enormous tank called Dead Reckoning, controlled by a group of people led by Riley.

But when Riley loses command of the tank to an insane man bent on destroying the city, he must save it from Dead Reckoning as those who walk beyond the walls of the city slowly develop new abilities and become a much greater threat to humankind.....

In my opinion, it's much better than day of the dead and the movies after this, but let's be honest, would this film really have been made if Shaun of the Dead hadn't been released, and if it had, would it really have the budget this film had? Baker the main hero in this is just bland. He has no desperation about him, and just spends the majority of the film, looking like one of the undead.

So thank heavens for Leguizamo and Hopper, who make this film the watchable horror that it is. LOTD really tries hard in the consumerist edge, but it ends up looking more like it's borrowed from Dawn, than be original.

There are some good scenes though, everything featuring Big Dadyy is just lovely to look at, and at times Romero depicts the zombies as the victims.

All in all it's a fun movie, not necessary, but fun anyhow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome fun Zombie movie, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
Land of the Dead is one of the best zombie movies for many reasons. Firstly Simon Baker makes a very likeable hero in the film. Secondly Asia Argento is awesome. Thridly Robert Joy is a great and again likeable sidekick to Simon Baker. Fourth Dennis Hopper is a vile and loathsome villian. Fith Dead Reconing!!!! The Ultimate Anti-zombie ride. Lastly,some great gore and action too. Buy this if you do not have it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Descrition Audio Edition :, 11 Jun 2013
By 
B. Sebastien - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Make attention : Region 0 "All bluray players"
Languagues : English DTS HD 5.1 and Spanish DTS S 5.1 Only ,
Not French Language on this edition like descripted on Bluray.com

Subtitles : English SDH , Latin American Spanish and Canadian French
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Zombie Film, 16 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good zombie film because they have the zombies learning new skills and ability which is quite funny to watch a decent storyline and cast loads of gore and blood the way i like it a very good film really enjoyed recomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even zombies get the blues, 16 Mar 2010
By 
Martin Cruise (E1) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
First time I watched this, I hated it. It felt like a cheap 80's Hollywood movie, in the same vein as an Airwolf film. The acting is rubbishy and the story line is week. How the person which created the previous three, the Crazies and Martin allowed this to happen utterly confused me (im concerned by the people that have abused 'Day' on here, its a masterpiece, conveying utter futility), so I thought I would give it another watch.
All the reasons I hated it the first time, either by design or luck, seemed to give the movie context second time round. The embarrassment which was the human's story just served to reiterate the new found dignity and humanity of the undead, which is exactly the point of the of the overall story arc, Im guessing Romero doesnt do luck. So if youve only seen this once, youre a fan and you didnt like it, try it again, it sits well with others. As for 'Diary', that really is a piece of....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars George A. Romero proves that zombies still creep us out, 19 Oct 2005
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
We should have known that if George A. Romero was going to go back to the well of the living dead another time he was going to come up with something different. What "George A. Romero's Land of the Dead" (the director's name goes up top so you know this is not merely another remake of one of his zombie films, like last year's "Dawn of the Dead") offers is two variations on the familiar theme. The first is in this brave new world humanity has found a way of perpetuating the old divide between the "haves" and "haves not," even when there are all those zombies out there suggest it should now be "us" versus "them." Kaufman (Dennis Hopper) has set up Fiddler's Green, a luxury high rise on an island between a couple of rivers (think the location of Three River Stadium in Romero's old stomping ground of Pittsburgh even though the movie is shot in Toronto). There the "haves" live while the rest of the island has the "have nots," some of whom are hired as mercenaries to go out into the world and bring back "necessities." Apparently money still matters in the "Land of the Dead," or perhaps people are merely trying to hold on to the old way of life, because the poor are not listening to those advocating going and taking away from the rich.
Consequently, humanity has found a way to survive. You can compare the more active approach of "Land of the Dead" with the mall rats of "Dawn of the Dead," who found a passive means of existence. Kaufman has built Dead Reckoning, a gigantic armored vehicle that leads foraging parties out into the world. These parties are led by Riley (Simon Baker), whose primary goal is getting everybody back alive, which does not always happen. That is because he works with Cholo (John Leguizamo), who has a different idea of necessities, one attuned to the fine tastes of Kaufman. Both men believe they are on their last mission at the start of this 2005 film, Riley because he will have now earned enough to pay for a car to get out of town and Cholo because he believes he has now earned the chance to move on up to Fiddler's Green. Both are wrong and that sets up the conflict to come.
This is where the second variation comes into play. Kaufman not only created a high rise where the "haves" are protected from that "have nots," some of whom actually help the "haves" have even more, but the entire island is zombie proof. This forces Romero to change the zombie part of the equation, and so we are introduced to Big Daddy (Eugene Clark), who runs a gas station and has a moment akin to when the ape looks at the thigh bone in "2001: A Space Odyssey." Just to help us along the voice over at the start of the film warn us that if the zombies ever develop anything approaching rudimentary thinking skills that would be a bad thing, a very bad thing indeed. So, of course, that is what happens. After all, if you can have bad humans, then you can have good zombies (Joss Whedon has convinced me being dead does not make a character inherently bad).
Having a zombie to root for is quite a different experience, but Romero also delivers on the guts and gore when the zombies go into their patented feeding frenzy. The narrative can offer all the sly social satire it wants, we watch these movies to be disgusted by the bloody scenes of cannibalism. The people Romero hires to do makeup and special effects are clearly on the cutting edge when it comes to this type of work. Even when you watch the DVD special features and you see what they are doing in bright light most of it will still creep you out, so the scenes in the film shot at night or in the shadows with the liberal application of blood and other things it is even worse (which is a good thing in a zombie movie).
The bottom line is that Romero delivers just what his fans want with this movie so that there is not a problem with failing to meet expectations. No, "Land of the Dead" is not the best of the bunch, but for my money nothing will surpass the original "Night of the Living Dead." The important thing is that here we are four films into the series, limiting ourselves to just the Romero helmed ones, and the series is certainly going a lot strong than the other comparable horror series, all of which have been abandoned by their creators (which is either a cause or effect). Final Note: Look for Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright of "Shaun of the Dead" fame as the photo booth zombies in one of the classic cameos of the early 21st century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Form, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Peter "I'm here because I need something to d... (Hassocks, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] (DVD)
Land of the Dead is far from perfect, but - if we're to be honest - neither were Romero's other zombie movies.

Before anyone takes umbrage with the fact that I can pick faults in Classics of the Dead, please let me point out that I'm a massive fan of Romero's work, and the attraction of his films lies in their energy, invention, character development and general 'feel' rather than airtight plot or production values.

On the subject of production values, Romero has proven long ago that he can make an epic from nothing, and that's stood him in good stead with Land of the Dead. The success of 28 Days Later and the Dawn remake might have secured the movie deal and given him a larger-than-average budget for this kind of film, but the technology for creating new worlds and special effects has taken quantum leaps since Day of the Dead was released in the mid Eighties. The result is that Romero can finally produce a movie on the kind of scale we all wanted while still working within a modest budget.

I haven't read many comments from Romero following the release of Land of the Dead, but I get the impression that too many corporate fingers were in the production pie, given the way he ran off to go guerilla-indie with Diary of the Dead. If there was corporate interference on this project, it honestly hasn't detracted from the fun of the film. It's a thoroughly entertaining piece of work.

Yes, the learning zombies are a tad cheesy, and yes, some of the less sympathetic characters are left quite one-dimensional, but the overall effect is a great piece of escapism. You can take all sorts of social or political allegories from it if you want, but in the end, it's a bloody good rollercoaster ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD]
Land of the Dead (2005) [DVD] by George A. Romero (DVD - 2005)
2.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews