Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cajon
This is the first Cajon I have bought and it does the job just perfectly for the money. Decent bass tone from the centre and adjustable snares give nice variation (allen key adjuster included). Slight gap at the top of the front plate where it meets the sides and the screws won't tighten any further to close up this gap but thats being really picky. Makes no difference to...
Published on 14 Mar 2011 by Alistair73

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good beginner Cajon, but nothing special.
A good Cajon for beginners but the sound could be a bit better, the bass is a bit bland-sounding as is the snare. What you would expect for the price - great for jamming but as a stand alone instrument it's a bit dull.
Published 12 months ago by coles32


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cajon, 14 Mar 2011
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
This is the first Cajon I have bought and it does the job just perfectly for the money. Decent bass tone from the centre and adjustable snares give nice variation (allen key adjuster included). Slight gap at the top of the front plate where it meets the sides and the screws won't tighten any further to close up this gap but thats being really picky. Makes no difference to the sound so can't really complain. Nice finish and good strong rubber feet. Used it for a few gigs now and it mics up OK and sounds good through a PA. I recommend buying a case to fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
This is my first Cajon and I did not want to dig to deep. I've recently returned to drumming and didn't know much about Cajons. I read a few reviews on here, watched some youtube clips and Meinl seemed the best option.
Base tone is pretty reasonable and snare is adjustable to personal preference.
I did modify the top left corner of the tappa to create more of a slap sound and I am now really pleased with it.
I recommend looking on youtube to see how to modify as I did. All you need is a screwdriver and a couple of bit of card. No woodwork skills needed. Good for the price, though I wouldn't spend more for what is basically a wooden box. If you don't need a Cajon immediately there is lot's of advice out there on how to make one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas gift for teenager, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
It's not just a box, it's a great box. Beautifully made, and it produces a great, quality sound. Excellent price, thoroughly recommend this. Brilliant, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
Great quality build and good sound. No instructions came with it, but easy to figure out. Compared to other brands, this one is by far the best for under a £100 :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a crate, 2 July 2013
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
Just got mine today and after a little bit of tuning it does indeed sound better than i hoped. Though it's well worth to just remember for a second folks that you're buying a box.. A BOX. So really i think it's not worth going crazy and getting a £150+ one because at the end of the day.. they all pretty much give the same sound of hitting a wooden crate with wires in? This works fine for me and apparently so many other people. As a drummer i need something to play all the unplugged gigs where a drum kit isn't used so i decided to go and get one of these and by giving my self a budget of 100 pounds and below to be honest i truly think this the most best expensive/cheap box you can get which will be well worth your coins... Just remember guys, you're literally buying a box so think carefully before you go all out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Meinl Cajon - Natural, 13 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
Meinl Cajon drum - good sound, easy to tune, good construction and strong rubber feet, looks good. Many hours of accoustic fun :-) .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value Cahon - just watch your hard floors, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Dan (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
This cahon is well-constructed and very solid - there's not a hint of any movement when you sit on it. The snares (two of them) are easy to adjust with the allen key, which is stored in a hole inside the instrument. Because there is a snare down each half of the front panel, you can have a slightly different snare sound on each side. The bass is nice and deep, and the rim sound is very nice - on mine a little better on the top-right than the top-left.

If you've never played a cahon, but can tap out a rhythm on your thighs or a table top, you'll take to it very quickly. There are some excellent tutorials online too.

The only thing that stopped me giving this five stars is that the black rubber feet left marks on my wooden floor which were quite difficult to remove. I have solved this by using some of those round felt furniture feet pads. The large ones are about the same diameter as the rubber feet, and this has stopped the issue completely. It has the added benefit that I can move the cahon around the floor more easily as it now slides!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lol, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
great bit of kit. arrived incredibly late though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
if u just want a good ol jam out and dont take stuff too serious this is the one for you, well worth the outlay for a cushty bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service and item, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Meinl Cajon - Natural (Electronics)
Excellent! I am happy with this product and the way it was when i opened the box! Thanks very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meinl Cajon - Natural
£84.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews