Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars75
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2011
Superman has always been a favorite of mine, particularly the first two movies starring the amazing Christopher Reeves and the first 2 films just seem to fit as they are directed by the same director and just very classic movies, I remember them being on the telly quite often and the music would just make me go Yay! go Superman.

The second movie is the best one as we see a battle between other super powered Kryptonians General Zod and the other two cronies and the very fact of a bus being hurled across a street was just the best thing to see as a kid and even now, although you can tell it's on wires, but lest ignore that shall we, it's Superman!!!!

Film 3 was good in it's own way, particularly when Superman battles himself to take control after coming in contact with some bad Kryptonite and movie 4 was just average, but hey you get all four movies in this collection and at a good price too, well worth it!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2005
These are some of the best films ever created. The first superman is
absolutley incredible as I was awestruck at the whole package. The story was extremely well told, the pacing was good and the effects were also good for the time. However, after the great second film, they got a bit silly. But the third had good humour and the forth had a cool villain and good message on nuclear war. Special features exist only for the first film with the other three having trailers. But the whole superman films wouldn't be the same without the late,great christpoher reeve. The portrayal of superman and clark kent has never been matched. great films and great actor.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2008
Firstly I must say that although I found the Superman films were always great to watch when I was a kid, I have personally gotten a bit bored with the franchise now. However I still cherish the first few films for what they were.

I bought this boxset just over a year ago because I thought that a) it would not only give me the first two films but the third and fourth ones as well and b) I mistook the Christopher Reeve Collection for this one so then I thought it would give me the deleted scenes of Supes 4 that had been locked away in the vaults of Warner Bros for that long time. Sadly I was wrong and ended up with the finished product and theatrical trailer for it only. However I was glad at the time to get Supes 3 for myself where he turns evil and I', sure some other users have read my old review for it. Well although the concept of the third film is good, villains after the worlds oil, Superman turning evil after being exposed to synthetic kryptonite and it was nice to see a lot of the Clark Kent scenes taking place in Smallville with his old flame Lana Lang. However there are a few faults such as Richard Pryor's Gus Gorman, who can be amusing in places but sometimes gets irritating and overacted and actually gets nearly the whole entire film to himself when his character is only co-starring, and Margot Kidder gets about five minutes screentime. Also the opening slapstick sequence is not neccassary except for the Superman rescue. The second film had it's annoying comical moments but they didn't dominate the film like they nearly did in the third and at least the first three were complete (cough, Superman 4, cough, cough).

What is great about this package though is that on the disc for the first film you get an extra 8 mins that had never been seen before in cinemas or on telly or video and on the other side of the disc you get a handful of extras.

Worth checking out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2006
Finally, we the region-2 market get a complete DVD release of all the Christopher Reeve Superman films in a lovely smart DVD package box-set like the United States and Japanese release.
Richard Donner’s 1978 Superman movies, Superman: The Movie and Superman II are clearly the best 2 superhero movies ever made, but its a real shame that only the first movie was made into a special edition while the others didn’t get the same star treatment when transferred to DVD format.
Superman: The Movie got a great DVD release which includes a total re-mastered movie with superb picture quality and presented in true widescreen format, including 8 new added scenes, 5.1 super surround sound, two 30-minute documentaries with cast interviews, rare Christopher Reeve 1977 test shots, and deleted scenes which is all a hell of a DVD.
In this DVD set Superman II, Superman III and Superman IV: The Quest For Peace have only been transferred straight to DVD format from the original source, so even though the picture quality is still brilliant and their presented in widescreen also, these movies are only in 2.0 audio stereo sound and come with their original trailers, that’s it for the movies and extra features, nothing when compared to what Superman: The Movie is packed out with.
I have heard a few rumours that Warner Bros have special editions planned for the other 3 movies later this year. This could well be true because as we all know (well Superman fans anyway) the new Superman Returns movie will open this year for 2006’s summer blockbuster, which means a DVD release 3 months after cinema release so they may plan to release the original Superman movies on special edition DVD around the same time to coincide with the new movie, just like they released all 4 Batman movies on special edition along side the Batman Begins cinema release last year, lets just hope.
Hope my review helped someone.
0Comment|58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2005
There are special expanded editions of the three Superman sequels coming out next year - so it's well worth waiting for them in my opinion. The new DVDs will have all-new special features, brand new digital video transfers and Dolby 5.1 surround sound.
0Comment|80 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
Having been a fan of the Superman movies for years I realised I had never owned them on dvd, was browsing one day and found this collection, it is fantastic, should have bought them years ago.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A definitive Superman collection. In Richard Donner's original blockbuster, the Superman myth is well told, from his birth on the doomed planet Krypton to his childhood in a small Kansas town and beyond. After he comes of age, young Clark Kent, as his Earth parents have named him, learns the truth of his alien birth on a voyage of discovery to the Arctic. It is there that he learns through a link to his long-dead birth parents of his superhuman abilities and his responsibility to preserve and protect truth, justice and the American Way. Once he adjusts to life in the big city, Metropolis, he discovers that hiding his superpowers as mild-mannered reporter Clark Kent isn't easy as he flirts with hard-nosed Lois Lane and battles supervillain Lex Luthor. Also includes Superman II, III and IV - The Quest For Peace and Superman's latest adventure in Superman Returns, as Brandon Routh takes over the role immortalised by Christopher Reeve.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 January 2010
This set contains all four of the Christopher Reeve Superman movies and while the first two films are definitely classic superhero movies the final two are definitely lacking in quality to say the least.

Of all the people who have played Superman over the years Christopher Reeve is still the best, able to pull off both Clark Kent and Kal-El almost perfectly. Most of the rest of the cast are also very good, although personally I feel Gene Hackman doesn't really pull off Lex Luthor all that well.

As I have already said the first two movies in the series are easily the best despite both having a rather weak plot that has trouble keeping things going for their entire runtime. As well as this, while some of them have dated somewhat the special effects are also quite good for the time. I am not the greatest Superman fan in the world but even I would have to say that these two films probably remain the best live action Superman movies made and I would give them both four stars.

The third film on the other hand is quite bad and the choice to turn the film into a terrible comedy probably wasn't the best choice in movie history. The special effects of the film are somewhat less impressive than those in the first two films and the plot is quite nonsensical. This film is only worth three stars out of five.

As bad as the third film is though, it is still better than the infamously bad `Superman IV: The Quest for Peace' which is probably the worst superhero movie ever made. The plot is terrible, as are the special effects and some of the acting on show. The best that someone could say about this film is that it is so bad its good but I would still only give it a maximum of two stars, and that is being generous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2006
I love these films, and the treatment the first film has been given is great. It's been cleaned up, sound boosted, re-edited with extra scenes added in. It has features upon features... It's a real shame they didn't bother doing anything with the others. But it is the only way you can get a copy of the third and fourth films in the series. In short they should have worked as hard on superman 2, 3 and 4 as they did on the first one.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
Having watched the Superman series from way back and read the original comics starting with Action Comics,
although not the original editions, I thought it a good way for the grand- kids, 9 and 7, to see the Christopher Reeveversions. I had started them on the way by taking them to see the latest Superman movie. This 4 part set is a perfect way to continue the magic of such an iconic Superhero. Probably the best of the lot. However we are all hooked on the super hero genre, Lots of primetime with Xmen, Batman and all the rest. We also all hide behind the sofa watching Dr Who!
Roy Walker
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)