Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unapologetic adaptation to win over the open-minded
I know it's had mixed reviews, but as someone who's read much Wodehouse BUT NOT this one, it largely won me over. It's clearly not trying to be the book on screen - it's an adaptation. And a very confident one at that. Knows how to enjoy itself, knows what's funny, totally unselfconscious, uses the medium with impressive skill. It's happy to confuse us, just like...
Published on 4 Sep 2010 by Bertie

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falls flat because of bad directing.
Its a P. G. Wodehouse story and it was a talented enough cast, so the director has to be blamed for this production falling flat.

I didn't so much as raise a smile throughout. Which is pretty poor for a comedy. The plot is full of colourful characters, but they all came across as dull and uninteresting. I suspect that there needed to be less, better scripted,...
Published on 20 Dec 2007 by Prof TBun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unapologetic adaptation to win over the open-minded, 4 Sep 2010
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
I know it's had mixed reviews, but as someone who's read much Wodehouse BUT NOT this one, it largely won me over. It's clearly not trying to be the book on screen - it's an adaptation. And a very confident one at that. Knows how to enjoy itself, knows what's funny, totally unselfconscious, uses the medium with impressive skill. It's happy to confuse us, just like Wodehouse. Hardly puts a foot wrong. 4 and a half stars. I laughed. Many times. Just like when I read Wodehouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite modern, 25 Jan 2014
By 
S. A. Bollongino "Bookaholic" (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a modern feel to this book adaptation from the great P. G. Wodehouse but a fun story and ably adapted by Julian Fellowes. Costumes and sets are brilliant and the cast is great, they all look to be enjoying themselves! However, I do have to say the original book is better so read the book first and then watch the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Piccadilly Jim, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Marjorie Mocatta (Sydney , Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
Great show, always like P G Wodehouse books made into films, all jumbled but at the end all works out well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Falls flat because of bad directing., 20 Dec 2007
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
Its a P. G. Wodehouse story and it was a talented enough cast, so the director has to be blamed for this production falling flat.

I didn't so much as raise a smile throughout. Which is pretty poor for a comedy. The plot is full of colourful characters, but they all came across as dull and uninteresting. I suspect that there needed to be less, better scripted, better directed scenes.

I would recommend this to no-one. Perhaps 2 Stars is generous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly!, 21 Feb 2013
By 
C. A. Poustie (Pakret, Nonthaburi Thailand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
As a Wodehouse fan I can only say that I was utterly appalled by this grotesque bastardization of the great Man's work. I watched the entire DVD and can honestly say that, aside from the opening titles, I didn't enjoy a single moment. Why produce a film version of Wodehouse and then distort it and corrupt it until it is a vile, nightmarish caricature that is neither funny nor entertaining? I can't imagine how anybody who has not read the book could possible understand the plot. I don't think I have ever seen a worse film in fact!

If you love Wodehouse you will almost certainly loath this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lush, rollicking and rib-tickling, 27 Feb 2007
By 
GJ Lee "Asherboy" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
This is the first decent full-length feature film ever made from a P.G. Wodehouse novel. Remember now that Wodehouse is generally regarded as THE funniest writer ever to have written (not only my opinion, luminaries like Douglas Adams and Stephen Fry concur. For heaven's sake, Evelyn Waugh said Wodehouse was the best writer in the English language of their entire generation). Having gushed so effusively, however, it must be said that filming a Wodehouse novel is a daunting task. This is because a lot of his humour was contained in the narrative, so without an annoying voice-over you are cutting out a lot. The team who put this production together nailed it, however. The players are perfect - Frances O'Conner is a sublime Wodehouse pippin-worthy girl (surely the greatest compliment that can be paid to one of the gentle gender), Sam Rockwell is the ultimate rakish knut (Wodehouse's word for an unemployed young bounder generally getting up to trouble). Tom Wilkinson is his usual excellent self, and the Aunts (Wodehouse's greatest enemies) are, well, devestatingly aunt-like. Also spot the wonderful 'cameo's. Perhaps the best feature of the film, however, is the sets and other incidentals, this film may be the greatest celebration of 1930s art-deco and related style ever gifted to a dulled generation. The plot is brilliantly translated for the screen (although conservatives like myself might cavail at the greater sexual licence than Wodehouse might have liked). Altogether, this is a must-own cult classic, may the makers continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An unusual film, well worth adding to your collection., 30 Sep 2006
By 
A. Vincent (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
Piccadilly Jim is based on a P.G. Wodehouse book. It is set in London and New York in the 1930's but with a modern edge. In the nightclub scene, for example, Emiliana Torrini brilliantly sings the 1980's classic `Tainted Love' in a wonderful retro version arranged by Adrian Johnston. On paper it sounds weird, but the decision was a stroke of genius and it really works. The film is worth the money for this scene alone.

The plot revolves around Sam Rockwell and his attempts to woo Frances O'Connor, both of whom give fine performances. Geoffrey Palmer gives a solid, believable, performance as the butler.

The film is beautifully shot and lit and I am sorry to only give it 3 stars. Some of the minor characters are too caricatured and sporting extreme hairstyles, with the result that the viewer can't engage with them. I realise that it is light comedy, but comedy works best when you can connect with what you are watching. The various minor characters and sub-plots are all squeezed into the 90 minutes, with the result that the viewer doesn't have time to get immersed and involved.

Re-cut the film to 110 minutes, add some extras to the DVD (e.g. interviews with the director John McKay and the adapter Julian Fellowes explaining their vision) and it could still achieve top marks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended but disappointing, 17 Jun 2013
By 
E. Anson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Piccadilly Jim [DVD] (DVD)
Highly recommended but disappointing--silly and not that well produced. Wouldn't recommend it myself and certainly wouldn't buy it again or give as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piccadilly Jim [DVD]
Piccadilly Jim [DVD] by John McKay (DVD - 2006)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews