Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


478 of 484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value for money
Quite simply, a stunning collection of some of the finest nature documentaries ever produced. Breathtaking footage, combined with Sir David's contagious enthusiasm for the natural world make for wonderful viewing indeed. Superlatives can't describe it well enough; you owe it to yourself to give it a look!

All you need add to your collection is The Blue Planet,...
Published on 19 Nov 2006 by Just Another User

versus
55 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor quality recordings for BBC DVD's
There is no doubt that this is great value for money having bought the Life Collection as a Christmas present for our children, BUT the quality of recordings on the copy we received does not do justice to the subject matter. We are using a good quality DVD player with HDMI and the quality of this collection is really quite poor and grainy for DVD discs. For example we...
Published on 20 Mar 2010 by Bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

478 of 484 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable value for money, 19 Nov 2006
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Quite simply, a stunning collection of some of the finest nature documentaries ever produced. Breathtaking footage, combined with Sir David's contagious enthusiasm for the natural world make for wonderful viewing indeed. Superlatives can't describe it well enough; you owe it to yourself to give it a look!

All you need add to your collection is The Blue Planet, the upcoming DVD release of Planet Earth, Life in Cold Blood (due in 2008), and a few other miscellaneous Attenborough works, and you will have a collection to be very proud of and treasure.

Whilst it is impossible to do the series justice in this way, here's a brief rundown of what you get:

Life in the Undergrowth - Focuses on the tiny creatures that are very close to us at all times, yet are often overlooked - insects.

The Private Life of Plants - Explores the wonders of the plant world.

The Living Planet - In this author's humble opinion, possibly the very best work in The Life Collection. The Living Planet goes into great detail about the many different environments on Earth and the life that can be found within. Hot and cold. From the lush rainforests to the most barren deserts. Magnificent.

Life on Earth - A broad view of life on Earth, from it's beginnings to the present.

The Life of Birds - As the name implies, it's an exploration of the world of Birds.

Trials of Life - A rather different focus than the other series; Trials of Life focuses on the various stages of life, from Birth to Death.

Life in the Freezer - A wonderful set of documentaries focusing on life in the coldest and most isolated parts of the world - namely the Poles.

The Life of Mammals - Explores the very varied world of mammals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


135 of 138 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough box set, 17 April 2007
By 
P. Brooks "The Rasp" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I'll keep it brief- If you are interested in the subject matter, you will be absolutely rivetted. If not, you will find yourself captivated anyway ! David Attenborough presents a wonderful outlook on life throughout the series,harsh sometimes, but nevertheless true. If you cannot afford to take your kids to these exotic places to learn about animals in all their forms, FOR ONCE, SIT THEM IN FRONT OF THE T.V.! This is money invested for your ankle-biters. I own all the series in separate forms, and my [...]loves the sea ones best! Look at the separate series if your'e not sure, but you wont regret it. Top Viewing and better than "reality tv" any day of the week. pete, The uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing..., 13 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
I cannot praise David Attenborough and his team(s) of researchers, photographers and cameramen enough for their work in creating these wonderful documentaries.
Each one is stunningly shot, edited and produced with some of the best narrations ever to grace our screens...
These shows have enriched my life and my understanding of the world we live in since I started watching as a child. And now I can own them on DVD, ^_^
(and so can you. trust me, it's worth the money.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great gift from BBC, not only for UK audience..., 22 Sep 2007
By 
Poli Alessandro (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is one of the best dvd set I've bought so far... It includes most of the documentaries of one of the greatest English broadcaster. The image quality is quite good, considering that some of the material is nearly 30 years old. A suggestion for potential Italian buyers: the series is subtitled and Sir Attenborough speaks with a perfect classical British pronunciation that everyone can easily understand, even if he/she is non native English speaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recipe for an astounding treat, 23 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Take one top television presenter, with decades of experience; add one great all-round naturalist; mix with one very charming man; and you now have the icing for your cake - David Attenborough. This ingredient, however great, is not enough on its own. To make this cake the greatest wildlife treat you will ever experience without leaving your home, you need to mix the best team of natural history camera operators with top quality sound recordists, a great production and editing team, and the BBC's unique quality-led, not-for-profit philosophy, and the recipe is ready to put onto DVD. Of course, you will find that you cannot better the product already produced to this recipe. If you can afford it, buy this set. While the daylight is long and the weather fair, go out and experience your local wildlife first-hand, but when the nights are long and cold, be taken to every corner of the world by this extraordinary series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunningly beautiful!, 15 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This Boxset is a treasure, I'm so glad I now have all the series at hand! I watched them and marvelled as a kid, and now I watch them parallel to reading Stephen Jay Gould's books, and I'm surprised at how much I learn! You can view these series over and over again, at every age, the wonder never fades: so this makes it really value for money.
Only drawback: I run these DVDs so often, I'm afraid my laptop will go on strike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect, 29 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
As you might expect, this boxed collection contains a phenomenal amount of material filmed over four decades. No other broadcasting organisation in the world has ever undertaken natural history projects on the scale as the BBC with the Life series.

The post mid-1990's, have considerably improved photography in terms of clarity and detail, as well as improvements in pioneering techniques, such as time lapse. Also, the special effects in the later series actually aid in grasping concepts such as generating a skeleton from fossils - and then imagining how the animal itself may have looked from the skeleton. The effects help rather than take the limelight away from the subject.

So why am I giving just 4 stars to this boxed set instead of 5 ? Because I think the first two series - Life on Earth and The Living Planet should have been digitally remastered. Life on Earth in particular suffers poor quality. There is a green colour cast, haze and softness in all the episodes. These could have been removed by adjusting the white balance, applying a clarity tool, adding a little colour saturation and sharpening up. This would have really improved the image quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Ismael Hernandez "Bookwyrm" (Illinois U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This has rapidly become one of the most enlightening and enjoyable purchases I have ever made.

I had owned some of the Trials of Life episodes and had always wanted the whole collection in DVD format. As far as I know these are not offered in the U.S.A. So when I found this collection I was ecstatic. I love anything with Sir David Attenborough and to have the whole Trials of Life collection I would have paid at least a hundred dollars, then I saw this. It has, not only trials of Life, but the entire Life Series including the great Life on Earth! I bought it instantly.

This is definitely worth the money. You get 24 discs, all great quality and a good looking case!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A teachers best friend, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. Kevin W. Boardman "boarders" (Mildenhall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
Faced with 2 weeks of teaching part classes and bits of classes cobbled together to make a whole one - this DVD set came to the rescue. Fascinating stuff - the older programmes stand the test of time but the camera work on the newer ones - especially the insects - are stunning. It kept evryone quiet for the 2 weeks. David Attenborough - the best supply teacher I have ever met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE Wonder of the World, 30 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. A. C. Gilbert "thegilb" (Chatel sur Rolle, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
The final two pages in Richard Dawkins' brilliant The Ancestor's Tale talk about the sheer wonder when contemplating the solutions which organisms have found to cope with their elemental need for life, and the way in which they have adapted to survive, to endure and to thrive over billions of years. These 24 dvds, commented with inimitable panache by one of our great national icons, show you the result, in fascinating and dare I say loving detail.
I can hardly think of a better pick-me-up for when you're feeling down; I can hardly imagine a better case for environmental concern and protection, and I can hardly contemplate how these series could have been made better. It is simply thrilling to listen to the high-quality commentary while witnessing (in ever-improving quality as technology develops through the making of the different series) the sheer beauty of nature - red in tooth and claw perhaps, but also vibrant, creative, colourful and humbling.
The outlay may be over £100 but that works out at £4 per dvd - quite excellent value for hours of enjoyment and fascination for you and your family (my small kids, who never had the chance to see these series on TV, are fascinated and intrigued). Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

The Life Collection: David Attenborough (24 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD] [1990]
42.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews