Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story of the Year - In The Wake Of Determination
Following their 2003 debut, Page Avenue, Story of the Year's new album hopes to keep their now-very healthy fan base.
The first thing that you'll notice is that this is different to Page Avenue. Gone are the melodic slow songs such as "Anthem Of Our Dying Day" and "Sidewalks". Forget the pop-like sing-a-long songs like "Razorblades". Welcome the heavier,...
Published on 16 Nov. 2005 by C. Fazekas

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
crap
Published 18 months ago by natasha briody


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Story of the Year - In The Wake Of Determination, 16 Nov. 2005
By 
C. Fazekas "claire040764" (Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
Following their 2003 debut, Page Avenue, Story of the Year's new album hopes to keep their now-very healthy fan base.
The first thing that you'll notice is that this is different to Page Avenue. Gone are the melodic slow songs such as "Anthem Of Our Dying Day" and "Sidewalks". Forget the pop-like sing-a-long songs like "Razorblades". Welcome the heavier, more upbeat songs. Don't get me wrong, Page Avenue was amazing, but just because you loved that - don't think you're automatically going to like this.
The album kicks off with the loud "We Don't Care Anymore", and almost immediately Dan is screaming '...no second chance tonight', and it's at this point that you know you're in for one hell of a ride. Throughout the album are loads of catchy, kick-ass riffs and fantastic vocal work (such as in the last minute or so of "Take Me Back"), ranging from screams to chants to a softer, more harmonic style. Lyrics such as 'Stereo, stereo, tired bullsh*t dressed in gold' reveal how Story of the Year feel. The lyrics are fairly personal, with this particular example refering to the trash that most people churn out (i.e. hip-hop all sounds the same etc) and how the band feel about it.
The only slow song on the album (excluding the 'hidden' acoustic track) is Sleep, which has an eerie feel before reaching a climax in which the chorus is sung a bit louder and in a slightly higher-pitched voice. The rest focus more on the type of music that gets you jumping around pretending to play your imaginary electric guitar in front of a thousand people... Well, maybe just me then :p
Either way - don't be fooled into thinking this is some sort of cheesy American 80's trash that's all 'rock and hardcore'. This is the real stuff and is damn good.
It certainly takes a few listens before you'll get used to it, but one thing that I noticed was that if you read the booklet that comes with the CD, and read what each individual band member has to say about each song, you get used to the album much quicker, and you'll soon learn to love it.
Highlights of the album include the excellent "Take Me Back", "Taste The Poison", "Stereo" and pumping "Wake Up The Voiceless". The album ends with the heaviest song of the lot that will really get the blood going - "'Is This My Fate?' He Asks Them mixes rapid riffs with screaming vocals and excellent drumming to finely wrap off a great album.
Overall, the album is certainly not a classic, but is well worth a look, SotY fan or not.
On another note, I recently had the pleasure of going to Taste of Chaos at Brixton, and Story of the Year were the best performers there and are absolutely incredible live - so if you're a SotY fan - I reccomend you buy tickets to their next show as soon as they come on sale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different indeed!!, 12 Nov. 2005
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
Well, a very different album from Page Avenue. This is generally down to the fact that SOTY ditched the producer who signed them (Goldfinger's John Feldmann) and replaced him with a new producer in the form of Steve Evetts. Inevitably changing from a producer of a punk band to a more metal orientated producer has obviously changed the sound of this five piece band!
SOTY Sound so much different to their Page Avenue expliots, but this album certainly delivers big style and listen to "five against the world"! What a solo!
They have not completely gone off the beaten track as they have songs called sleep and taste the poison, which sound very much like the material on Page Avenue! I can't diss this album like a previous review i read! It was inevitable the route they wanted to go down, so this album is very much what I imagined!!
Good work guys!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy, Truley Amazing!!, 12 Nov. 2005
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
If you have Page Avenue then you will know how amazing that is! But on the 31 of Oct 2005 Story of the year released their new album In The Wake Of Determination which they are currently promoting on the Taste Of Chaos Tour, and believe me its amazing, one listen to the album and you will be hooked for sure, I have had it since its release and it hasn’t been out of the CD Player!!! If you haven’t heard any of there new songs but know their older songs like “Until the day I die” and your hooked then the same will happen again!!
If you still haven’t bought Page Avenue then that’s also a must with amazing songs such as “until the day I die”, “In the shadows”, “Sidewalks” and much much more
So what you waiting for Buy buy buy!!! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, Amazing, A Must BUY, 12 Nov. 2005
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
If you have Page Avenue then you will know how amazing that is! But on the 31 of Oct 2005 Story of the year released their new album In The Wake Of Determination which they are currently promoting on the Taste Of Chaos Tour, and believe me its amazing, one listen to the album and you will be hooked for sure, I have had it since its release and it hasn’t been out of the CD Player!!! If you haven’t heard any of there new songs but know their older songs like “Until the day I die” and your hooked then the same will happen again!!
If you still haven’t bought Page Avenue then that’s also a must with amazing songs such as “until the day I die”, “In the shadows”, “Sidewalks” and much much more
So what you waiting for Buy buy buy!!! :-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars These guys have great energy!, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
Story Of The Year are a great band, seen them live at "Taste Of Choas Tour 2005" in Glasgow UK, they were amazing live! the album is very good, few favorites on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Story of the year - In the Wake of Determination, 7 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because I love the track 'Take me back', I loved all the other tracks too - many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definatly Worth The Buy !, 27 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
Really gd album all round , best song : We Don't Care Anymore which is really awesome ! Definatly woth the cash So BUY IT !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 31 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
Abbsolutly amazing buy it an u wont b disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
Fantastic cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In The Wake Of Determination (Audio CD)
crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In The Wake Of Determination
In The Wake Of Determination by Story Of The Year (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews