Customer Reviews


143 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good
Kill Bill vol 1 was a spectacular film. So creating a worthy sequel was no going to be an easy job. However I think they have done a really good job of it.

I do not think that it is as good as vol 1. It has less action and the action is not as perfectly choreographed as in vol 1. This does not mean that it is not good however. The action here in my opinion is...
Published on 24 July 2006 by S. Kirycos

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No way near as good as the first
Taratino should have been allowed to keep his original idea of having one movie, having decided the film would be too long they chopped it into 2 volumes. The first movie is great, the way it is set up, the way the plot unfolds and the way it is broken down and fragmented in the way it is makes it a really unique classic action film. Then you get to volume 2 and the whole...
Published on 13 Oct. 2010 by Amy


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 24 July 2006
By 
S. Kirycos "chotti_99" (Cheltenham, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Kill Bill vol 1 was a spectacular film. So creating a worthy sequel was no going to be an easy job. However I think they have done a really good job of it.

I do not think that it is as good as vol 1. It has less action and the action is not as perfectly choreographed as in vol 1. This does not mean that it is not good however. The action here in my opinion is far better than what you will find in most martial arts films. One other thing that is missing from this volume is the perfet blending of the soundtrack. It is not as good as the first one.

Despite the above details this is a very watchable film. In fact many people have stated that they prefer it to vol 1 as it exposes the plot that has led to Thurman's bloody quest for vengeance. Thurman as in the first film is superb and Tarrantino's directing brings out the best in her. In my opinion one of the highlights of the film is the appearence of Carradine's Bill. The film somehow avoids all known cliche's and this is especially evident in the final showdown.

This film in my opinion is not as good as the first one. However it still is a masterpiece of this genre of flim. So my advice to anyone is that both films are well worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five step exploding heart technique, 29 July 2009
With less emphasis on balletic fight scenes and strong imagery, the second segment of Quentin Tarantino's revenge epic remains crammed with memorable moments whilst filling in more of the back story and continuing to pay homage to Kung-Fu classics and a range of other genres.

Without giving anything away for those who've yet to see the movie, the best scene has to be QT's glorious riff on Evil Dead, although this is almost rivalled by the inspired - for those of a certain age - Monkey-esque scene, where the Bride is schooled in martial arts by the venerable sage Pai Mei whose eyebrows seem to have a life of their own and whose presence lightens the mood of the film considerably, for a while at least.

We get to see the eponymous Bill at last, and discover the exact nature of his relationship with Uma Thurman's bride, whilst 80s film staple Daryl Hannah is brilliantly cast as a one-eyed assassin, who along with Michael Madsen's gone-to-seed hitman (and Bill's brother), tries to kill the vengeful bride before she gets to them.

Slick, fun, and occasionally macabre, Kill Bill Vol. 2 complements the first film nicely and in its own right stands as a classy piece of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The cartoon spectacle of the first film is replaced with character, drama and pathos, 7 Mar. 2008
Whereas Reservoir Dogs (1991) and Pulp Fiction (1994) took elements from the French New Wave and American independent cinema of the 1980's to create bold, iconic, character driven films rife with clever dialog, uncompromising violence and subtle allusions to a myriad of varied, textured film references, Kill Bill: Volumes 1 & 2 (2003-2004) take the idea of referencing even further, giving us blatant and literal references that cross from one genre to the next with a complete disregard for whether or not the audience is familiar with the kind of work being quoted. This technique is pushed even further in the subsequent Death Proof (2007), which really does require an audience to be familiar with its subject in order to get the most out of the style, set-up and intent. Here, all pretentions to the cinema of the French New Wave are dropped, as well as the more adult-orientated flavour of the previous Jackie Brown (1997), which was perhaps more in keeping with the aging spirit of the blacksploitation sub-genre of films from which it drew a superficial influence.

Instead, Kill Bil finds director Quentin Tarantino shifting his focus to Asian cinema and referencing sources as disparate as Kung-Fu (1972), Lone Wolf and Cub (1972), Lady Snowblood (1973), The Street Fighter (1974), Shogun Assassin (1980) and Ichi the Killer (2001), as well as taking direct influence from the Shaw Brothers studio productions of the 1960's and filmmakers like Kinji Fukasaku and Seijun Suzuki. Alongside these visual and thematic reference points we also have a continual reliance on juxtaposing ideas and iconography taken from spaghetti westerns, blacksploitation pictures, Chinese "wuxia" and kung fu movies, Japanese Manga and Anime, hip-hop, American exploitation and revenge cinema, and François Truffaut's The Bride Wore Black (1968). These influences are all combined, sometimes obviously and sometimes with more subtlety, but all used with flair, imagination and intelligence to create the right kind of cinematic environment for this purposely elaborate, over-the-top, comic-book-style tale of roaring rampage and revenge to play out against.

As the film is split into two halves (for commercial reasons, as opposed to artistic; but regardless, tying in with the literary use of voice-over, chapter-heading, an unreliable narrator, etc) there will always be the question of how to critique the film. Do we view them as two separate films that should each deliver on the characteristics that we think cinema should pertain to, or do we view this as one long film; a continuation of a single character and theme over the course of two very different though ultimately linked feature films? If we take the former approach, then Volume 2 (2004) is the film that will probably take longer to appreciate on an immediate level, concerning itself more with scenes of character development and that typically unique structuring of dialog that Tarantino does so well. There are a couple of prolonged fight scenes, but nothing approaching the balletic, visually rich and heavily choreographed action of Volume 1; with Tarantino cleverly cutting away from the actual massacre at Two Pines so that the brief snippets from the first film and the few moments that depict the punishing aftermath become even more clouded in mystery, as well as giving us a final "battle" that works on an emotional level, as opposed to the physical.

The film gives us much more insight into the relationship between "The Bride" and Bill, as well as further fleshing out the background of the Deadly Viper Assassination Squad. This gives us much more in the way of context when we go back to re-experience the previous instalment in an attempt to restructure the chronology. As with the first film we still have the stylistic elements of over the top martial arts choreography juxtaposed against scenes of more brutal, hard-hitting violence, obvious miniature work that almost points to the original Godzilla films, retro use of rear-screen projection (much like Pulp Fiction), allusions to films as disparate as Twisted Nerve (1968), Hitchcock, Brian De Palma's elaborate use of split-screen, the production design from Gate of Flesh (1964) and Sex and Fury (1974), etc; however here, the references are used for the purposes of drama as opposed to opulent spectacle. Though the performances, plotting and the emotional impact of that grand, unexpected final are all incredible well handled, the overall effect could perhaps be wrongly misinterpreted as boring or uneventful, simply because of the bold contrast to the over-the-top violence and technical virtuosity presented in the high-octane thrills of Volume 1 (2003).

With this in mind, it would seem more appropriate to view the films as one single film; taking into account both the bursts of colour and energy presented in Volume 1 and the slower, more character-driven approach of Volume 2 to really get the most out of the incredible journey that this larger than life character undertakes. It also allows us to better appreciate the extraordinary performance from Uma Thurman in the central role, who here gives one of the best performances of her career; instilling "The Bride" with a sense of honour and purpose that makes her violence and bloodshed all the more understandable. Kill Bill: Volume 1 doesn't quite scale the dizzying heights of Tarantino's first three films; lacking the intuitive style, unique dialog and intricate plotting - but it does represent a new phase of his career; one that pushes cinematic reference even further to create a visual tapestry of self-aware cinema that appeals to learned cineastes preoccupied with technique, as well as offering a bold story, memorable characters and a great sense of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last...we find out the real name of the Bride, 6 Aug. 2004
By 
Lawrance Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
First, be sure you watch the end of the film. That means through the credits of the main characters in color and through the black & white credits with the Bride driving and through the long scroll of rolling credits. Even when you get to the film's rating it is not yet time to go, so just sit there until the screen goes bright white. Remember, you were warned.
Second, for everybody who thinks that on the basis of "Kill Bill, Volume 1" that they know what is going to happen in "Kill Bill, Volume 2," be ready to be surprised. I made a point of watching the Bride (Uma Thurman) check Vernita Green (Vivica A. Fox) and O-Ren Ishii (Lucy Liu) off of her people to kill list before I headed out to theater to see how the saga ended, so I thought I was perfectly in the narrative flow. However, Quentin Tarantino has set up his audience just to play with their minds, which, of course, is what he was doing from the start and at the climax of this film I was not at all sure who, if anyone, was going to come out alive (especially since I was suddenly thinking about the tragic end of "Lone Wolf and Cub").
The caveat when Mirimax decided to split this four-hour revenge film into two volumes was that those who sensed a lack of character development and motivation in Volume 1 would be appeased by what was put forth in Volume 2, and this is indeed the case. We finally get to go back and see a couple of pivotal scenes set before the "beginning" of the film's opening, with not only the massacre at the Two Pines wedding chapel but a training sequence in which the Bride studies with the great Pai Mei (Chia Hui Liu), who will inspire many men to grow long flowing white beards that they can whip around dramatically as a punctuation to everything they say. The net result is that character is more important than killing in the last half of the film, which makes sense because it would really be hard for the Bride to slice and dice more opponents than she did at the House of Blue Leaves.
There are a lot of oppositions between the two halves of this film. The beautiful setting of the duel between the Bride and O-ren in the gentle falling snow is countered by the showdown with Budd (Michael Madsen) in the harsh sunlight of his trailer in the desert. Having devoted an entire chapter to Hattori Hanzo creating his most perfect sword for the Bride, it is amazing how hard it is to get the sword out of its scabbard in this one. Volume 1 was a feast for the eyes, but in Volume 2 Tarantino's dialogue becomes more prominent, although not quite up to the level of "Pulp Fiction." But the dialogue is important because before we get around to the titular business of this film, the Bride and Bill have got to have themselves a conversation. Sound also matters more in this film: there is one sequence that is effectively done in the dark.
I am barely acquainted with the genre of Hong Kong films that Tarantino was apparently weaned on, so everything is fairly new to me and smacks more of homage than parody, which is not doubt the director's intent. I probably will not go out and check out some of the films that inspired Tarantino to do "Kill Bill," because they will undoubtedly pale in comparison to the slicked up version that he is serving for our American palates. All things considered, I have a slight preference for Volume 1, which runs counter to the prevailing sentiments, but I am still working out how the two parts fit together. The key thing is that they do, without Volume 2 being simply more of the same. There is something to be said for Tarantino pulling out all the stops just to have fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeper and calmer, 29 Dec. 2010
The first Kill Bill is all blood and gore with creative elusions to Hong Kong cinema and Yakuza movies, however in the second movie we are back in America with three enemies yet to face. The fighting here it seems is kept to a minimum without a real showdown between the Bride and Bill or Budd. The big fight comes when Uma Thurman meets the deliciously evil Daryl Hannah and they have a scrappy fight which lies in stark contrast with the first films fight in the snow with O-Ren Ishii.
The directing in this is again great with Quentin Tarrantino paying homage to Western movies rather than more Oriental films, he puts a soundtrack together with a screenplay that sheds more light and depth onto each of the characters. However his script are not as good as some of the more imaginative ones from his previous films such as Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs, in fact the superhero speech that David Carradine makes I find dull and the worst part of the movie, that compared to John Travolta's Burger speech is just unpoetic. However contrasted to that is the very clever dialogue between Budd and Elle Driver.

The fighting that dominated the first one is less present here and the attention shifts towards the characters and the skills of the actors are tested far more. Uma Thurman is wonderful as the blood-spattered bride her poise, fragility, anger and love towards her daughter all burst in this film and the bride becomes a character you really vouch for, of the villains my least favourite is David Carradine's Bill who does not exude charm or like-ability or really a palpable sense of threat, but playing the role of Bill was always going to be difficult. Michael Madsen as his remorseful yet loving brother Budd does a far better job as the downtrodden and sleazy bouncer who polishes off the Bride only to be polished off by Daryl Hannah's snakelike Elle Driver. I was shocked when I heard that Quentin Tarrantino had gone for Daryl Hannah who has a reputation as a pretty one-dimensional actress who was never very good really, but here she really comes up trumps and is truly evil and good at being so too, and you really hate her character and at the same time fear her and she appeals you with her full and wonderful acting, which was quite a leap away from her 1980's cutesy characters.
Overall a good film but not one to watch for the fights of which there is only one, but Quentin Tarrantino definitely does not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No way near as good as the first, 13 Oct. 2010
Taratino should have been allowed to keep his original idea of having one movie, having decided the film would be too long they chopped it into 2 volumes. The first movie is great, the way it is set up, the way the plot unfolds and the way it is broken down and fragmented in the way it is makes it a really unique classic action film. Then you get to volume 2 and the whole things starts to fall apart.

Firstly, i didn't understand half of what was happening at the wedding and with the little girl, I admit i got genuinely confused and I like action films to be senseless fighting sometimes, that's why I watch them lol. Secondly, the film didn't seem to follow the easy structure the first did, the first film with her explaining about each assassin then go after them to kill them in different ways was great, but with the second it seemed to get a bit mixed and confusing. Thirdly, i WISH the second would have had some animation like the first, i loved that part of the movie, it was great and really worked with the whole martial arts theme. I would loved to have seem more of that in the second.

Kill Bill vol 2 does have some good points, thankfully they didn't kill Daryl Hannah off in the first so we could see her get her eye taken out in the second, must have been one of the best parts. With the first film, i remember loads even though i haven't seen it in ages, with the second I hardly remember the plot or any of the scenes and that's because the first one was a more powerful and watchable movie, the second was confusing and all over the place. Should have just made 1 in my opinion. I still have this on dvd along with the first, you should probably watch it just to find out how the saga ends, but i think we can all agree the first is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lacks the intensity of the first, 6 July 2008
By 
In the follow up to the widely successful Volume 1, Uma Thurman reprises her role as the Bride who continues to search for the remaining members of Bill's group.

Tarantino (Pulp Fiction) had set the bench mark with the first instalment, a sharp, exciting and devastating film about a woman who loses everything and is out for revenge, and because the first film was practically perfect apart from a few faults, this sequel wasn't really going to challenge the first. Nevertheless it is a gripping and exciting watch.

Uma Thurman (Dangerous Liaisons) again excels in her central role as The Bride, with a strong determination on her mind to finally get full revenge for everything Bill has done to her, and in perhaps the best role of her career apart from Pulp Fiction, Thurman really steals the light in both films with a cutting devilish performance that does her character true justice. With a steely attitude and an emotional life troubling her, the Bride is given the depth and attention by Thurman to make the character an icon in the crime genre.

As with the first volume, Tarantino directs in a vibrant way, some scenes in black and white, stories told at different times, flashbacks, fantasises to give the film a very unique approach and something which I had never seen before. The first instalment was certainly better directed and with a wider choice of styles including animations but still there are some true iconic scenes, none more so than the coffin scene, the most uncomfortable scene ever created in such a unique way.

Despite the excellent direction and acting, the plot really lacks in comparison. The formula behind the first was more basic with fewer strings attached and there was a clear intention to where the film wanted to go. With the follow up, flashbacks and other stories seem more muddled and over the place, but still interesting. There are a few scary scenes, with snakes, coffins and surprises used to conform to the thriller genre.

Again, well directed with great acting and characters but it lacks the intensity and consistency that the first one had without even trying.

7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Slow and steady wins the race, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I’m guessing that most people won’t have decided to watch ‘Kill Bill Volume 2’ without watching the first instalment. So, if you’ve already seen the first half, you may be expecting something similar from the final act. However, whereas the first half was a blood-soaked massacre of bodies and mayhem, this one is anything but.

I won’t say exactly how many people ‘The Bride’ kills in this one (and it’s nowhere near the seemingly infinite number of ninjas she chopped up in Part 1), but there’s a big clue in the title!

Yes, ‘Volume 2’ is a very slow film. In many ways it’s more like a Tarantino film that its predecessor. It’s very ‘talkie’ – there are tonnes of long, drawn-out scenes where characters natter to each other, seemingly going nowhere. It just is. It’s there to build character. However, if you’re not partial to that sort of scene, then you probably won’t enjoy this part.

As with the first half, there are a handful of scenes that you probably feel could have been left on the cutting room floor, but, all in all, it’s a pretty solid film. Yes, it’s not fast-paced; it’s almost deliberately slow – like the ‘ying’ to Part 1’s ‘yang.’

Fans of Tarantino will probably love it anyway, but anyone who likes broodingly slow film with clever dialogue should enjoy it, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Weaker and less enjoyable than Volume 1, 13 Mar. 2008
By 
Kill Bill Volume 2 is Tarantino's somewhat weaker follow up to the super entertainment in Kill Bill Volume 1.

Frankly, as soon as the Bride stops talking to the camera in the splendid opening sequence, the film drifts listlessly from one scene to another. The narration of the film is absent and so too is any coherent structure. The film is only really held together by the good choice of music.

We do meet some interesting characters such as Pai Mei (Gordon Liu) and Ele (Daryl Hannah). Although there are some interesting moments, the film ultimately stalls.

At times the dialogue in the film is cringingly silly and even plain rubbish. There is no end to the trashy and even sentimental filler.

The film is also let down because The Bride becomes a third person who melds into the action for most of the film. Contrast that with Volume 1- there The Bride was the audience's first person narrator with whom we toured the world.

The plot turns increasingly bizarre in Volume 2 so that the ending is totally absurd and a cop-out. It's a shame. Nevertheless you have to see it. As the DVD blurb states, 'until you've seen Kill Bill Vol. 2 you only know half the story'.

This DVD has just the one disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Script, OK Film, 15 Jan. 2014
Kill Bill Vol 2 must be amongst the very best screenplays written by Quentin Tarantino. The dialogue is to die for and when that happens you never care how much talking there is in a film. Vol 2 pretty much leads off from where Vol 1 finished with the bride played by Uma Thurman out for revenge. She still has a few others to kill, until she gets to Bill.

Vol 2 opens the back door to the brides story and we are told just how she got in this mess and her history with Bill and martial arts. The final hour is riveting.

However the word self indulgent is written all over the film- you just can't escape it, and the first half an hour drags, despite a good script and some wonderful direction.

It's as you would expect, high octane, violent stuff, sharp wit and a constant nod to 70s martial arts films- maybe too much of a nod, we get it Quentin we really do. But no matter what Kill Bill has up its sleeve, it cannot compare to the martial arts films of the 70s.

David Carradine makes a star turn, and Michael Madsen is exceptional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kill Bill Volume 2  [UMD Mini for PSP]
Kill Bill Volume 2 [UMD Mini for PSP] by Quentin Tarantino (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
£6.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews