Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beep, beep, beep arrrrgggggg!
The Scrabble timer is great little thing at a great price (4.99). My friend bought me this as an early christmas present. We both love scrabble and when playing we were taking too long to make up a word. The Scrabble timer has 3 settings 3 mins, 2 mins and 1 mins. When you set the time for 1 min and press the big red button it beeps (it really isn`t that loud to disturb...
Published on 22 Oct. 2008 by Happy Shopper

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware: BRAIN FREEZE!
Bought this to spice up the game and as the pressure mounted with time slipping through my fingers my brain froze and I could not get a word out!! Its a little on the cheap side but a good laugh.
Published on 18 Feb. 2010 by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beep, beep, beep arrrrgggggg!, 22 Oct. 2008
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
The Scrabble timer is great little thing at a great price (4.99). My friend bought me this as an early christmas present. We both love scrabble and when playing we were taking too long to make up a word. The Scrabble timer has 3 settings 3 mins, 2 mins and 1 mins. When you set the time for 1 min and press the big red button it beeps (it really isn`t that loud to disturb people at night) and flashes to let you know countdown has begun when it reaches 30 secs it will beep and flashes again then when it reaches 10 secs it will beep and flashes every sec. Believe me it makes you panic and you`re almost pulling out your hair when you can`t think of a word then you have to miss your turn. The Scrabble timer really does keep you alert it makes things quicker and more interesting. Timer needs 2 AA batteries and you have to unscrew a tiny screw I found this to be no problem at all. Comes with instructions leaflet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble Timer, 8 Sept. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
Small, compact, easy to use timer for Scrabble or other games such as chess where occassionally (or often!) a player wants to think their move through and looses track of time. These delays can drive other players mad.
We bought it because we play a lot of 'Rummikub' and tempers can fray.

This timer can be triggered at the beginning of your move with a simple light press on the top. A 4-position switch gives Off, 1 or 2 or 3 minutes; every 30 seconds theres a beep and flash; the last 10 seconds count down with a beep+flash every second.

The beep and flash are distinct but not intrusive; I would say a well chosen sound level. In practise the flash is easily ignored by the player and is not a distraction.

Powered by 2 x AA batteries; our first two batteries are going strong after around 3 hours of timer 'ON' since new. No obvious disaster there.

Dimensions 6 cm wide, taper 3-4 cm deep, 7 cm high. Green with red Scrabble logo back and front. Rugged and well constructed.(Durability given four stars because we have only owned and used the timer for almost three months - we cannot say how it will be after say four or five years.)

We wish we had been able to find something like this, at this price, years ago. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scrabble timer, 27 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
Just the job! It beeps every half minute and gives you a ten beep countdown at the end. I'm very pleased with it, and as I've won every game since I got it, I call that value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid little game turn timer., 4 Mar. 2012
By 
Willy Eckerslike (France) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
What a difference this little thing makes to the usual `nodding off between turns' tedium of our Rumikubb sessions. With a choice of one, two or three minutes, the timer beeps and flashes once when activated (by pressing the top), flashes every ten seconds, beeps again at each thirty second interval then counts down the last ten seconds. Pressing the top again resets the timer. The beeping is not intrusive or too loud but it does really motivate some deep thinkers to get on with it. The timer seems to be fairly robust and the silly little screw securing the battery compartment got thrown away so that was only a very minor niggle. The timer does its job very well, doesn't cost much and we got to bed an hour earlier than after our usual marathon sessions. It is an all round excellent bit of kit and an end to board game boredom - hoorah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my god send, 10 Jan. 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
I call it my god send because it has made the game of scrabble so much better (my sister always took ages to go her turn so I bought it for her for Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product!, 12 Dec. 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
This Scrabble timer has transformed my life! Gone are the long boring games of Scrabble! Now the play is fast-paced and hectic! The timer can be set to 1,2 or 3 minutes and is an excellent addition to the game of Scrabble. We nearly always set it to 1 minute. It bleeps when pressed (to start it off), bleeps after 30 seconds and counts down the last 10 seconds with 10 bleeps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but, 1 Feb. 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
The Scrabble timer is essential for serious players and also for keeping the game within time limit. Especially when you play in 4. The only thing I would change is the measure - the timer cannot be stored in the original scrabble box. The timer is higher. And that is the only con I have found so far. The delivery was quick and payment easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent timing!, 16 April 2010
By 
M. Lee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
This thing is perfect! When not using it for Scrabble, I've found it can be used as an egg timer, too! In fact, I've even tried it on the golf course to limit the time people take when teeing off. The beep is not overly loud, as one reviewer claims, nor is it difficult to undo the battery hatch to change batteries. I'm glad I bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble time, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
Keith Webb (Weymouth, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
Excellent for keeping the game moving - 3 settings - 1min, 2min and 3min so caters for all skill levels. I was getting fed up with games that lasted over an hour, now on the 1min setting, the game lasts just 15-20mins (2 players) - perfect for killing time without putting the TV on...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer (Toy)
This is great as it means our Scrabble games move along much faster now and everyone has a time limit. We generally have it set to 3 minutes per person. If you can't go in that time - you miss a go and everyone else remains awake! Definitely worth having if you are regular Scrabble players. You can also set it to 2 minutes (if in a hurry but it puts the pressure on), or even 1 minute - but we are definitely not at the level of being able to play well with just one minute to take a turn.

We also have a Scrabble dictionary which is definitely worth having as well. You'd be amazed at the number of words out there that you didn't even know existed....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tinderbox Games Scrabble Timer
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews