Customer Reviews


456 Reviews
5 star:
 (380)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


402 of 408 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Sound of Music!
This DVD is exactly what it says it is. It's the full version of Sound of Music on a single DVD. There are precious few of the usual DVD baggage extras that you will find on the 2 Disc version.

If you are buying this because you love the songs/music then there are 2 special features that you will love.

1. There is an option to just play the songs and...
Published on 7 April 2006 by Richard Kelly

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great film but poor box set quality
I have nothing against the film, Only against the poor quality of the actual box.
The bonus stuff is truly great: The big book is awesome. The same goes for the pictures, Souvenir Book and music box (although it could have been better as previously mentioned).

My main complaint regards the poor material used for the gift set itself. If you look closely...
Published on 22 Nov 2010 by Lior Blumshtein


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

402 of 408 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the Sound of Music!, 7 April 2006
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD is exactly what it says it is. It's the full version of Sound of Music on a single DVD. There are precious few of the usual DVD baggage extras that you will find on the 2 Disc version.

If you are buying this because you love the songs/music then there are 2 special features that you will love.

1. There is an option to just play the songs and that is exactly what it says it is. The DVD runs throught all the songs in the order that they are one the film, or you can just select your favourites from the list.

2. The sing along option, which is just like the one above, but with (for want of a better phrase) subtitles so you can sing along.

If you don't select the sing along mode in the main menu of the DVD then it simply plays the film for you!

This is the edition that you want if you love the music and don't want to watch tedious "The making of..." documentaries on disc 2 that you would probably never watch.

My wife and daughter love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


230 of 234 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless classic - digitally remastered!, 1 Aug 2006
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sound Of Music [2 Disc 40th Anniversary Collector's Edition] [1965] [DVD] (DVD)
The Sound of Music needs no introduction but this 40th anniversary DVD might do. If you are like me and you probably own quite a few DVDs and videos of the Sound of Music, the obvious question will be `why should I buy this new version?' Well this new version has been digitally remastered for starters and has 2 discs packed with special features. The 1st disc is introduced by Julie Andrews and contains the movie which can be viewed with or without sing-along subtitles, then it has as special features which include feature commentary by the director Robert Wise, feature commentary by Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Charmian Carr, Dee Dee Wood and Johannes von Trapp and songs only chapter list i.e if you want to listen to any of the songs you can just click on that song from the chapter list and voila it plays without having to forward or rewind the movie to find the song. The second disc is even more awesome. Once again introduced by Julie Andrews, introducing all the special features which includes: My favourite things -Julie Andrews remembers in which she recalls her fond memories of the making of the sound of music; there is the 40TH anniversary reunion of the 7 Von Trapp children from the movie( from Liesl to Gretel), they discuss their favourite memories and what they are all doing now; there is the moving and beautiful reminiscence by Julie Andrews and Christopher Plummer, also included in the special features is a 50 minute biography of the real Von Trapp family, a featurette of Charmian Carr returning to Salzburg for the 40th anniversary, a documentary on the making of the sound of music with Julie Andrews and lots more.

Last but not the least a booklet of all the songs and the lyrics for the sing-along are included in the DVD. This is a great DVD to own for all lovers and fans of the Sound of Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Sound, Picture and Film. Stunning, 10 Nov 2010
The film looks just beautiful,this Blu-ray edition is simply the best the film has ever looked on disc. For the Blu-ray the makers went back to the original negative, which was too damaged to use previously, using new restoration techniques. The detail in the picture is just amazing, it's a whole new experience. The sound restoration is remarkable, it's deep and rich and full. Fox have really gone to town with the extras not only do we get all the extras from previous editions but a host of new and rare items to make an astonishing collection. This is one of the best Blu-ray editions yet of any film.
The Sound of Music has always been a superlative film. Every aspect of the film works. The locations, the music, the script the direction and the acting all came together at just the right time to create this film. The jewel in the crown is Julie Andrews, one of the greatest musical performances ever.
A magnificent film presented in a breathtaking edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is brilliant!, 26 May 2009
By 
M. Line (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exactly what it says on the box. My daughter loves this movie (I suspect only for the singing and dancing), that's why it's fantastic when you can play just the songs one after the other. As she is 3 there are alot of questions when there is only dialogue. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A restored version & mondo extras of the best movie musical, 16 Dec 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Sound Of Music [2 Disc 40th Anniversary Collector's Edition] [1965] [DVD] (DVD)
As far as I am concerned there are two reasons to pick up "The Sound of Music (40th Anniversary Edition)" DVD is you already have the movie on DVD. First, the movie has been digitally restored and if you look at the examples of the restoration on Disc 2 where they the right half of the frame has been cleaned up you can see that they really got the red out (seriously; the old version does not look so much washed out as it does rather reddish to me). Consequently, the movie looks a lot better. The change is not as thrilling as when I got to first see it in the letterbox format at home on the laser disc version and realized that on pan and scan we were missing literally half the picture (my kids still remember the shot where they could finally see the massive fountain on the left half of the scren), but if you really love this movie then you want a copy of the new print because the difference is so noticeable.
Second, if the first reason is not strong enough, they have loaded up on extras for this DVD. You have a commentary track by the late director Robert Wise and another with Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Charmian Carr, choreographer Dee Dee Wood, and Johannes Von Trapp (the 10th and last of the Von Trapp kinder). If you think listening to songs on the DVD is better than listening on the CD (I often find that to be the case), then you can play only the songs or play the songs with sing-a-long subtitles in three languages. I especially liked the retrospective documentary "A Few of My Favorite Things" because it talks about the way the Broadway musical was turned into a Hollywood film by shifting songs and setting them up differently (see below). The reminiscence by Andrews and Plummer is worthwhile as well and the "Biography" episode "The Von Trapp Family: Harmony and Discord" will certainly open your eyes to the "true" story behind it all.
Watching the film again and learning about how the film was created from all of the DVD extras got me thinking about why this is the most popular movie musical of all time. The first thing that works is that Robert Wise frontloads this movie big time. We begin with the wonderful descent of the camera from the clouds until it finds Maria on top of the mountain, where she bursts into the title song and makes it clear that the beautiful vistas of Austria are integral to this film (it did for Salzburg, Austria what "The Lord of the Rings" did for New Zealand). After the overture during the title credits we have the "Preludium (Dixit Dominus)," during which Wise presents us with some stunningly beautiful shots of nuns at prayer, establishing weight to the religious elements of the film. Then when we get to "Maria" the Mother Superior and the rest of the nuns strike absolutely the right tone for singing a cute song while dressed in habits. There is not a moment in this film where Peggy Wood's Mother Superior does not seem like an absolutely real person. By the time Maria runs past them and does the big double take at having been caught, the film's first big joke, Wise has already established an extremely serious tone for a movie musical.
What impresses me about this film is that if you take out the songs I think it still works as a drama and the only reason Julie Andrews did not win an Oscar for the best thing she ever did on film was that she had won the year before for playing the title role in the Dick Van Dyke film "Mary Poppins" (you have to be Katharine Hepburn not to overcome this sort of liability). The only musical number that is in danger of going too far is the new "I Have Confidence," but that is because Andrews plays it as bluster on Maria's part (e.g., the stumble on the last run). Once we get past the opening of the movie where Wise so beautifully sets the stage for the film, the person who deserves a lot of the credit is screenwriter Ernest Lehman. Pay attention to how he sets up the songs so that the seque from dialogue to singing is more naturalistic ("My Favorite Things" is a prime example of this in the film). Lehman's script also turned the Captain into a more of a fully developed human being than the martinet of the Broadway version.
Of course, if you have seen the show performed on stage you know that some of the songs have been put in different contexts. For example, "My Favorite Things" was originally sung by Maria and the Mother Superior on stage and now becomes the song Maria sings with the kids to establish a report with them instead of "Do Re Mi." That, of course, becomes the show piece of the film as Maria and the children tour Salzburg and the countryside singing, which gets us back to the wonderful scenery that Wise highlights from the opening moment of the film. There are few Broadway musicals that have been transformed rather than ending up being merely translated when they are brought to the screen. Some take advantage of more locations (e.g., "Camelot," "Evita"), but all things considered no musical has been upgraded on the big screen as much as "The Sound of Music," which is why it remains on the top of the mountain forty years down the road.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family movies, 19 Sep 2011
Perfect buy, this musical still moves me like it did over 20 years ago. I so wanted my children to watch it and indeed they fell in love with it. My two years old son can sing almost all the songs and he's only watched it twice. Recommended for all age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!!!, 29 April 2011
By 
Dries (South Africa) - See all my reviews
Totally unbelievable. The sound is brilliant. I don't think that it can be better. This is perfect, bouth sound and vision. It's like the movie was made yesterday. You can almost touch Maria signing on the hills. The landscapes are fantastic. I really enjoyed it. Will watch it over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My six year old daughter loves it, 5 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My six year old daughter loves it and can sing every song. Julie Andrews is stunning to hear and easy on eyes but the story and music ... well, it's a taste, isn't it? At least the values put forward are reasonable. Good price and it's made her very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hills ARE alive, 9 Aug 2004
I grew up with this film, so it was inevitable that I would buy it on DVD, and it doesn't dissapoint. The picture quality is superb, the sound even better, and you can always make your own kareoke version by putting the subtitles on!
I never knew that there was an intermission in the film - with all the advert breaks on the tv version I suppose you wouldn't have to, but the DVD includes this, and extended scenes of the Austrian scenery, making you believe that you are truly there, with the VonTrap family as they fight off repression from the Nazi's.
If like me you watched this film as a child, I suggest you get the DVD, not only will it bring back memories of singing in front of the tele regardless of who was there, but it will also recreate the magic that is somewhat lacking from films today. A classic of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Oi'll give it Foive"..., 12 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Still pure entertainment after nearly fifty years, this bluray is accompanied by numerous extras and features and for just under a tenner at the curent Amazon price is surely a must-have for any movie buffs collection.
The restored picture and sound are excellent, as has been said by others, and although many will have seen this film numerous times, bluray technology has added lots of features which allow dipping in and out of favourite scenes.
Without giving too much away (unlike the lady in the cinema queue for "Titanic" who was telling everybody "It sank..." ) most if not all of the exterior scenes also showcase the Austrian countryside, which the bluray transfer also shows to great effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews