Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 October 2005
Superb album, showing progression, pop sensibility and a real style.
Standout tracks include the "Electro-Motown" International Dateline and the ethereal Beauty 2 .
Ladytron have now leapt (escaped?) from the electroclash pigeonhole where some may have placed them in the past, with a collection of tracks demonstrating real songwriting accomplishment and a broad range of tempo and sound.
A Must Buy !
But be careful ... prolonged exposure to this album will have songs like Weekend and AMTV going round in your head for days...
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2005
I read a review somewhere that described this album as boring. Having now bought it and listened to it through I can only imagine that the author of that review had been either on substances or had inadvertantly bought the new offer from Britney and got the two mixed up. It is far from boring and diehard Ladytron fans will be absolutely delighted with this. The late 70s and 80s have always provided rich seams of inspiration and with Witching Hour Ladytron have reached back into the exciting post-punk electric phase where thier heroes Joy Division made their mark. They have come up with something that is Souxsie meets Tangerine Dream. It still carries thier sound however and its wonderful. Although the synths still dominate there is now also a deliciously rich drum and base quality to the material and more of the raw edge that went missing between 604 and Light and Magic. They always seem to produce a bum track, however, and in this case for me it is probably Fighting In Built Up Areas. The rest is pure musical pleasure. Watch out for the first track, High Rise. Can this really be a Ladytron track? You'd better believe it. They deserve far more attention than they get. Hopefully success will follow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 October 2005
Hugely expanded sound on their last couple of albums with beefed up percussion and guitars. Great songs, lots of hooks and some very interesting ideas.
Stand out tracks are 'Destroy everything you touch', 'Sugar', 'The last one standing' and 'Beauty*2'.
No bad tracks on the record. One of the best releases of 2005.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 October 2005
Excellent new album from Ladytron. Where 'Shadow & Light' hinted at where this band could go with tracks such as 'Evil', Witching Hour makes the transition to full multi-layered electro, harmonies and large-scale percussion that made that particular track stand out so much. There have been some comparisons to the sound 'Curve' produced in the early 90's and I can see the comparison but this album is a lot less cluttered and Ladytron have the full poptastic hook-writing knack at their fingertips that always made Kraftwerk stand out from their contemporaries.
Stand out tracks are the single, 'Destroy Everyhting You Touch', 'Sugar', 'Beauty*2' and 'The Last One Standing'. In actual fact, apart from one instrumental filler there isn't a bad track on this record.
One of the highlight of 2005.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
And so the eponymous Ladytron return with their third and (in my opinion) finest album. Like a well oiled machine they glide into gear with a heavily distorted guitar sound on the pounding 'High Rise' and from here on in I know I'm in for forty odd minutes of synth pop perfection.
The girls sound angelic, well distanced and cold albeit in a 'heavenly' manner in Mira's case, and the boys are experts in twisting knobs and pushing buttons (no innuendo's intended) This album is a welcome return of the band for the veterans and a perfect discovery for new fans.
Aural pleasure at it's most decadent...I'm such a sleaze
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
There is a newer version of this album on Amazon called 'Witching Hour: Bonus Remix Edition' (ASIN: B000TSJU4U). It contains the same tracks as the standard album, but with three additional remixes of Destroy Everything You Touch, International Dateline and Soft Power.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2005
I'm not not a lazy person, so I can't find the steam to write the 20-page epic review it deserves. When I first listened to this album, one I had been anticipating for years now, I actually broke down into a coma and started rolling around, unable to breathe.
Seriously, this album should probably be made illegal or whatnot:- It's dangerous! Absolutely dangerously awesome that is!
I tried and struggled but I could not find a single track on the album that was anything short of face-melting.
Several degrees of magnitude better than anything you've ever likely to have heard, if you havn't prepared yourself you'll keel over bleeding at the eyes! -It's that amazing.
Do yourself two favours right now---
1)Don't eat fire
2)Buy this album
0Comment19 of 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
Not my kind of music but bought it for track 2. Delighted to find track 12 even better.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2016
Fast and efficient service at a good price,happy all round 😊
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
fab delivery, great product.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£10.78

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.