Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 31 May 2006
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
This is definately one of my favourite albums ever because it covers all her best material from her albums but a new amazing set up. All her original songs have been reworked with nothing sounding the same as her studio albums. But the best bit about this cd is probably Alicia herself as she has so much energy and her voice is incredible. It is raw and refined at the same time and the emotion is so strong. This is shown most clearly in How Come You Don't Call and the brilliant new Every Little Bit Hurts. Don't be fooled into thinking that most of the stuff on this album has been heard before because it hasn't.

My top 5 tracks are:

1. How Come You Don't Call Me (such a brilliant performance)

2. Unbreakble (Great new song written by her and Kanye west)

3. Every Little Bit Hurts (So much soul)

4. Wild Horses (Beautiful)

5. Diary (she and her backing singer are truly amazing)

One of my favourite albums I own that never bores me when ever i listen to it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Remarkable, 12 Nov. 2005
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
Alicia Keys has such a remarkable voice and her stage presence is that of a real soul legend (she'll get there)After owning all of her previous work and seeing her live in 2004 and 2005 i knew that the Unplugged set wasn't gonna dissapoint me in the slightest and i wasn't wrong.
There's a few surprises and a few old favourites most notably are the covers of "Wild Horses" which has been covered plenty of times in the past Keys teams up with Adam Levine of Marron 5 and does a emotional duet that is truly heartwrenching one of the greatest remakes i've heard. The other remake is the classive "Every Little Bit Hurts" which was recorded first by soul singer Brenda Holloway and she does it justice and was the second single the video was like a tribute to Motown a great throwback video. Among the many highlights of this concert a few spring to mind the sheer rawness of "If I Aint Got You" is just breathtaking as well as one of the newer songs "Unbreakable" which celebrates black love it was the song that promoted the album and did quite well in the states. The version of "Fallin'" is that from the Ali soundtrack a more melodic version of the orginal and very haunting i felt "Heartburn" was the main song that was out of place it was too jumpy the 7 minute opus of "Streets of New York [City Life]" is wonderful Alicia gives us a nice poem then goes into the song lovely instrumentation.The last track "Love It or Leave It Alone/Welcome To Jamrock" plays the set out nicely joining Keys is Common,Mos Def & Reggae artist Damian Marley, Keys sings the hook on the latter which surprised me and it work very well. "Love It Or Leave It Alone" is just fantastic Mos Def and Common are just some of the greatest rappers alive and they sound actually good unlike alot of rappers.

Top 5
1.Wild Horses
2.A Woman's Worth
3.Diary
4.If I Aint Got You
5.Fallin'/Love It Or Leave It Alone...medley/Every Little Bit Hurts

Alicia Keys is one of the true talents that's keeping that revival r&b style alive i hope she'll be around for the next 40 years like her predecessors Lena Horne,Nina Simone,Roberta Flack...etc
Also, The Unplugged DVD of the concert is available too which is just as great with some cool special features
Buy This!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, from a non-Alicia fan, 28 Oct. 2007
By 
D. Bourke (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
I am not particulaly an Alicia fan, I have heard the obvious songs in the radio etc and recognised her talent but wouldn't have gone out and bought it. However, on coming across this album I was gobsmacked. From the first note it is a highly polished production. The whole band is tight, particularly the percussion and bass who drive every song. The upbeat arrangements are excellent, however the collaborations are not so great. Alicia doesn't miss a beat and this is proof that she is going to be regarded among the best R'nB / soul musicians in the world. I genuinely think this is the best live album of all time and in fact have listened to it about 100 times since discovering it a month ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away. Best 3 quid ever spent!, 29 Aug. 2010
By 
Pallus (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
I'm not into 'R&B' at all and only noticed Alicia Keys when she sang on the World Cup opening ceremony. She was singing like her life depended on it and that song about New York became a favourite.

So when I saw this 'Unplugged', I thought I'd give it a go, especially as it was so cheap. The classic jazz-singing style of some of these numbers was a very pleasant surprise.

Although the tracks are recorded live, the quality of both Alicia's vocals and the production is mindblowing.

Add to this the personal touch of Alicia's introducing of the songs and interacting with the audience, and you have a really touching and enjoyable listen.

I would have flown across the Atlantic to hear this set in person.

I rarely, rarely award 5 stars but I have no hesitation in awarding them all here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely amazing!, 11 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Mtv Unplugged (Audio CD)
This CD is definately one of the CDs I could play for hours on end!
Alicia's vocals on this album are stunning and she is brilliant live as I thought she would be due to her musical talents.
When I got this album I only knew a couple of her songs and loved them very much and so was a bit nervous about how the others would compare. Now I cannot choose a favourite but 'If I ain't got you' is the one song I play repeatedly.
Even if you only know or like a couple of her songs I would recommend buying this album because it'll be definately worth it! Alicia is amazing live and will leave you stunned by how beautiful the songs are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alicia is a star, 4 Jan. 2013
By 
John Dickinson "techno fan" (Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
I just love Alicia's singing and song writing- Just a shame when some memorable songs are destroyed by guest rap spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Unplugged ever!!!!, 3 Jun. 2009
By 
Bbva "Pixie" (Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
The day i heard her osng Fallin` i felt in love of the music, literelly... I think she`s one of the best song-writter of all times, she has the soulfull voice, she`s so nice, and all albums are a great, but for obvius reasons this is the best, because the arrengments of each song are amazing, the colarorations made a different on each song, taking them into a whole new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars bash it out my girl, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
I wanted an intro to this ladies work and this seemed a good idea to. Unplugged can sort the men from the boys so to speak in a non genderist way. A good intro to this talented lady I may not buy any more albums but I will be playing this one quite often when the mood takes ...............and loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Brill Alicia Keys, 15 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
What a great dvd,this is Alicia at her best unplugged and live. All the tracks are outstanding and the track Wild Horses with that chap from Maroon 5 is outstanding. A must for all Alicia fans and people who are not sure about her, because after this you will be sure,brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best un-plugged album ever!!, 9 Nov. 2005
By 
Craig J. Richardson (birchington kent u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged (Audio CD)
This album is brillaint if you like listening to live music and of course the singer herself alicia keys, this album has music from both of her recent albums SONGS IN A MINOR and THE DIARY OF ALICIA KEYS together with some new materail and new songs.
After hearing her last album i was hooked, this live album is filled with raw emotion where you can hear it in her voice, what a voice!! like whitney houston her voice is so powerful that it makes you go goose bumpy!
All her albums are top notch where she has always stayed true to her self in making brilliant music.
rating 10 out of 10 excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged
Alicia Keys MTV Unplugged by Alicia Keys (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews