Customer Reviews


13 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars man about the house..the tv series, 16 Jan. 2004
this is the first series in its full glory all seven episodes, 162 minutes long, richard o sullivan spends the night after a party (in the bath) and thats where it all starts from.
moving in with two single girls what a lucky guy,,then he meets the landlords george and mildred not so lucky,thames made the series way back in 1973 thats right over 30 years ago..watching this today makes time just slide away as it carries well into the new century,when your bored of todays tv pop a episode of this in every now and then it fills up a great half hour inbetween programmes today we lack the brilliance of tv sitcoms now, which is why sitcom classics have been released onto dvd go on relive that comedy half hour again and again. great value great fun..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic sitcom fun!, 30 Jan. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one sniff of an extra, but this disc has the classic 70's tv series in all it's entirety and is just as funny as I remember it.
Sitcoms like this are not amde anymore and it's still really funny.I just hope all the other series are eventually released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man About The House - Series 1, 13 Mar. 2007
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Made in the days when it was unusual for a man to live with 2 girls, unless they were sexually involved, and even that wasn't the norm it is today. Situations they find theirselves in as Robin Tripp lusts after his 2 female flatmates but gets nowhere plus the subplot of the relationship between their landlords George & Mildred Roper make this a must have dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A VERY LONG LOVE AFFAIR...!!, 16 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I REMEMBER VIVIDLY WATCHING THE PILOT EPISODE IN 1973 (AGED 13) AND FALLING IN LOVE WITH PAULA WILCOX AND SALLY THOMSETT FROM THE OPENING SEQUENCE AND I'VE NEVER REALLY RECOVERED!QUITE SIMPLY ONE OF THE FUNNIEST COMEDY SHOWS TO COME OUT OF BRITAIN AND ONE THAT THAT IS AS FUNNY TODAY AS IT WAS BACK THEN.GREAT LINES,SUPERBLY DELIVERED BY A QUALITY CAST THAT HAS NO WEAK LINKS.FASHION WISE THE MEN COME OFF WORST BUT THE GIRLS LOOK SURPRISINGLY CHIC AND MODERN (THOSE FASHIONS COMING ROUND AGAIN!).DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND BUY THE BOX SET,YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I found this DVD when I was looking for something different to buy, and it brought back memories from my past when I watched it the first time round. It is still great to watch and it's fun to see the clothes they wore then, it's a great laugh, nice and gentle. I will probably have to get the rest of the series at some time, and I would recommend this DVD for a bit of light-hearted humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent viewing, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
this takes you back to the days when tv was funny and simple. There was no need for offensive language or continuous sexual iinuendos. This was good at the time but now even better, as there is nothing that compares currently on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as Iremember it, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is exactly as I remember from my younger days, and still as enjoyable during those long winter evenings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars three freinds in a flat, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was still in its celepane so it was brand new the delivery is very quick, the series is set in the seventies three freinds rent the top floor of an old house in London, Robin Christie and Joe the series is set around their every day lives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good nostalgia, 18 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I'd forgotten how good Yootha Joyce was. And Richard O'Sullivan and Paula Wilcox - all of them really.

Janine Duvitski (Abigail's Party, Grown Ups, One Foot in the Grave) makes an apearance in episode four in the local pub. On the credits her name was Janine Drzewicki. Was this her first TV appearance I wondered, before she realised an unpronounceable name wasn't a good idea (Jah veet ski apparently).

The girls' clothes are fascinating, some of them wouldn't look out of place today, but others would definitely only be for a seventies fancy dress party.

Good nostalgic viewing for those who like the old sitcoms.

DVD quality? There's an annoying noise, like a loose tape on a reel-to-reel, which only stops when the episode menu is on screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brings back good memories when comedy was comedy in a cool collective way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
Man About The House - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] by Peter Frazer-Jones (DVD - 2013)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews