Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Genius Loves Company
When I first heard about this album, I presumed it would simply be a bunch of tracks which either didnt fit or wearnt considered good enough to be on the 'Genius Loves Company' album. It would have been very easy for them to dig out some out-takes and release them without Ray around to object.
However... this is not the case! These tracks are several years older...
Published on 20 Sept. 2005 by Mr. D. A. Hamer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity ...
This is a galaxy of first class voices that should have added up to a fascinating constellation. But the production is found wanting. It is harsh and studio like with no sense of 'intimacy' or 'partnership' between the main man and most of the 'visitors'. I keep feeling that I wanted more - but really it is at times just a collection of songs with no structure to the...
Published on 3 Nov. 2007 by Wizard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than Genius Loves Company, 20 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
When I first heard about this album, I presumed it would simply be a bunch of tracks which either didnt fit or wearnt considered good enough to be on the 'Genius Loves Company' album. It would have been very easy for them to dig out some out-takes and release them without Ray around to object.
However... this is not the case! These tracks are several years older than those from 'Genius Loves Company', and Ray's voice is much, much stronger. He quite clearly is not suffering from the ill health which often blighted his voice on his final album.
The cast list on this album speaks for itself, each and every performer gives 100%, and seems well aware that their duet is with a legend. It is sad that these duets, as with most albums now adays, are not live in the studio, and maybe Ray never met some of the performers. Whilst technically it might be more feasable to do things this way, and no doubt cost effective, I dont see how it can add to them end product.
All in all, this album is a must for any fan of Ray, or anyone who liked Genuis Loves Company. We should be thankful that these tracks have seen the light of day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illustrious company, 27 April 2011
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
Ray Charles has recorded with many stars during the years but this is the first actual album of duets.Its also special for the occasion and includes Natalie Cole,Elton John,Norah Jones,B.B.King,James Taylor,Diana Krall,Johnny Mathis,Michael McDonald,Van Morrison,Willie Nelson,Bonnie Raitt and Glady Knight.This is for the benefit of anyone who wonders why Amazon haven't provided such details
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic gem of a CD!, 22 Jun. 2010
By 
M. Cumming (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
This is a real must for Ray Charles fans. His voice is strong and healthy, and you can hear the soul oozing from his pores! For me the highlights are the duos with Angie Stone, Mary J Blige and Gladys Knight, but they are all fantastic. Do no hesitate in purchasing as you will have plenty of enjoyment from this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity ..., 3 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
This is a galaxy of first class voices that should have added up to a fascinating constellation. But the production is found wanting. It is harsh and studio like with no sense of 'intimacy' or 'partnership' between the main man and most of the 'visitors'. I keep feeling that I wanted more - but really it is at times just a collection of songs with no structure to the album as such. Why don't some producers focus more on the album themes more these days? This, sadly, at times, sounds like someone has emptied out a box of bits and pieces found in the back of the studio - and yet with people of this potential quality more could have been achieved. But, hey, it is such a pleasure to feel that at times Ray Charles must really have enjoyed himself working with all those others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ray Charles -- Genius & Friends, 30 Jan. 2009
By 
Susan R. Dager "susnuz" (Fortuna, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
Good quality to sound...and many voices to add to Mr. Charles'genius. Additional voices open additional dimentions to Ray Charles' performance.
Rapport between the two can be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than i thought, 11 Sept. 2008
By 
K. Greensmith "kensoul" (nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
i bought this cd just for the diana ross and gladys knight tracks. but on listening to it i was quite surprised. the whole cd is quite good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius lives on......, 2 July 2006
By 
Gemma Clapton "BoJangles" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
This is a classic for any collection. As good, if not, better than Genius loves Company. Its smooth, sassy, sexy, cool, relaxing, some of the best music to be created by a true Genius. Listen and absorb music at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long live the king, 13 Oct. 2005
By 
Ricky Carroll "music_man" (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
Well what can i say this album was more than i expected after watching the film 'Ray' and hearing his music through my parents, i decided to purchase this album, which did not dissapoint. Stand out track is without doubt Touch feat John Ledgend who truly helps Ray Charles spirit live on. Other standout collaborations where with Mary j which truly is a great song. R.I.P Ray Charles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genius & Friends (Audio CD)
Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Genius & Friends
Genius & Friends by Ray Charles (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews