Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy sci-fi/horror
William Hurt is fantastic in this film as the brilliant scientist (Dr. Eddie Jessup) who is disillusioned with 'normal' life & seeking a greater truth beyond the boundaries of science & religion. The supporting cast are also brilliant. Blair Brown as Jessup's long suffering & concerned wife, Bob Balaban as his friend & colleague, Arthur (a familiar face from films such as...
Published on 4 May 2005 by db73

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting journey
i found this sci-fi fantasy/horror film to be interesting.it has all the earmarks of a David Cronenberg film,but it isn't a Cronenberg film.it's certainly bizarre,to say the least.it vaguely echos Stanly Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey.it's a real psychedelic trip,that for sure.this is one case where its all about the journey,not the destination.the ending isn't...
Published on 15 Mar. 2010 by falcon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy sci-fi/horror, 4 May 2005
William Hurt is fantastic in this film as the brilliant scientist (Dr. Eddie Jessup) who is disillusioned with 'normal' life & seeking a greater truth beyond the boundaries of science & religion. The supporting cast are also brilliant. Blair Brown as Jessup's long suffering & concerned wife, Bob Balaban as his friend & colleague, Arthur (a familiar face from films such as close Encounters of the third kind & 2010) & Charles Haid as the highrate a initially highly sceptical (and it his to be said hugely entertaining) Mason Parish.
Often these types of films can come across as cheesy & more comical than frightening. This is more often than not accompanied by poor acting, which doesn't help matters as the actors rarely come across as convincing given the situations they find themselves in. No such problems with Altered States. I think it's a classic example of the genre & demonstrates that as weird & unlikely as a plot might be it can still come across as convincing genuinely eerie if handled right i.e. good acting, good script, compelling story line & maybe some decent special FX. All to often these days the special FX seem to be put before everything else & as such films of this genre lack substance & usually don't amount to much outside of the box office. For me the special FX in this film still stand up & look good. They are of the kind that's become something of a lost art in the world of digital CGI FX overkill! The trip sequences are extremely surreal & somewhat disturbing in parts but there are some great sequences that definitely start to mess with your head! The part where Dr.Jessup regresses into primitive man is very eerie & convincing.
IMO a classic of the genre. They simply don't make them like this anymore. I'd give this film 4 stars overall but I'm stretching to a 5 because it's a personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good Blu-ray transfer, but this is a film you really need to see on the giant screen, 27 April 2015
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Home video doesn’t do Altered States any favours. In the cinema, particularly from the front row in 70mm with six-track stereo, it’s stunning (so stunning, in fact, that when I saw the film at a preview at the old Warner West End’s biggest screen, Ken Russell was urging everyone there to move back, telling them “You’ll be sorry”). It’s diminished even on the largest of small screens, where it seems less of an all-encompassing trip and more of a Ken Russell film (when you hear a zonked-out William Hurt screaming, “It’s the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen! I’m witnessing the birth agonies of a nun!” you know our Ken’s calling the shots). Much of it is still effective as Hurt’s experiments with sensory deprivation and mind-expanding drugs cause him to revert to earlier evolutionary life forms, but on the small screen it’s the framing sequences and Jekyll and Hyde plot rather than the intense psychedelic imagery that tend to work best – unless, of course, you’ve dropped a few tabs yourself, in which case you probably won’t need it anyway.

Warner’s Blu-ray relelease is a major improvement over the previous DVD, with an excellent transfer that handles the shifts from darkness to overexposed light equally well and a very decent sound mix that can’t quite replicate the original ‘Megasound’ mix that was also used on Wolfen, but handles both the impressive sound effects that at times mesh seamlessly with John Corigliano’s jabbing score as well as the dialogue quite impressively. Sadly the disc comes up short on extras – just the original trailer – which is a shame considering the film’s contentious production history: the film had a false start at Columbia with Arthur Penn directing and John Dyskstra providing the special effects before Warner Bros. picked up the project only for Russell and Oscar-winning screenwriter Paddy Chayefsky to fall out (apparently over Russell’s handling of the dialogue scenes), with Chayefsky taking his name off the picture. With most of the participants still working and Russell still alive at the time the disc was produced, a documentary or audio commentary seems a real missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What is he on?!!, 8 Sept. 2011
By 
pleeb (manchester,UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Altered States [Blu-ray] [1980] [US Import]When I first saw this in the cinema I staggered outside in a state of total bewilderment/bliss. Without doubt Ken Russell's most out there (like pluto) production and coming from the man who brought you The Devils,Tommy and Lair of the White Worm that's really saying something. The story concerns the efforts of an experimental (mostly on himself) scientist to try and link the effects of strong psychotropic drugs to physical regression into a primordial state. Sounds a bit highbrow? Don't worry, this is Ken Russell, so there's lashings of kinky sex, weird religious imagery and some of the best visual interpretations of tripping off your tits you'll ever see. Oh, and William Hurt is fantastic in what was his first major role.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still scares me 25 years later, 8 Jan. 2006
By 
Rob KB (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
This film first scared me about 12 months before I saw it - there was an article in OMNI magazine featuring a selection of stills, which freaked me out.
It was, therefore, with some trepidation that I approached a chance to see it at the cinema. I have it at home now and it really is so well-made that it still "does it to me" even after all this time. This is largely due to the marvellous score by John Corigliano.
I think that Blair Brown's performance as the hapless wife is hugely underrated. The FX were groundbreaking then and still highly effective now.
My personal scariest moment is the one where one of Jessup's subjects "trips out". Her facial expression and the words of the script conspire to make me uneasy even now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, fascinating and gripping., 13 Sept. 2007
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Are you looking for something different? This film is most definitely that. I am writing this in a post-hypnotic buzz after just watching this film and I'm still a little spaced out.

I think I just sat through 90 minutes of people yelling at one another in a mad demented professorial kind of way. The acting was real and everything fitted well. This movie keeps you thinking all the way through; it grabs your mind and sucks, then keeps on sucking.

This is not a horror movie, but it has a sharp edge of horrific to it. Jessup walks that edge throughout, in his passionate search for answers. This film has the feel of 'too good to be true', where you are aware that something is enjoyable but it could all go horribly wrong at any moment. Jessup keeps you balanced at that point, not knowing whether his next experiement will destroy him. Expertly done.

This is certainly not a 'live happily ever after' kind of movie. It will leave you with questions, but not the usual sort of 'huh, so what was that about?' which you get after some particularly bad script writing. Prepare to question life, the nature of the universe and existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ken Russell's sci-fi masterpiece, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The late, great Ken Russell was apparently a hired-hand on this no-nonsense adaptation of 'Marty'-author Paddy Chayefsky's dense sci-fi novel of the same name when the original director (I think it was Arthur Penn??) left the project.
Who would have thought Russell was the man for the job?! But the choice was genius - Russell brings his own idiosyncratic stamp to this story about a 70s Harvard professor (William Hurt - outstanding in his first big screen starring role) who's conducting sensory deprivation experiments on himself to access 'primal memories' and access altered states of consciousness. The experiments prove too successful and he begins to physically regress to early human...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars interesting journey, 15 Mar. 2010
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
i found this sci-fi fantasy/horror film to be interesting.it has all the earmarks of a David Cronenberg film,but it isn't a Cronenberg film.it's certainly bizarre,to say the least.it vaguely echos Stanly Kubrick's 2001: A Space Odyssey.it's a real psychedelic trip,that for sure.this is one case where its all about the journey,not the destination.the ending isn't necessarily all that satisfying,and that could make the movie pointless,depending on how you look at it.for me,getting to that point was interesting,and yeah,maybe the ending could have been more satisfying.but i don't think that was the point.for me,Altered States is a 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take a trip!, 9 Aug. 2009
By 
S. Robinson "ebbhead20" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Well,i've seen this over and over again since it came out,and it still works for me! This film demands your attention,and should not be watched when tired and worn out. See it with fresh eyes and mind to get the most out of it. Just hope that the remake wont stink,but keep the magic and claustrophobic feeling of the original! Little known fact: Pop group A-ha recreated the hallway scene for the Take on Me video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stands the Test of Time, 28 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Altered States not only is a very important "coming out" of actor William Hurt, but his portrayal of Dr. Jessup is exsquisitely understated just as it needs to be. I enjoyed this film on 2 levels. First, the obvious plotline. It was quickly paced and entertaining and one did not even have to understand the premise of Jessup's research to enjoy the film. Second, however, was the theoretical concept he was pursuing. If one does his research on this, it will add more substance to the film's premises as there is a body of evidence to support his hypothesis. What that hypothesis IS needs to be found out by the viewer. Also note the over the top perfomaince of Charles Haig, of Hill Street Blues fame. I like clinically correct, or almost clinically correct, films of this genre and this one, 25 years later, still will intrigue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What are you on, Ken? And can I have some?, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Altered States [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Russell meets Paddy Chayevski and produces fab mad film well worthy of the Russell cannon. William Hurts debut is intense and superb as he spouts million miles an hour science gibberish at Bob gala an and bemused spouse Blair. Brown ( those khaki shirts with long white socks a major fashion faux pas even for the eighties ) . It's like an introduction to William Burroughs as seen by Terry Gilliam. Nuts. Huge fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Altered States [DVD] [1980]
Altered States [DVD] [1980] by Ken Russell (DVD - 2013)
Used & New from: £32.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews