Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of Fun
I got PGR 3 in a bundle with my 360 and a few other games, and its pretty much all i've played on.

The Gamplay is generally very good, made better the choice of owning mutiple cars in a garage, and spending kudos (skill points) to unlock concept cars. But its the grpahics i'm interested in.

Considering this was a release game with the Xbox360, it...
Published on 14 Jan 2007 by Jordan.G

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where on earth are the...
...different weather effects. Err.. There are none, no rain. I used to enjoy driving over that wooden footbridge in the middle of hyde park or wherever it was in London on MSR (dreamcast) in the pouring rain.. A lot of things have been omitted, overlooked, or ignored. It's been rushed. It's a laugh on live, but as it's usually dodgems at the beginning, if...
Published on 30 Jan 2006 by Jonathon Hiller


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of Fun, 14 Jan 2007
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I got PGR 3 in a bundle with my 360 and a few other games, and its pretty much all i've played on.

The Gamplay is generally very good, made better the choice of owning mutiple cars in a garage, and spending kudos (skill points) to unlock concept cars. But its the grpahics i'm interested in.

Considering this was a release game with the Xbox360, it probably hasn't take full advantage of the hardware conpared to future games, but its superb. The cars look realistically shiny when driven in the day, the whole set of scenery on the maps are excellent, i can even notice a few buildings when driving through london. A couple of added 'enhancements' that make it better are things such as the overbright effect as you come out a dark tunnel, and high quality sparks that occur when I regulary hit the wall. I would reccomend this game to anyone looking for a realistic driving experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great...but not necessarily an improvement, 6 Dec 2005
By 
S. Roberts "sr" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I really loved the last pgr titles, and played them religiously. and therefore was looking forward to this game very much, and was the first one i picked up on friday when i got my 360. now, lets get one thing straight, this game looks amazing. absolutely brilliant. infact its single-handedly made me want to buy an HD-TV in order to experience it at an even higher resolution (quite a feat in under 5 hrs game time and an output of £500+!). The game is made extra special by lightning quick gameplay(helped by a completely jitter-free graphical experience), and seamless xbox live integration. The game features around about 80 cars, which contrary to what another reviewer said, is less cars than the other games. All of the cars hit (or just off) 170 mph, some, such as enzos and murcialagos go well into 200 mph. The gameplay feels more approachable than the first 2 PGRs, but not necessarily easier in the long run. However, this is a breeze compared to recent racing titles such as Forza motorsport, which i still consider to rise above PGR 3, in realism, features and customisation). The other bizarre games have all had entry level cars (eg. minis, seat leons etc.) and you had to master these cars before being let loose on the more powerful ones. and this is where i really think the developer has lost the plot somewhat. everythings fast, very fast, so you begin to not appreciate how fast you're going without the contrast. I hope PGR4 brings back the old cars, or perhaps you can download a few on the fantastic live market-place.
CONCLUSION - a must have for all racing fans: gorgeous, fast, ingenious multiplayer. its got it all. just dont expect it to be forza or Gran turismo in terms of variety of cars. PGR 3 only has one trump card(very fast), but it plays it so damn well that you won't care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT LAUNCH TITLE., 4 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
PGR 3 is a fantastic racing game. The graphics are sublime & the variety of cars on offer is very alluring & makes the game highly addictive. & the handling of each car is different as you would expect. I have read some reviews on the in car view in the game, & I have to agree, its AMAZING. The detail of the car interior & the sense of speed really is astonishing.

This was a launch game for the XBOX 360, & I intend to keep this game permanently in my collection, it is THAT good.

If you love fast cars in real life, or if ( like me) you only like them to appear in video games, get this. It's fantastic !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the 360's Best Racing Games!, 20 Aug 2007
By 
Stephen Moss "arden01" (Warrington, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
PGR 3 is in my opinion one of the best racing games on the X Box 360 console. At first when I first bought it, I thought PGR3 would be average at best due it's low price tag, but after playing it for the first time for just half an hour, I quickly realised this definatley wasn't the case at all. Putting it simply, I loved it.
There are different game modes in PGR3 to choose from. You can do a solo career which is consists of 23 different locations, each of which have a selection of events included in each location. Each of the events differ from street races, overtaking a select number of cars within a time limit, timed races, one to one races and cone challenges where you have to race between cones on the track and use drifting to achieve a high score.
The races themselves are fairly long, especially on higher difficulty levels. There are 4 difficulty levels, these are bronze, silver, gold and platinum. I advise, especially if your new to the game, you start playing for the bronze medels first. I completed the solo career mode at bronze difficulty in 2 days and for doing this you will of course gain a very nice gamerscore. After you complete the bronze difficulty level, you can then start the game at silver level and work your way up to platinum level from there.
The other game mode is online career which if you have xbox live you can race against people online which is tough but very enjoyable and fun.
What I love about this game is each race is different from the last. The variety in the gameplay is fantastic and keeps you hooked as well.
Overall this is a great game and I recomend it to anyone. If you can't afford to get Forza 2 or Colin McCrea DIRT, invest in PGR3 you won't be disapointed. For the price, it is definately worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Project Gotham Racing Is Back, 14 Sep 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Project Gotham Racing 3 is a brilliant racing game for the xbox 360.It has good driving sterring its got fantastic graphics and you get a load of selction of cars to chosse from and levels like Tokyo or New York but theres loads more to choose.This was the 1st game i got for the xbox 360 and i think you should get this game first if you are a car racing game fan.Brilliant Racing game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST DRIVING GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED, 3 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
firstly, WOW!

you can have a full look around the inside of your car (or outside of it depending on your view) and you can even see the mirrors in your car (they get broken up and smashed imparing the view if u crash alot) and also you can see your hands on the steering wheel and all the speedos and the tachometer

you can take live pictures when racing, and use some of the effects to enchance the photo, then save it...

you can watch players from all around the world racing on the champions channel

you can even tell the game where your speakers are, in relation to you, for maximum surround sound

then take the game onto XBL where the amazing graphics and the awsome gameplay just get better as you race people in all sorts of cars in all sorts of conditions.

you can have as many garages as you need for all your cars (you can walk around the garages and play on arcade machines)

and even download new cars and other bonus features from XBL

i must say, this is one of the best games i have ever seen, and it is certainly one for you to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ++++++ Simply the best driving game EVER, 16 Feb 2006
By 
SWAY (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you are remotely interested in racing games or simply just the cars, then you will adore this game. Both the exotic array of cars and extensive maps have been recreated in breathtaking realism.
I have had the fortune of driving some of the cars in this game, such as the Ferrari 360 and Skyline GTR, and believe me they have the looks (both interior and exterior) and the sounds matched perfectly. Every car produces it's own unique sound identical to the real thing and this alters depending where the camera is around the car. Some cars produce more noise inside the cockpit, others produce more from the exhausts. You can even hear the whistling of the turbos inside the cars that have them.
The handling and performance is also extremely realistic, with just the right balance of skill required to master each class of car and map.
Surround sound is awesome with this - if you see a car in your rear view mirror, then you will also hear that car behind you. Go inside the cockpit and if it's a rear engined car, the engine noise comes from behind - AMAZING!
The game also has long-lasting appeal with split screen playability, a plentiful selection of challenging single player games as well as the excellent XBox Live to take on the world.
This is quite simply a must buy for anyone with an XBox 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Xbox 360 saviour., 5 Jan 2007
By 
Mr. D. Bell "Dan Bell" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was always going to buy a PS3 so I could play the next version of Gran Turismo in glorious HD. I then heard the price of the console and thought "that's a hell of a lot for something I won't use for anything other than games". I then heard that Gran Tursimo 5 will be virtually the same game just with more cars on the track at once, and obviously much improved graphics. This time I thought "what a con!" I therefore defected to the arch enemy of the Xbox 360. My hopes of driving game heaven now rested on Project Gotham Racing 3 and I am pleased to announce "goodbye Gran Turismo". This game is astonishing. The detail on the cars is fantastic inside and out. The graphics and frame rate is so smooth and there are no annoying flickers or jumps. (You only have to play need for speed most wanted for 10 minutes to wonder how they made PGR3 so flawless). The game is simple to get started, unlike Gran Turismo which seems to take half of your life away before you are allowed to drive a car. I hated having driving lessons in real life and hated even more having to do them on a game before I was allowed to drive a fast car. Car handling in PGR3 is excellent and there is real sense of speed in all of the cars. In fact, put it on the "in car view" and if you look really closely in your rear view mirror you can just about see Gran Turismo disappearing into the distance! I could go on but I think you probably get just how good this game is by now. An essential purchase for all lovers of car games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS 5star NOT 1!, 1 Oct 2006
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Im only writing as a response to the 1star reviewers for this game. If you like holding down a button for three minutes and turning left and right - then go and buy burnout and stop complaining that project gotham is a bad game. IT IS AMAZING - realistic handling, graphics, sound and authentic cars and tracks ..everything a car game could need. Also this game has four different setings EASY MEDIUM HARD AND HARDCORE - endless of hours of gameplay in hard and hardcore as you have to master all corners of the track and finish the race with no mistakes, the AI is unforgiving and you WILL lose if you make just one error, yet i still go back for more everyday off and online. AWESOME GAME !! on and offline. Xbox Live Users, add TX Prophecy for a race on it!!:) :) :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 7 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is unbelieveable to play. I got a 360 a month ago and got kameo with it (a good game) and I thought that it was as good as the 360 games were, fortunatly I was wrong as I got PGR3 after playing it in a demo pod. The graphics are amazing and so is the sound so the only reason for not liking this game is the handling. It takes some geting used to but once you've mastered it the game gets even better.
The game does have it's faults of course, but they are few. There are hardly any weather effects (if that matters to you), but it is also can be hard to see a corner coming as the game is so fast- you might not have this problem with a larger TV though as my TV is 15inches and isn't in HD and it still looks fantastic.
My advice is that you should get this game, but try a demo on one of the pods that are in the stores in case you hate the handling too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360)
Project Gotham Racing 3 (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews