Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It took time!, 10 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Chronic (Audio CD)
After not being given his fair share of money from Eazy-E & co, Dre went and made the infamous Death Row label. With help from Snoop, who appears on most of the songs, he produced his 1st Debut Album.
I listened to The Chronic a couple of times before I really appreciated it. All the beats are typical Dre masterpieces. F<uk with dre day is a classic, along with rat-tat-tat-tat. My advice is buy this before you buy Dre 2001, you'll appreciate it more. Then sit back, roll a big fat joint and wait for Dre's next album out later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All-time classic rap, with an all-star line-up, 13 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
Dre's album is a superbly crafted and linguistically inspired piece of 90s rap. With the help of other gangsta rappers, most notably Snoop Doggy Dogg, Dre's tunes demand a convertible car and a big pumping stereo. Lay back and chill with some of the dopest beats yet. Quite simply a timeless classic that outclasses virtually every other rap record, including Chronic 2001. Dre will inspire you to move to LA, wear gold chains, gather bags of chronic, and chill with various 'women-folk'. Respek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pioneering G-funk album, 19 Feb 2003
By 
J. Poole "poolejo" (southampton uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Chronic (Audio CD)
If you like old skool g-funk, this is where it all started. This album introduces some of the best rappers in the business to the big stage, RBX, Snoop, Kurupt, and the lady of rage among others. This album is way before its time, so if you like artists such as Snoop, ice cube and LA gangsta rap, if you don't already have this, go out and buy the damn thing, you WILL NOT be disappointed! Contains classic g-funk bangers like nuthin but a G thang, Dre day, stranded on death row and lyrical gangbang. I can't believe no-ones done a review on this, coz it needs to be known how good this is. So go out and buy it rap fans...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars go and buy this, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
Ok. I am a hip hop fan and this album is ..... wicked. If you are thinking about buying it, stop thinking and just go and buy it. Its a couple of years old but, yo, the tracks are proper dope. It's not typical hip hop, its more of a mix of rap, soul funk and old skool but dre and snoop kill it on the album. Snoop is up Dr Dre's ass as he is featured on every track but he drops enuff dope lyrics on the whole album. The Intro is just gangsta-when u buy it, turn the volume up and blast the first track - it is proper ghetto gangsta ..... My fav bit on all of the album is 'A Nigga Witta Gun' when Snoop Dogg drops a verse at the end - 'BLAM BLAM, BLAM TO THE FALL, LISTEN TO THE SHOTS FROM A NIGGA DOGGY DOGG, ETC ETC. But overall most of the tracks are pretty good and I like all of them. But dont expect a host of modern jingles featuring Eminem cos the album was released in like 93, but dont let that put you off, the album is still standing and is still a number one classic hip hop cd. buy it! Compton style!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kool,laid back g funk., 9 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
Well a truely great hiphop album.Nearly every song is brilliant,the best though are wit dre day (and everybodys celebratin)let me ride,nuthin but a g thang and rat-tat-tat-tat.it is full of kool background music and realy ace lyrics.He has many good rappers on aswell like snoop dogg,nate dogg,and rbx.A truely great hip-hop album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true masterpiece!, 1 Nov 2001
This review is from: Chronic, the (Audio CD)
An immaculate album that emphasises the beats and lyrics that revolutionised West coast rap.This is far superior to '2001' and is on a level with both classic NWA lp's, whilst Snoop's rhyming throughout the album is his best! Dre's production as on this album will probably never be equalled, it is just a shame it was before 2pac's time on the greatest and most influencial of contemporary record labels(Death Row),as his presence may well have enhanced this album further.....if possible!!!
Tracks to look for are 'nuttin but a g thang', 'lil ghetto boy', 'let me ride' and 'f*ck wit dre day'......BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic in every sense of the word., 29 Sep 2003
This review is from: The Chronic (Audio CD)
For many, this is the best Hip-Hop album of it's era. For me, this is just a fantastic record.
Although it isn't as influential as people think it is, each track is a classic. Dr. Dre is a genius, perhaps only rivalled by RZA when it comes to Hip-Hop production. His low-key funk samples suited his artists perfectly and whilst Dr. Dre's raps are usually below average, his beats make up for it.
Every track is as worthy as the next, and if this isn't already a part of your collection, I suggest you buy it immediately.
It may not be the best Hip-Hop album of all-time (as many Rock publications made it out to be), but it is certainly a 5-star record, and one worthy of your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bow wow wow yippy yo yippy ye., 21 Feb 2001
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
this album blasted Snoop Dogg into the rap scene and proved that Dre could still make the beats and produce the goods without Eazy E and NWA. Nuthin but a G thing is one of the best songs i have ever heard its first line is true brilliance" 1 2 3 and to the 4 Snoop Doggy dogg and Dr Dre is at your door" "let me ride" and "Wit Dre day" are just as good as this and the whole album proves the one thing everyone knew. Dre is the best producer on the mic. You have to have this album not only for Dre but for the sheer quality Snoop doggy dogg throws up on his debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best, 31 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
This is the best Hip Hop Cd ever, i mean EVER! this album proves Dre is a true genius, by unleashing Snoop on us, giving us one of the best hip hop songs ever (nuthin' but a g thang), and starting the whole G funk thing. This surpasses any of his earlier work with NWA, this is a stone cold hip-hop landmark. of all the albums i have, this is the one i have listened to most, it's never out of my Cd player. well enough of me talking about it, what are u waiting for? Hurry up and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ORIGINAL GANGSTA ....., 11 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic (Audio CD)
This album defined what is called Gangsta Rap today. The beats are just as fresh and funky as they were back in '92 and this album showed the way for virtually every other gansta rap artist to this day. Pure genius, smmooth flow, funky beatz, Dre is the godfather of rap and this album proves it. If, like me, ur a lover of rap, no record collection is complete without this at the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Chronic
The Chronic by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews