Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, with the exception of Vegas Vacation
Chevy Chase still keeps us laughing in this wonderful boxset of his 'Lampoon' vacation family films, in which he plays the character of Clark Griswold, family of 2 children and a wife, and each film is based a different holiday, from the troubles at home during the christmas season, to touring europe after winning a gameshow. Their are laughs all round, but I still feel...
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by Picard

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chevy Chase Set
I have seen the films before and enjoyed them ( Good family fun ) but I was a little disappointed to find in this set bits had been cut out compared to originals
Published on 17 July 2009 by D. W. T. James


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A COMEDY CLASSIC WITH CHEVY CHASE.., 26 July 2006
By 
NEO "Daren" (orpington kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Chevy Chase National Lampoon's Vacation Collection (4 Disc Box Set) [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
Chevy chase has to one of the funniest actors in many a long year. He found his niche with the Lampoons movies and here they are collected in one set. For me the first two are the best and are still funny after watching them many times. Chevy is brilliant as Clark Griswold with his ever suffering wife and kids. The american vacation has clark win a holiday to the aptly named 'Walley world' theme park in the west of the country. He is forced to bring the mother-in-law who dies on the trip , so he straps her to the roof of the station wagon. They all go to sleep in the car on the trip and it crashes off the highway into a ditch. They finally reach the theme park only to find it closed and cLark is so angry he forces it to open up. The last two films struggle for laughs but this is still a good set to watch again and again. Of the Dvd's there are no extras at all which is a missed chance and a pity. Thus only the four star rating on the strength of the movies alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with any genre, you will either love or hate. This film, although not my cup of tea most certainly pleased the gift recipient. So for that alone, it gets a five star. The fact it was delivered in time and in quality is a bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh til your tummy hurts!!!!, 19 Feb 2011
Chevy Chase is the all time comedian in the four films that come in this box set. Myself and my children sat and watched these films together and were glued to them!! I had seen these films as a child and forgot how fab and funny they really were!! I am so pleased with my purchase of this 'value for money' box set, and I am sure that we will get much pleasure out of watching these films over and over again!! Good all round family viewing!!!! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic 80s family comedy, 12 May 2009
By 
Graeme J. Clark (wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chevy Chase National Lampoon's Vacation Collection (4 Disc Box Set) [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
if you are a fan of 80s comedy, then this is a must!
although you can see most of the jokes coming a mile away, its still a gagfest and still keeps you laughing.
the best being the christmas version although the others are a close second, the christmas lights all over the house and the problems he encounters with them, is worth the shelling out for alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the grizwolds are the best, 29 April 2009
This review is from: The Chevy Chase National Lampoon's Vacation Collection (4 Disc Box Set) [1983] [DVD] (DVD)
A unique family, The Grizwolds led by Chevvy Chase suffer from fathers over eagerness to 'be a family' Vacation and European Vacation are hugely funny. Look out for the Brits in European Vacation especially Mel Smith as the London hotelier.
These films are a must for anyone with overbearing parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Very good purchase! Great product and highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality of the picture a bit disappointing, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They are great, picture quality not great but old films, was'nt expecting them to be HD quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was so great to watch these films I remembered as a kid. A blast from the past. Arrived quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Concerning National Lampoon's Vacation Collection, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was curious to see the other 3 dvd's as I only had seen the European-Vacation...that was and stays one of my absolute favourite movies throughout the years!!!
I was a little bit disappointed , "Vacation number one" was okay as well as " Christmas-Vacation" but "Vegas-Vacation" was too much, was overdone..the gags were already rather familiar...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Partners choice., 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My partner found these films very amusing, I unfortunately didn't. Sorry! Films my grandchildren would enjoy though. Nothing else to say sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews