Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, Graphic, Explicit, Horrific, UNMISSABLE
This release is highly likely to have a high number of cuts!
Cannibal Holocaust follows the misadventures of a film making crew in South America. They fall foul of the natives while attempting to produce a documentary film of their day-to-day lives. As you may have guessed, the natives are cannibals. Que the dismemberment, beheading, impaling and the gut eating...
Published on 10 Sep 2001 by jm_theory

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled!
This is not the "complete version" as it states on the cover! This DVD release is a little more complete than the last UK DVD release but it is still cut. All of the animal killings (which I found the most horrific) were cut and most of the rape scenes were cut. The movie as it stands on this release is still pretty shocking. A mans penis is cut off, a womans fetus is...
Published on 14 Feb 2005 by C. Lamb


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Moving, Graphic, Explicit, Horrific, UNMISSABLE, 10 Sep 2001
This release is highly likely to have a high number of cuts!
Cannibal Holocaust follows the misadventures of a film making crew in South America. They fall foul of the natives while attempting to produce a documentary film of their day-to-day lives. As you may have guessed, the natives are cannibals. Que the dismemberment, beheading, impaling and the gut eating. I urge caution if this is an uncut version as the violence is extremely explicit! It is NOT for the faint hearted! The uncut version also contains a number of REAL footage of animal killings and dismemberment. Even though this film contains explicit violence, the likes of which is not seen else where, it does seem to be justified within the context of the film. It is about cannibalism, so you see cannibalism in all it's horrific glory, also, animals would be killed and butchered if you were on an expedition in the jungle. I feel the content is justified but certainly very difficult to watch. The reason why this film has been awarded 5 stars by me is due to the superbe effects, the brilliant camera work (blair-witch eat your heart out), the INCREDABLY creepy music and just the whole 'in-your faceness' of it. Highly recommended to horror fanatics and those with a strong stomach! This is a land mark, pioneering film NOT to be missed. It's infamy is deserved, you can't call yourself a film buff if you haven't seen this blood soaked original!
A truely moving, disturbing and powerful film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 66 Cannibal Holocaust, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cannibal Holocaust

Distributor: Shameless Entertainment (UK)

To fully appreciate the fact that this movie is available to purchase in the UK in a near uncut form will probably require a certain amount of knowledge of the whole Video Nasties furore or at the very least first hand experience of having lived through this period. The Video Nasties phenomenon which swept through the UK in the early 80's seems now almost an impossibility given today's more relaxed standards and easy access to any movie you could wish to see via the Internet. Back in the day however, this shocking horror entry topped the UK's banned movie lists which saw collectors scouring car boot sales up and down the country in an attempt to obtain one of those dodgy bootleg video tapes as the only way to see some of their favourite withdrawn horror classics.

Years later with the advent of DVD the search moved to foreign releases with collectors importing some of these "long lost treasures" whilst hoping that the films would slip by customs authorities unnoticed to avoid certain confiscation.

With Cannibal Holocaust arguably the most famous entry on the nasties list, it was more than a little surprising when it was announced that the film was scheduled for UK release in an almost uncut print (minus a few seconds edited for animal cruelty). This print of the movie was substantially longer than even the original "banned" video release and collectors had for years resigned themselves to the fact that the film would never see anywhere near an uncut print in UK territories.

So all these years later, the most controversial movie ever made is finally available to buy in your local high street store only now it's in high definition...

The plot, for anyone who has never experienced the Italian cannibal genre is pretty simple. A small group of young naive white folk take a trip to the one place on Earth they have no business in going and not surprisingly manage to offend the local inhabitants and end up being invited for dinner. Well that's it and essentially it's the same plot for all of these "cannibal classics" which also seem to share a love of some pretty graphic gore sequences as well as some truly distasteful footage of genuine animal cruelty. What this film does differently however is present the film as documentary footage (years before we were inundated with the recent outburst of "found footage movies") and in fact does this so convincingly that the director of the film was made to attend a court hearing in Italy along with the cast in an attempt to prove that the sequences shown in the movie weren't in fact real.

With all of the history surrounding this flick any Blu-ray release was always going to make for an interesting title to review. Distributed by Shameless Entertainment, the region free Blu-ray disc presents two cuts of the movie, the original version minus approx 13 seconds cut for extreme animal suffering and a new directors cut which seeks to obscure some of the more tasteless scenes involving animal cruelty which the director apparently now regrets filming. The new version actually overlays some of the more graphic animal scenes with extra film dirt in an attempt to disguise the most shocking sequences however it never really succeeds in its aim and unlike the US Grindhouse DVD release which simply removes these scenes in their entirety, there is still far too much of this footage left intact. The less concerned viewer however will probably stick with the original cut however this is never going to be a film for animal lovers or members of PETA to sit through in either version.

Presented with a 1080p 1.85:1 transfer, for anyone who has never seen the film you first have to bear in mind that this is supposed to represent found footage recovered from the depths of the Amazon jungle and is therefore complete with film dirt, scratches, blemishes, missing audio reels etc.. and the film in this regard appears exactly as it should. Other than this the transfer is pretty solid overall although as the titles roll there is a fair amount of excessive film grain displayed, especially over the opening scenes of the Amazon rain forest, but this settles down to a lesser extent within the first few minutes of the film. Detail moves from strong to excellent, especially during certain close up shots and colour representation also shows a striking upgrade over previous releases. Cannibal Holocaust has lost none of its power over the years and the ability to shock is still as strong as ever especially in this enhanced presentation which will no doubt please long time horror collectors everywhere.

Audio is presented with DTS HD and Dolby Digital stereo options with the former being the most vibrant of the two. Dialogue is clear and free from distortion and the enhanced now famous score by Riz Ortolani adds extra depth to the proceedings and to the overall depressing nature of the film itself.

Extra features include modern day interviews with cast and crew (further proving that they were not actually killed and eaten back in the jungle some 30 years ago) as well as film trailers and a reversible cover. The interviews actually provide some excellent background information on the making of the film although long time fans may struggle to find new information here.

All things considered, this Blu-ray officially marks the first of these Italian cannibal shockers to hit the HD format. Whether or not any subsequent movies in the genre will now see UK releases remains to be seen. With each film in the series attempting to outdo the former with added gore and sadly more animal cruelty, many of these titles would be highly unlikely to see an uncut release here. That being said, who back in the day would have thought that the most famous Video Nasty of them all would ever be available at your local entertainment store, albeit shorn of a few seconds?

With Grindhouse Releasing said to be working on a US Blu-ray which should feature both a fully uncut print as well as their prior animal friendly option, the choice to purchase the UK release or to simply wait a while is ultimately yours.

Times it seems have changed. With collectors having easy access to their favourite movies and the world being a vastly different place to the days of the Video Nasties scandal perhaps we have become desensitised to all but the most extreme movie violence. Well Cannibal Holocaust is certainly extreme and definitely not for all tastes however rightly or wrongly in modern times we at least have the choice and for long time followers of the genre, well as they say in the movie "I wonder who the real cannibals are?"

Blu Review Obscura - blu-ray reviews of less mainstream movies, find us at blureviewobscura.yolasite.com and have your say at our discussion group on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still disturbing, 19 Sep 2012
Cannibal Holocaust is still as disturbing now as it was 30 years ago. This isn't a movie for the faint hearted. Yes the animal killings were unnecesary but i'm a firm believer that censorship should take place before the film is shot, not afterwards.I don't like animal violence but would've rather have had the uncut version released. This new "2011 Deodato re-edit" basically addresses some of the directors and the publics concerns and exorcises some of this material. Why not all you say? well thats anyone's guess, but the BBFC have NOT cut all the animal violence out, most are redited with scratchy film inserts obscuring shots and lengthy scenes have now been trimmed down. The turtle's death is still on here as the BBFC class this as "slaughter", so it being a quick death is deemed ok. The Muskrat killing is gone coz the BBFC classifield this as unnecessary cruelty. I don't miss these scenes particularly, i've seen them on the Grindhouse U.S edition anyway.

The new blu ray print looks superb. You can actually now see what a well made film this actually is. Ruggero Deodato is a superb director.

There are 2 documentaries each running about 40 mins. One has various critics and academics discussing the controversry on the film, the other has interviews with director Deodato and star Carl Yorke. Both are worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is not uncut, 20 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Cannibal Holocaust [DVD] (DVD)
i thought i should take upon myself to clarify that this is NOT the uncut version of the film. Why 'MARKY77' has decided to claim that it is i dont know but he is very wrong. The film is avaliable uncut in the US, so buy the imported disc. I should mention that cannibal holocaust is still banned in its uncut version in this country, and will remain so most likely for ever due to our beloved BBFC's policies on obscene and depraved imagery in cinema.

For those that STILL refuse to except this obviously is not the uncut version, note that the this version is 86mins long and the US import is 96mins. Need anymore clues... Also another bonus to the special edition US disc, is that it has an added extra to allow for 'free animal cruelty' that removes the animal death scenes, something i personally appreciated after suffering the scenes once already back when i owned the original pre cert vhs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No word could possibly describe..., 16 July 2003
By A Customer
When I saw Cannibal Holocaust I was sickened and disgusted. I could see the point the Director was making- juxtaposition of the twisted savages from tribes' people to film-maker - but did it have to be so graphic?? Perhaps the shock factor helped to make it's point, but each scene became increasingly gory, until I began to wonder how much more shocking the film could get. Either the acting is some of the best I've ever seen, or the 'actors' really are absolutely terrified.
Make no mistake, this is NOT a film you can just turn off when you've finished watching and go to bed with your cup of cocoa. It is without doubt the most graphically disturbing film I've ever seen (and I've seen a few), and is only to be watched if you can distance any kind of emotion you may be feeling from what you are seeing. I still can't believe it's legal.
I've given the film 5 stars not because I enjoyed it or ever want to see it again, but because it fulfilled it's purpose - to make this film one of (in fact probably) the most emotionally challenging films you'll ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exploitation of high quality trash, 17 April 2011
Courting controversy even as it was made, all charges of murder in italy were dropped for the director Deodato & co. when the film originally came out & found its way to court. However, animal cruelty charges were made, 4 month suspended sentences for those concerned, it has been claimed. Deodato was declaimed as sadistic by his co-workers at the time but has since expressed regret, particularly for the animal suffering therein. He has expressed opinions on possibly toning down the suffering for other releases. Bearing in mind the film is banned in many countries merely acts as a cape to a bull, daring people to take on the shocking display like a toreador.

Its a well made, dare i say it, 'pseudo-mondo', bearing in mind that mondos often contained pseudo-footage themselves. Cannibal Holocaust bears all the hallmarks of cine-verite coupled to standard exploitation narrative of the time, making both styles stand out all the more when fused together with the editing techniques used here. It veers from ludicrous to very convincing in a heartbeat.

The result of having two versions of the film here, allows the usually highly opinionated individuals who are drawn to this genre of film, to appreciate two forms of thought when watching what is essentially exploitation as art. One where the fullest print possible is made available of significant archival importance and secondly a print that allows a larger proportion of viewers to watch a work/exercise without being bludgeoned with real suffering. This blur of filming techniques & the ratio of real to faked footage can be seen to detract from ones ability to distinguish 'truth' from 'fictional' footage, which gives the film such power. But it is also likely that this blurring makes a great many people glad Deodato didn't film even more 'suffering for art'. The mere idea of 'what is an entertaining film' is questioned by the very existence of Cannibal Holocaust. What here, with all the convincing pain & torment, is entertainment.

If you can ask this question and want, with a very open mind, to meet the challenge of this bruiser, bull of a film, i recommend entering the arena. If you take it all a little too seriously, then you may well come away from any controversy with more than a dusty cape or bloodshot eyes. This film, its detractors, and its resolute fans have very sharp horns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled!, 14 Feb 2005
By 
C. Lamb "clamb210" (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is not the "complete version" as it states on the cover! This DVD release is a little more complete than the last UK DVD release but it is still cut. All of the animal killings (which I found the most horrific) were cut and most of the rape scenes were cut. The movie as it stands on this release is still pretty shocking. A mans penis is cut off, a womans fetus is pulled out (I think this scene is slighty cut) and then she is beaten to death, a mans leg is cut off because he is bitten by a spider, a man is forced to eat human liver. Many of the violent scenes have been left in but it just does'nt compare to its full uncut version. The BBFC obviously does'nt think that us adults, here in the UK, are mature enough to see the complete version of this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DECIEVED, 4 Sep 2007
By 
Joćo Pedro Leal "JLeeDrums" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I feel like someone took something of me... Why is it not mentioned that this is not the full version of the movie? The 25th Anniversary edition was suposed to be the full version, Why is it like this? The parts that made the cult around this movie are simply not there... Shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'LL NEED A STRONG STOMACH, 27 Nov 2004
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Depending on your politics, this film either gets 1 star or the full 5. There really is no in between. It truly is the most disturbing movie I have ever seen and I have seen a lot of movies.
I tend to find reviews that give the story away too much rather annoying. However I feel it my duty to point out some scenes in this to save you from images that may stay with you for a long time. Therefore, do not read on if you don't want to know.
This film includes horror which is real. No vampires or ghosts, just a quasi-anthropological study of cannibals in the Amazon.
The plot is simple. It is a film of two halves. The first half shows a scientist looking for a film crew who have gone missing. The second half shows the crews fate through the eyes of their actual footage. It has been cited that there are similarities with Blair Witch. This is NO WAY like that student trash in any guise.
Here are some things you graphically see in Cannibal Holocaust:
1) A woman is raped by a huge phallus and then has a flint inserted into her before she is beaten to death.
2) A man has his penis cut off before he is completely mutilated.
3) A pregnant woman has her fetus pulled from her womb before she is brutally killed.
4) Children are forced to enter a burning hut where they are watched and filmed.
5) A man is forced to eat a human liver.
6) A woman is gang raped before her severed head is paraded around.
Also there are corpulous amounts of real life animal cruelty. A giant turtle is horrifically killed, a piglet shot in cold blood, a poor monkey has its brains cut out and a musk-rat is stabbed through the neck. This is real, so animal lovers and veggies beware.
These disturbing scenes are made even more so by the playing of genuinely lovely music.
Overall, the acting is terrible, the camera work shoddy and the plot predictable. I have given it 5 stars for the sheer nerve of the director, Ruggero Deodato. I will say that I am a strong anti-censorship believer. The watcher should have the choice, not some government official. However, I can fully see (and understand) why this movie was banned for so many years. At times it really does look like a snuff movie.
In a nut shell Cannibal Holocaust is Indiana Jones meets Delieverence meets Driller Killers meets Day of the Dead meets First Blood meets any documentary on National Geographic.
You have been warned of the content of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and a well made film; classic of the genre, 4 Feb 2008
By 
A. I. Missen "Arkady de-Lioncourte" (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I will skip the synopis as all viewers will be aware of the story. I watched this film in 1981 at a friends, just before it was listed as a video nasty; could not really remember, so was hesitant in purchasing a copy. The copy I ordered was NOT the one I had choosen, NOT from Amazon, but another retailer; Amazon I shall stay.

Well,............. I watched it all through, UNCUT version. What I liked about this version, was when a scene was due, which was cut from most versions, you had a animated little skull, with spear through it, to inform viewers that the next scene would normally have been deleted; viewers have a choice to view, or look away.

I cant understand why some reviewists have slammed the quality and special effects; remember, there was NO CGI until the 90s !! This is a B-Movie, so acting is a little wobbly at times; this was NOT an oscar nominated film.

The camera work was very good, scenery beautiful and viewing the second film reel was almost believable, and this was before Blair Witch. Cannibal Holocaust is FAR superior than Blair Witch, remember both were on low budgets.

Yes, plenty of gore to keep the real horror genre fans clued to the screen, watching the first reel, yes, there are flaws with the special effects, but hey, this is a low budget film, but, viewing the second reel ? scarred the hell out of me, I did not know whether I was watching a snuff film, as the filming and ` special effects' looked so reel, and the actors when being killed off, seemed to reel at times.

The only thing I was unhappy about, is the real life animal killings, I liked to scarred and thrilled with movies, BUT NOT !! at the expense of animals/wildlife. The only thing I will ask about this, were the animals consumed by the actors ? as budget was low. If they were, then my condonment loosen's slighty, but if they WERE killed, just to shock views, then please please do NOT use animals for killing in any film, just leave it to your geographical documentries.

Thought provoking, challenging, powerful and at times, shocking, but a classic in it's own right.

Those with delicate tummies, and dont like much blood in films, stay WELL CLEAR and leave for the fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cannibal Holocaust [DVD] [1980] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews