Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'kill youth with easy listening' (but don't look for it here)
If you are open to hard and heavy side of rock music and don't mind the massive bass lines and crushing drums you might want to look into this project put together by Gavin Rossdale.
Here is someone who has left us plenty of music already and although most of it was released under the name of his long term band Bush, and the latest under his personal name, this in...
Published on 1 Dec. 2009 by Deven Gadula

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It might be slightly harder, but it's still wimpy
Bush fans will love it. Plain and simple. Rossdale maybe be singing on something slightly harder than Bush, but this is still pretty wimpy stuff, devoid of any lead playing or real heaviness at all. Don't buy this expecting Rossdale (who's voice was always pretty good) to have shaken his Bush past and turned heavy. This is still pretty light and weak. Bush fans only, I'm...
Published on 14 Mar. 2006 by ravenheart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'kill youth with easy listening' (but don't look for it here), 1 Dec. 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
If you are open to hard and heavy side of rock music and don't mind the massive bass lines and crushing drums you might want to look into this project put together by Gavin Rossdale.
Here is someone who has left us plenty of music already and although most of it was released under the name of his long term band Bush, and the latest under his personal name, this in between album released under the name of Institute - Distort Yourself is the strongest overall album to me. Once again, this is hard and heavy but it contains many beautiful full of light moments. It is one of my favorite albums of hard rock of the 21 century or however we decide to categorize it. This music definitely relates to the music of Bush but it is much more consistent for me, less concerned about the grunge sound, and it also contains more of the melodic sections which are so pronounced on Gavin's following album Wanderlust. Comparing Institute against Bush, I sense more of a clear vision here coming to us from the single source which I am attracted to. Heavy metal massive sound of bass and drums and Helmet-like guitar riffs mixed in with softer sections and vocal melody lines are blended on Distort Yourself real nicely and providing you don't mind walking into this definitely darker heavier landscape, you will get to experience a lot of sunshine, which might surprise you nicely. I guess that is why I am attracted to this album. There is good energy flowing from under its dark cloth. This album is fairly even without the songs of no appeal to me, as opposed to any of the Bush album.
If I was to pick one song I like best it would not be any of the strong front songs but song number 9. Ambulances is my favorite track of this album. I find its echoing keyboard and guitar passages hauntingly beautiful. This could be one of the darker songs lyrically but these thoughts are poetic and intriguing. Following it Secrets And Lies is again one of my favorite songs as is the last song Save The Robots. Again, this is one of these albums where its unique style of in this case massive metal riffs mixed with much more mellow often vocal parts and all the in between transitions could get a little heavy on its own. I like listening to this music in a playlist mixed with other music. Here are my favorite songs with Gavin Rossdale's involvement from this album, Bush mellow songs and Gavin's solo tracks: Ambulances, Forever You May Run, Letting The Cables Sleep, Secrets And Lies, Inflatable, Frontline, Bullet Proof Skin, Everything Zen, Safe The Robots, Love Remains The Same, 40 Miles From The Sun, Come On Over, Comedown, When Animals Attack, The Skin I'm In, Swallowed, Wasteland, Alien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bush... But Better!, 3 Dec. 2005
By 
M. Berkley "havok450" (Royston Vasey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can say very little about this album other than it is little short of amazing, each track easilly stands alone as an anthem, giving the whole album a 'greatest hits' feel about it. Brilliant, Gavin has taken his game to a whole new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you like Bush, 8 Sept. 2008
By 
Mrs. K. White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
There are two negative reviews about this on here. The long and short of it is..if you like Bush. Gavin Rossdale has got a very distinctive voice which I like. Bush were a great band although none of there later albums ever matched 16 stone's sales. Institute follows on the Bush trend. Not quite the same but well worth it...if you like Bush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gavin Rossdale does it again!, 6 Oct. 2005
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
This album really lived up to my expectations.
I am a huge fan of Bush and this album is amazing. I couldn't find a weak song in the whole album and it left me singing away.
Not the same as bush but if you liked Gavin Rossdales 'Adrenaline' from XXX then this album carries on with the same style.
ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The rare and delectable Dime bar of rock..., 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
The best way I could think of describing this album is a dime bar... smooth on the outside, crunchy on the inside.

Whatever it is Gavin Rossdale does and however he does it, produces an almost creamy svelt - like rock sound with beautiful harmonies and progressions within a song, punctuated by crunchy, toffee like sticky points of drum breaks and clashing guitars that demarcate the journey of each track. The whole album is well constructed without a filler track to be found.

Just like a dime bar gets stuck in your teeth, tracks on this album will get stuck in your head.

Lyrically, I cannot say Rossdale competes with Vedder or Cornell or even Taylor of the Cory variety, but the overall sound, impact and even resonance of a song can be felt and leaves a lasting memory.

As a fan of Bush through to Slipknot via Audioslave and other slightly darker sounds, this is an album that is melting itself into the CD player...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
This entire album is sublime. I'm a huge fan of Bush, and getting this album was a natural progression for me. It certainly has a different sound to Bush for sure - but hell, every Bush album has a different sound anyway, so there's no surprise there. There is such a great variety of music in this album - from hard hitting, heavy sounds like 'When Animals Attack' through to beautiful anthems like 'Ambulances' - and every song feels complete, well written and certainly not a filler. My personal favourite song has to be 'Secrets and Lies' - the guitars just go crazy on the chorus and really rise up and power through the song - it's beautiful to hear and the lyrics are genius.

A must have album for rock lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When reviewers attack, its best to consult them!!!, 17 Dec. 2006
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
Alright, this album was not what I was expecting exactly. When Gavin Rossdale said this album was going to be heaviear than Bush, I thought he meant heavier in the style of "Razorblade Suitcase."

Perhaps he could of produced the album himself with a sound engineer rather than Page Hamilton from Helmet (which is the same band in which alot of the members are made up from).

To start off, I'm not a fanboy, I'm 19 (which by the way means absolutley nothing, just like that word absolutley), but I'd like to ask, what else am I suppossed to listen too? The same old Bush albums over and over.

"Distort Yourself" is'nt by any means a bad album at all, and is way better than everything else thats about, its just that it won't sell like Bush's first album, Sixteen Stone (8 million plus copies)

If you don't like it at first, I suggest giving it a proper listen, sometimes it takes a few listens to aggust your ears to whats going on, in otherwords, its good to have a reasonably open mind.

The saddest thing is, only one single was released and much like Bush's last album - the record label that these guys were signed too didn't bother to promote the band and as for now, they've disbanded.

Thats a real shame, especially considering the rubbish thats around at the moment "Ambulances" could of been another "Glycerine" radio hit, but just like "Inflatable" its ignored. So I guess radio stations are content in playing commercial trite rock with absolutey no juice to it than a decent tune by a real band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not bush but still an awesome album!!!!!!!, 26 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
After 4 years away gavin returns and doesnt dissapoint! after being a bush fan since sixteenstone i was a bit worried that i would be dissapointed by institute but as soon as i put it in the cd player and the first song (bulletproof skin) kicked in i knew the whole album would rock! The best way to describe the album is 'science of things' mixed with 'golden state' with a twist of gritty lemon Although i dont want to compare institute to bush
its the best way to get an idea of there sound. All the tracks on
the album are awesome but a few tracks stand out straight away witch are. 'Wasteland' one of the slower songs and my favorite
on the album, 'information age' classic rossndale vocals, 'bulletproof skin' the opening track upbeat great song,
'ambulances' slow song with amazeing lyrics. I recommend
this album to any bush fan, and even if your not a bush fan this will make you want to buy all there albums. All in all a fantastic rock album and with each listen the albums greatness grows! buy it and you will not be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Institute (Audio CD)
Great album different direction to Bush but equally great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It might be slightly harder, but it's still wimpy, 14 Mar. 2006
By 
ravenheart (Rayleigh, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Distort Yourself (Audio CD)
Bush fans will love it. Plain and simple. Rossdale maybe be singing on something slightly harder than Bush, but this is still pretty wimpy stuff, devoid of any lead playing or real heaviness at all. Don't buy this expecting Rossdale (who's voice was always pretty good) to have shaken his Bush past and turned heavy. This is still pretty light and weak. Bush fans only, I'm afraid. Now watch all the fanboys vote this review unhelpful because it doesn't say 5-stars, when it is in fact a shining recommendation to fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Distort Yourself
Distort Yourself by Institute (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews