Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Russian exports, fact.
'All About Us' is the first single to be lifted from 'Dangerous & Moving'. As you've probably heard, it's a track which expands on the sound of the debut album. It has the rhythmical feel of 'All The Things She Said' with a more immense sound. It is synths, strings and drums galore creating a perfect balance on the borders of pop and rock. The chorus is unbelievably...
Published on 20 Sept. 2005 by d888888888

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really dangerous, but certainly moving at times
Ok, first you need not to forget what this is all about: a joyously dark return to the bleep world of the 80s, tainted by exotic russian accents and a bit of manga culture (those who really know will notice). Those girls do not constitute my favourite type of music, but i try to take them as they are, and though they most obviously make use of very intelligent commercial...
Published on 9 Nov. 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest Russian exports, fact., 20 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Dangerous & Moving (Audio CD)
'All About Us' is the first single to be lifted from 'Dangerous & Moving'. As you've probably heard, it's a track which expands on the sound of the debut album. It has the rhythmical feel of 'All The Things She Said' with a more immense sound. It is synths, strings and drums galore creating a perfect balance on the borders of pop and rock. The chorus is unbelievably infectious which does result in you singing along, even though the notes are impossible to reach. The orchestral sound which features heavily in this album is a prominent part of this songs appeal. The girls voices have definitely matured and aren't as harsh as some said they were on the first album. Expect big things from this single!
'Cosmos' calms your fears that this album may not be as perfect as the first single suggests. This album is even better than the first single suggests! 'Cosmos' is a raw, drum packed rock track. It is rock; it's dark and moving and burst into musical flames when the chorus starts. The lyrics are a bit wacky, but that just makes the song more interesting. The russian accents create a James Bond-esque feel. A potential single and future film soundtrack.
'Loves Me Not' grabs you in the first few seconds. Yulia's vocals are sweet and addictive and lure you into the dreamlike sounds of the first verses. But the chorus definitely packs a punch, a huge contrast with the delicate disposition of the verses. Another track which must be a single!
'Friend or Foe' features Sting on bass. It is quite 80s sounding and has definitely been influenced by Stings past work, only with one of the big catchy choruses that are now synonymous with the girls. The guitar solo, performed by the man himself, is the high point of this track.
'Gomenesai' means sorry in Japanese. It is rumoured that this track was made as an apology to Japan after t.A.T.u.'s behaviour during a promotional tour in 2003. However the song is metaphorical in that the lyrics speak about losing a friend and not being able to say you're sorry. The string arrangements are by Richard Carpenter and they are simply magnificent. The girls were very lucky to have such great collaborators because they really bring something special to the album.
The presence of Trevor Horn on 'Craving' is evident. The vocals are perfectly presented and the sound is rich and powerful. However, the lyrics do sound like they are written by one of the Russian cohorts. The intro for the track is perhaps the most unique sounding on the album. The use of wind pipes makes it sound like the opening sequence of a 1960s British film set on the Yorkshire Moors. Or something similar.
One of the things t.A.T.u. do best on this album are the instrumental breakdowns. When 'Craving' hits the two minute mark the music becomes pure heaven, in synth and strings form. This song touches on a new sound for the girls and further demonstrates their musical progression.
'Sacrifice' has a very Sting-esque guitar opening and might fool a few unknowing individuals to think this is the track he worked on. It is similar to 'All About Us' in that it's not quite rock, but it's definately not pop.
'We Shout' is an English version of a Russian track called 'Nichya'. It is an atmospheric ballad with lyrics which seem to hint at the troublesome relationship t.A.T.u. had with their former producer. It is very beautiful sounding with a dark, haunting chorus.
'Perfect Enemy' further builds on the sound from the debut album. It is enigmatic and yearning with its shimmering computer synths and monotone, robotic vocals.
Yes 'Obezyanka Nol' is a Russian track but don't let that put you off. The girls sing with such emotion that you get an understanding of the poetic nature of the Russian words even though you probably don't speak the language. The chorus is especially impressive, Yulia sings with a strength and passion that is completely mesmerising. A definite stand out track.
The title track 'Dangerous & Moving' has a superb opening, which is probably why it features twice on this album, once as the introduction and again in the closing track. 'Dangerous & Moving' is a fast paced, drum packed track in the style of 'Not Gonna Get Us' - it sounds like the musical forum of a rollercoaster. There is the despair and feather light vocals in the verses which plunge into a screeching chorus and later lead to a guitar breakdown which turns the tempo on its head.
These girls are serious about their music and their sound is unrivalled. Ignore your preconceptions and pay no attention to what parts of the media try to tell you. The music here is a one of a kind and you don't want to miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Like Dangerous Then Start Moving..., 5 Feb. 2006
By 
Andres Escobar (Miami Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous And Moving (Audio CD)
"Dangerous and Moving is t.A.T.u.'s sophmore album. After not hearing anything from them for about 3 years, they strike again. "Dangerous and Moving" is an album that takes life by itself. It's very emotional. It might make you feel happy, sad, angry, screaming for hours, and even be crazy, just singing the songs. The production and the girls voices are much better. And even though the sound is not quite as "200 KM/H In The Wrong Lane" it still has t.A.T.u. in it. Im not saying that "200KM/H In The Wrong Lane" is better, is just t.A.T.u. in a different way. The album contains the Top-10 Hit "All About Us" and the next hit "Friend or Foe", if you like any of these two believe me that the album won't dissapoint you. It still has much more in it than that. The album is just perfect in the sense that it is t.A.T.u. and they are back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By heck, they've done it again, 22 Oct. 2005
By 
H. F. Holt - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous And Moving (Audio CD)
After an absence of two years; mainly because of the failure of reality-tv show Podnebensya to produce TATY's second album; I was petrified that Dangerous and Moving would be a total let-down, a non event. All About Us was a good, if not brilliant, comeback single; although I hoped the album would move away from that up-beat euro-pop anthem and test the girls out more.
I needent have worried.
D+M is simply fantastic. I'ts well thought out, mature, dark in places and leaves you wanting more, much more.
Sure, there are weaknesses, the girls should now leave behind the high pitched notes (they're grown up now, you know) and the instrumentals are a bit tinny (We Shout should have been left with the Russian production for Nich'ya) but, overall, those are minor complaints.
This is the real t.A.T.u., just as I loved them before. Half-way through Gomenasai I burst out into tears. Ditto Craving. By the time I got to We Shout I'd lost it completely.
If you have one ounce of humanity, you would buy this, and the Russian version Lyudi Invalidi. And condem to the dustbin all the radio stations that blank t.A.T.u.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ooooh, those Russians, 22 Oct. 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dangerous And Moving (Audio CD)
It was more exciting when we thought this girl loved that girl, but what the heck - this is a fun pop album anyway. The second English album from the controversial Russian duo, it takes up from where "200km/h in the Wrong Lane" left off, with a huge first single "All About Us".
With their reputation for creating a stir, Lena Katina and Julia Volkova certainly succeeded in attracting attention with their on-stage antics and risqué videos, some of which were banned by MTV, BBC, and others.
There are quite a few good songs on this album, even though the beats are quite similar, the ones to watch being "All About Us", "Loves Me Not", "Friend or Foe" (with Sting on bass, written by Richard Carpenter), the slower "Craving (I Only Want What I Can't Have)", "Perfect Enemy" and the title track, which rounds out the album. I'd like to say that I like "Obizienka Nol", but knowing t.A.T.u. and not knowing Russian, I'd better play it safe.
A worthwhile follow-up album in the same vein as the first.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album Of The Year!, 5 Sept. 2005
This review is from: Dangerous & Moving (Audio CD)
I was very very very lucky to get my hands on 8 of the songs on this CD, and they are brilliant ! I can't get enough of them, i listen to them going to work, before i go to bed, while im on msn, just basically whenever i get the chance because they are that good! All the songs are very catchy, t.A.T.u have also matured and changed a little from their previous and amazing first album. t.A.T.u will be around a very long time with songs like these and i have no doubt that they could have a few number ones in the coming months! If you can... egt your hands on some of the songs... i recommend "All About Us" "Friend Or Foe" "Craving (I Only Want What I Can't Have)" "Dangerous and Moving" and "Perfect Enemy". Their voices are great, the song writing is brilliant... some of these songs will give you goosebumps they are that good! Get this album as soon as it is released, you definetly wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Astounded!, 16 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerous & Moving (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of tATu since i bought their debut album, the songs were fantastic, but there were only 9 original songs on the album, which was dissapointing.
The new album has 11 Original songs plus an intro for "dangerous and moving". Every song on the album is a masterpiece, here are my favorite songs, in the order that i rate them (Out of 5).
1. Cosmos (Outer Space)- (track 3) A Brilliant song, very catchy and has some stunning vocals. (5)
2. Friend Or Foe - (track 5) Would make an exellent single, its a good tune and well produced. (5)
3. Craving (i only want what i can't have)(track 7) - A beautiful song, very well put together, the singing is quite haunting and very effective. (5)
4. Loves Me Not (track 4) - Should make a great single, great, chatchy heavy rock chorus and simple verses. (5)
5: All About Us (track 2) - The first single seems to be a typical tATu song, its very similar to their debut, still its a great song (4)
6. Dangerous And Moving (track 12) - Really well produced songs, the vocals are a little light and sparse, but its the music that makes this an awesome song, not the singing. (4)
7. Perfect Enemy (track 10) - Reminds me of robots for some reason maybe its the line 'You don't turn me off, i will never fail'. Its a haunting song that is well paced, the chorus is the high point of the song (4)
8. Gomenasai (Track 6) - Is a beautiful song, the strings really make this song a winner. The singing is also very powerful with a big range. A bit slow though for my liking (3.5)
9. Obizienka Nol (track 11) - The song is well put together and is vocally exellent. The vocals are very passionate in this song, most likely because its sung in russian, which is also the songs downfall. Not being able to understand or sing the song properly (unless your russian) harms the song. (3.5)
10. Sacrifice (track 8) - I personally dont think this song is up there with the others, its a bit boring for my liking, i always end up skipping this track. But Julia's vocals are very good in this song. (3)
11. We Shout (track 9) - This song has grown on me alot. Vocally its good, and production values seem high. I think the main problem with the song is that it never seems to get going before it ends, also it doesnt make much sense. (3)
This is my favorite album of the year so far. I dont think another album will be as good "Dangerous And Moving" this year, or next, it will be hard to beat t.A.T.u
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous and moving!, 27 Sept. 2005
By 
Ashleigh (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dangerous & Moving (Audio CD)
This is the 2nd full length English album from t.A.T.u . I'd always liked t.A.T.u the first time round and this album proves they are not just a one hit wonder and have more to them than their lesbian gimmick. I have heard both English and Russian versions of this album and i think its terrific. My favourite songs on the album are All about us, Loves me not (which i think is a potential 2nd single from this album) Gemenasai, Sacrifice, Dangerous and Moving.
If you manage to get hold of the russian version äè èíàèä -Lyudi Invalidy - invalid people . The songs Yugoslaviya, lyudi invalidy are firm favourites but if i listed all my favourite t.A.T.u songs i'd be here forever. Even though i have all the songs downloaded i will also be buying the album because no doubt there will bonus tracks or dvds and stuff like they did in the 1st album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back at last, 5 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Dangerous And Moving (Audio CD)
Ok, this album is good.
Tatu have i must admit, changed their music approach a tad, like not as much fast electronica stuff and theres quite a lot more cheesy stuff. But it was still well worth the purchase.
They have got rid of the school girl look and have become a lot more mature in their music and song writing.
They still have tracks which show their love for each other and express themselves a lot through the lyrics they have.
A lot of the songs can be related to personal experiences too, which i like a lot.
I would download a track or two before buying just to see whether you like the new style before purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I would give this 500 stars if I could!, 30 Dec. 2007
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dangerous and Moving (Audio CD)
This is the fabulous tATu's long-awaited second masterpiece!

I cannot remember anticipating a release as much as this for years! I got my pre-order in and was counting the days off - literally! This is the band that made me feel like a teenager again! Packed with that 'special' tATu touch of catchy haunting melodies with those fantastic vocal hooks that have become their trademark - any one of these twelve tracks could have been singles! How long is it since you placed a CD in your player, and played it over and over again - come on, be honest now? This is good traditional pop sound brought kicking and screaming into the 21st century! Starts with a fabulous 'racey' intro. of 'Dangerous And Moving' and gets straight into the good stuff without further ado! Comes with the usual goodies and treats we're used to from this Duo; free DVDs, posters and bonus tracks!

It seems hardly credible that this album did not chart in the UK, but then I have long since started to ignore the charts, and they mean relatively nothing nowadays in any case. Every tATu album plays like a 'greatest hits'. One of the most important thing about any artist or band is being unique and instantly recognised; tATu are instantly recognisable on immediate hearing, and are impossible to be mistaken for anyone else. There's something to appeal to everyone here - as with their debut album; tATu have included ballads as well as pop songs with a great beat. They make modern pop music sound great again!

tATu are definitely the cream of the 'noughties', and definitely leave other acts in the shade!

Watch out and fasten your seatbelts for their third studio release later this year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous and Moving- Amazing album!, 29 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Dangerous & Moving (Audio CD)
Firstly- yes, it's not released, but I've been lucky enough to hear all of the songs from the album.
The album is simply fantastic- even better than the debut album "200 Km/h in the wrong lane".
If you think "All about us" is good, then you're in for a treat!
The songs on the album are as follows:
All about us
Cosmos
We shout
Friend or Foe
Perfect Enemies
Obezyanka Nol
Loves me not
Craving
Gomenesai
Sacrifice
Dangerous and Moving
The "slower" songs are "We shout" and "Gomenesai". Gomenesai is actually in English, is basically just a piano with voice. It's a really nice song, and "We shout" really is simply fantastic. If anyone has heard the Russian song "Nichya", it is just a translation.
Everything else is more up-beat. Really, all of the songs (except for "Craving" which I really don't like at all...) are just as good as any t.A.T.u. single. All extremely catchy, with great choruses and excellent music. The lyrics are also rather intreguing.
The best song on the album, I think, is "Obezyanka Nol"- simply fantastic! A real masterpiece.
Overall, this album is absolutely brilliant, and I would encourage anybody to buy it. If you had your doubts after the debut album, this one will really make you want more. Simply, this is the best pop album I've heard... ever!
Enjoy! You definitely will. This really is great stuff from Lena and Yulia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dangerous & Moving
Dangerous & Moving by t.A.T.u. (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews