Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She's a witch!, 27 Sep 2005
By 
Mr. D. A. Cure "Sir Danalot" (Droitwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Another great album from the doomsters. I believe this is the first since the 'best of'package last year, and its certainly up there with the Carnival Bizarre and Supernatural Birth Machine. It kicks off with 'Dearth AD 2005' introduction, and then piles straight into the heavy downtuned riffs that have established them as the modern day Sabbath.
The standout tracks are without question North Berwick Witch Trials (is there a theme here?!), the brilliant Corpsecycle (one of their best ever songs), and the epic 25 minute The Garden, which inlcudes female backing, spoken lyrics, and all sorts of instrumentation, time and key changes. The bonus on the digi-pac is Proga-Europa. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Garden of Unearthly Delights, 29 Sep 2005
By 
A. Chapman "gutteral69" (St. ives, Cambs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Cathedral are without a doubt one of the best British metal bands out there. Their mix of Doom metal, old school rock and at times folk music is a great mix. "The Garden of Unearthly Delights" is a great album, from start to finish it grabs you and never lets go. If your a fan of Cathedral you may know what to expect in the way of style, if not cathedral are a hard rock, Doom metal band with a lot of other influences thrown in. The riffs are catchy and simple enough to nod your head along to, the lyrics are clear enough to know what he's saying and also can be catchy and sing-able, which may surprise some people who only know Lee Dorien from early Napalm Death, which this is nothing like.
Lyrically you can guess what themes cathedral are going for with song titles like "North Berwick Witch Trials", "Upon Azraels Wings" and "Tree of Life & Death". This is a great album which is rounded off with a 27 minute track called "The Garden" which has many different parts such as heavy plodding doom moments then moves into folky otherworldly melodys, theres even a Guitar, Violin solo.
Cathedral are a great band who might just surpise you.
Check em out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A garden of delights, 18 Oct 2005
By 
R. Lawrence (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If your a metal, doom or rock fan that has a taste for the heavier stuff then you will LOVE this album. If it's your first time for Cathedral then there are songs on here which are very accessible such as "north berwick witch trials", the grooving "corpsecycle" and the runaway train of song, "Oro the Manslayer" - if you want some pace with all of the heaviness. There are some classics on this album including the epic halfhour, "The Garden" which literally grows on you. This album is fully recommended. If you're thinking of buying it, just buy it! I've played it not stop for two weeks now. Cathedral - stronger than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cathedral, 28 Jun 2006
Another masterpiece from the mighty Cathedral. Great songs such as "North Berwick Witch Trials" "Corpsecycle" and "The Garden" the latter a very long but brilliant song.

I love the 95 album "Carnival Bizarre" but G of U D matches this in quality. Really heavy, Sabbathy sound (with their own sound mixed in). An English band of "real heavy Metal", the best English band in existence in my view. Buy this album and keep the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album full of delights, 9 Oct 2006
By 
Zulu 24 "Bob" (Birmingham,England) - See all my reviews
Just bought "Garden of Unearthly Delights",what an album.This is Cathedral at their best.North Berwick Witch Trials is a brilliant track,as is Corpscycle,both with heavy catchy riffs.Cathedral have got to be one of the best metal groups around,if not THE best.Buy it metal fans,you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a true "Delight", 26 Sep 2005
Having never come across cathedral before I heard a number of previews of this album and could not wait to hear the complete article.
Having got it I have to say that this is a stunning album and should be a part of every metal fans collection. This is a fantastically eclectic album which demonstrates that Cathedral are truly an amazing band who seem to have a wealth of talent behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scratch and Sniff. Ewwwwwwwwww...., 1 April 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do you like Gardens?
Do you like things not of this earth?
Do you like Delights?
Do you like large Diocesan Churches?
Do you like North Berwick?
Do you like Witch Trials?
Do you like Manslayers?
Do you like Azrael's Wings?
Do you like Apples?
Do you like Slabs of coruscating Sub-Sabbathian Doom?
Then this for you. Really. OK Lee Dorrian have done better but how many others have?

Heartily Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We're all doomed!, 31 Dec 2010
By 
theone&only (Nottingham, Notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have been 'doomed' by Cathedral, you will know that they're unhinged gibberings in the field of metal are second to none. They somehow still manage to be accessible - possibly through the Sabbath style catchiness of riff master extrordinaire, Gaz Jennings! This album, while not sounding totally fresh and inspiring, is at least good enough in terms of songwriting to keep Cathedral's reputation as a great British rock institution. You'll have to debate whether you are getting value for money here, as really, you only get 7 fully formed compositions. That one of them goes on for twenty minutes plus is a point to consider though. Personally I can't sit all the way through said song - 'The Garden', I can only take about 10 minutes of it but I am persevering a bit at a time!
Tracks like 'Tree Of Life & Death' and 'North Berwick Witch Trials' are good old fashioned Cathedral territory though and are great songs which makes this, if not a classic, then a worthy addition to your CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garden of Unearthly Delights [VINYL]
Garden of Unearthly Delights [VINYL] by Cathedral (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews