Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (264)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


390 of 394 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Sound of Music!
This DVD is exactly what it says it is. It's the full version of Sound of Music on a single DVD. There are precious few of the usual DVD baggage extras that you will find on the 2 Disc version.

If you are buying this because you love the songs/music then there are 2 special features that you will love.

1. There is an option to just play the songs and...
Published on 7 April 2006 by Richard Kelly

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor box set quality
I have nothing against the film, Only against the poor quality of the actual box.
The bonus stuff is truly great: The big book is awesome. The same goes for the pictures, Souvenir Book and music box (although it could have been better as previously mentioned).

My main complaint regards the poor material used for the gift set itself. If you look closely...
Published on 22 Nov 2010 by Lior Blumshtein


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My six year old daughter loves it, 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My six year old daughter loves it and can sing every song. Julie Andrews is stunning to hear and easy on eyes but the story and music ... well, it's a taste, isn't it? At least the values put forward are reasonable. Good price and it's made her very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hills ARE alive, 9 Aug 2004
I grew up with this film, so it was inevitable that I would buy it on DVD, and it doesn't dissapoint. The picture quality is superb, the sound even better, and you can always make your own kareoke version by putting the subtitles on!
I never knew that there was an intermission in the film - with all the advert breaks on the tv version I suppose you wouldn't have to, but the DVD includes this, and extended scenes of the Austrian scenery, making you believe that you are truly there, with the VonTrap family as they fight off repression from the Nazi's.
If like me you watched this film as a child, I suggest you get the DVD, not only will it bring back memories of singing in front of the tele regardless of who was there, but it will also recreate the magic that is somewhat lacking from films today. A classic of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This classic can still run!, 23 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must admit I'm not a huge Sound of Music fan, but my wife and children absolutely love it. She got this as a Christmas present and despite having watched it quite a few times on DVD, they couldn't believe quite how much extra the bluray added to the experience.

There is very little to be said about the film - a great feel-good love triumphs all romp, with the Nazis as the bad guys and Maria's angst between her calling as a nun and her love for the Von Trapp children and their father. One of the best loved and most watched films ever.

Picture Quality - this is right up there with anything else that bluray can offer. The scenery is stunning, the colours are vibrant, you can almost smell the alpine air! One part of the film centres on Maria wearing a dowdy dress - that even the poor people didn't want. We really appreciated that much more because of the detail shown up in High Definition. The film is presented in 2.20:1 format, so you still get some black bars at the top and bottom of the screen, but that is how it should be, and certainly didn't detract from the experience for us.

Audio Quality - well a film about music, with such a well recognised sound track, absolutely has to get the sound right - and it does. Again there were things audible here that never were on DVD, watch out particularly for the nuns singing in the Abbey. The dialogue is a big issue for me. I don't like muffled speech and having to change the volume, but there were no worries here because we didn't have to. The top track is a 7:1 DTS soundtrack that has really treated the source material with respect.

Extras - This film comes with a feast of extras, as befits its iconic status. We haven't looked at all of them - in fact it would take quite a while to do them justice, but the ones we have looked at were all very well done and very well presented. You could quite easily lose yourself for several hours here.

So in summary a very easy decision - no doubt at all that it deserves 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfull!!!, 23 Oct 2011
By 
E. V. Maraver (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The movie is a classic and is wonderfull as always has!! But this edition it's better because the image quality is very good! The first scene of Saltsburgh and the mountains is so pretty and the quality is as good as the movies nowadays. The sound is excellent too. I enjoyed very much and give as a present to my little nephews. The package arrive very soon, thank you amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD - Everyone loved it, 12 Jan 2010
DVD arrived in great time - although we had been warned it may not arrive in time for Christmas it did! Thank you. This is a classic family film and has lost none of it's appeal, the children loved the songs and singing along to them. Great fun and very good quality item. Thank you Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of cinema's most enduring family classics., 6 Mar 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
What can one say about a film that now, as it gears towards its next anniversary of a 50th birthday, is loved and adored by so many? It feels, to me at least, kind of redundant trying to even write a review of it now. So really I just want to say that as a mid-forties cinema loving man I revisited the film recently for the first time in about 15 years and found it still had a magical kind of hold over me. Yes I still think it's too long, but ask me what I would cut out of the film and I'm at a bit of a loss to answer.

Over the last thirty years or so it has become something of a focal point for parody, somewhat diminishing the actual film's first time appeal. Then there are the charges of it being hackneyed, but they are misplaced and very unfair for The Sound Of Music is an ode to life and music, nothing remotely hackneyed there me thinks. Bookended by stunning Salzburg scenery {seriously the opening helicopter sequence is breath taking}, the rest in between is a series of brilliant set pieces and some unforgettable Rodgers & Hammerstein tunes. Led by Julie Andrews & Christoher Plummer, the cast delight throughout. Yes, not everyone is note perfect, but it's a moot point really. As a guy it's at the one hour ten mark where I get something to hang my coat upon, from there on in the Von Trapp family, and their gorgeous governess, have me hook, line & sinker. The Sound Of Music, one of the greatest screen musicals ever. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 18 Sep 2011
Arrived earlier than promised and as it said on the advert contained the film as was expected and the condition was as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 20 Aug 2010
By 
P. Williams (Chester, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fab for just watching all the way through but the option to sing-a-long too or just select one song is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 years on and they're still alive with the sound of music, 6 Aug 2006
This review is from: The Sound Of Music [2 Disc 40th Anniversary Collector's Edition] [1965] [DVD] (DVD)
Maria and the Von Trapp children still sound good after all these years. There can hardly be a person on the planet who either owns a television or lives within 20 miles of a cinema and who doesn't know the story of The Sound of Music. Although I haven't been a fan of musicals until quite recently, I did watch and enjoy this film when I was a child, several decades ago. It's great fun and I can quite understand its popularity. Watching it again was lovely and very nostalgic. The restoration people have made a fine job so that the picture and sound quality are excellent. The special features are a considerable bonus and there's a long list of them as you can see from Amazon's 'Product Details' section above. The item on disc 2 that I found especially interesting was the 'Biography' programme about the real Von Trapp family. The real Maria was an astonishing character and far more complicated than the film version. It seems that she had an absolutely hellish childhood and the horror of it furnished her with a couple of darker facets to her personality than might be guessed from a familiarity with the film version of Maria - which all just adds to the fascination of the Von Trapp story.

If you haven't seen the film or haven't watched it for some years, give yourself a treat: watch it and get soppy, sentimental and uplifted ... and have a bit of a sing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julie Andrews at her very best, 3 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This 1968 movie is set in 'The last Golden days of the 1930's' before the 2nd world war.In her role that made her an international superstar, Julie andrews plays out-spoken trainee nun Maria,who is sent to be a Nanny for over-strict Captain Vonn Trapp's (interpreted brilliantly by Christopher Plummer) seven children. After many events which I wont spoil for new viewers,Maria realises she's in love with the captain, as he's about to be married, and more importantly Austria is about to be invaded by Nazis.
There aren't that many DVD extras, which is disapointing, but there is a great photo gallery of scenes from the movie and a snippet from the ITV documentary 'The Sound Of Music Children', as well as independant interviews with Julie Andrews, Eleanor Barker (the baroness) and Christopher Plummer.Multi-talented Charmaine Carr ( who plays troubled sixteen-going-on-seventeen Liesl in the film) talks about why she never persued her singing career, and Kym Karath (who plays captain Vonn-Trapps youngest daughter Gretl)talks about her acting career and recent projects. Of course the sound and colour quality is better, which makes the film even more of a treat to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8cdda98)

This product

Only search this product's reviews