Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential yet strangely deceiving
This is one purchase that is almost essential if you have a 360. It opens up so many more opportunities, especially through Xbox Live marketplace. The ability to download trailers and playable demos is a godsend, as is the ability to store music to listen to while you play.
If you had the old Xbox and still have some of the games, there is a good chance...
Published on 4 Jan 2006 by G. Lewis

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer be aware
Microsoft with their tricks as usual say that this is 20GB hard drive. THEY'RE WRONG. 7GB are used for system files, space allocated for saves and pre-cached games. So you only get 13GB to use for downloads, game memory etc. 13GB for me is enough but for more Hardcore gamers it won't be enough. You get a game called helix with the hard drive the game is alright...
Published on 2 Aug 2011 by RW


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential yet strangely deceiving, 4 Jan 2006
By 
G. Lewis "mgjjl" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
This is one purchase that is almost essential if you have a 360. It opens up so many more opportunities, especially through Xbox Live marketplace. The ability to download trailers and playable demos is a godsend, as is the ability to store music to listen to while you play.
If you had the old Xbox and still have some of the games, there is a good chance they'll work on the 360 with a hi-definition facelift. Again, you need the hard disk to do this.
The hard disk itself is laptop hardisk, repackaged to look like part of the console. They chose a laptop disk because of its smaller dimensions. Don't be fooled though, it may say 20 Gigabytes but you don't really have anywhere near 20 gig to play with. You'll start off with 12 or 13 gigabytes of free space. The rest is taken up by formatting, the emulation software for playing Xbox 1 games and a puzzle game called Hexic HD, which is actually quite addictive. Plus some decidedly average music tracks.
Its a must-have if you have a 360, but at more than £50 for a low capacity hard disk, it smacks as a bit of a rip-off. Especially when you can buy a 200 gigabyte PC hard drive for £70.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox 360 20GB HDD, Essential Xbox Live accompliment (slightly missleading capacity advertising though), 28 Jan 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
Having recently buying myself a Xbox 360 Core System for xmass, I decided to purchase myself a Wireless Network Adapter so I could hook up to Xbox Live and play with my friends on games such as Gears Of War, Fifa 07, Ridge Racer 6 ect.

As i did not have any previous knowledge of how Xbox Live works and how much it has to offer, i initially thought that i would not bother purchasing a HDD as you don't really need one for actually playing games.

However once i got hooked up and going on Live it soon becomes apparrent the Xbox Live has so much more to offer besides just playing games online. You have all types of other cool stuff at your finger tips.

To start with you have stuff like downloadable game content which gives you extra missions for games which you have already finnished, game demos for almost every game available for the 360 (a lot of which are free.) Movie and game trailers, gamer tags and dashboard themes. One of my favourites is Xbox Live Arcade for all your retro ganes such as Street Fighter II. The List of options is endless.

Of Course what all this means is that you're gonna require some extra storage for your 360 as the little 64mb memory card just isnt going to cover it & would get filled up in just a couple of downloads.

This is where the 360 Hard Drive comes into the picture. The device is quite compact considering how much memory its offering and slots nicely on top of your console without looking unsittely or out of place.

As i mentioned, the HDD is essential for downloading ingame content and Xbox Live Arcade games ect, but this is not all the HDD has to offer. As with the original Xbox HDD, the Xbox 360 HDD will also allow you to do lots of other cool stuff such as burning music cds onto your 360 which you can then setup your console to play your favourite music tracks as in game music instead of the annoying music tracks which game developers use in games. So i can race around a Ridge Racer 6 course to U2'S "I Will Fallow" or skate on Tony Hawks Project 8 to Chemical Brothers "Hey Boy, Hey Girl" instead of an annoying American "Punk By Numbers" group such as Sum 41 or Blink 182 (sorry dont mean to offend any fans, but not really my scene!)

The only dissapointing thing with this product was the fact that the capacity stated on the HDD is slightly missleading. Microsoft advertise this product as a 20GB HDD, in actuality the available capacity of the unit is only 13GB. I know what most people are thinking, but trust me its true. You see what Microsoft dont tell people is that out of the total 20GB on the HDD, roughly 7GB is required for the software required to emulate original Xbox games and various other in built functions of the unit. At first when i purchase the unit i thought mine was faulty, however upon contacting the seller it appears that this is the case with every unit (i even checked with my friends and his is the same.)

On the whole, the entire capacity issue isn't really a major deal as 13GB is still plently of space for what you need it for, it just would have been nice for Microsoft to be up front with us on exactly how much memory capactiy we would be getting which we can put to use. Its not like you can delete any of the applications which are pre-installed on the unit as they are essential for the unit to perform, however i think it would have got a lot less peoples backs up just being honest, still it is Microsoft so what can you expect.

To summerise the 360 HDD, it has all the memory which you require for downloading all the excellent content from Xbox Live and various other fun options, however just bear in mind the real usuable memory capacity. There are rumors that Microsoft may release a 60GB HDD which i would definitely be interested in. But for now this will do nicely.

Well i'm off to download the demo for Lego Star Wars II!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 20 gb hard drive (a bit misleding but works great), 30 Jun 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
I got a xbox 360 arcade version a while back and only recently i thought of purchasing a hard drive from amazon and seeing as i don't use it as much lately i thought 20 gb should be good enough but the name is a bit misleading it's not 20 gb more like 13 gb but its worth the price and works great for my saves and downloaded content if your just starting out or dont download or play it that much then i would recommend purchasing this hard drive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This does not fit the new XBOX 360, 20 April 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
This is not a reflection on the seller as the HD was sent out very quickly.

Just to let people know, as I didn't see it mentioned in the listing, and I'm not an XBOX expert so don't know any different to look at them. This is for the old 360 and clips on the top.

However, if you have ordered this by mistake, then all is not lost! You can get the casing off and the HD will go into the slot on the new 360 and plug in. Takes a little accuracy to attach, but not difficult. They use spline screws but these can be undone using a small philips screwdriver and a bit of pressure. Be aware of the screw under the tamper evident silver sticker.

Hope this helps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have, 30 May 2006
By 
Spencer MacDonald (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
First of all I was tempted to give this less than 5 stars as its very expensive seeing that it is only 20GB, but the fact remains it is a must have accessory for the XBOX 360. The main reason to have the harddrive is back compatibility with a selected number of previous generation of xbox games such as Halo 2. Secondly its a must have for Xbox live. It is correct you don't need a hard drive for xbox live but you wont be able to download extra content, demos and movies. The game demos are usually around the 800MB mark which obviously is not going to fit on a memory card. Also you can store music on the harddrive to play back during games like on the previous Xbox
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding value, 1 Aug 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
Great product an service from seller very pleased allthough they aint genuine microsoft their chinese copies but work absoulutly fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xbox 360 hard drive add on, 10 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
I bought mine as a seperate item for my core xbox 360.its extremely easy to fit with no hassle at all.As long as its clipped on securely.It comes with a free game and some trial music already downloaded on it.This device is definately needed if you want to play any old Xbox games on your 360 as you will need to store an emulator program on this drive which you can down load from microsoft.The hard drive doesnt clutter up the sleek lines of the xbox 360 like the memory sticks do as you can save your high scores to the hard drive so no sticks needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Piece of Hardware, 22 Aug 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
This is a great piece of hardware, it works and arrives on time... but i would recommend cleaning it before use as i didnt clean mine and i got red rings. after i cleaned it, the red rings werent seen again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20 GB), 8 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. P. M. Mcgrath (Manchester , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
I bought this item to replace a plug in memory card which i had previously. My Xbox performance has now noticeably increased escpecially the speed and would urge potential buyers to go for the Hard drive and not as i did go for the cheaper option of a plug in memory module with an integral sd card,as the one i bought crashed my system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buyer be aware, 2 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) (Video Game)
Microsoft with their tricks as usual say that this is 20GB hard drive. THEY'RE WRONG. 7GB are used for system files, space allocated for saves and pre-cached games. So you only get 13GB to use for downloads, game memory etc. 13GB for me is enough but for more Hardcore gamers it won't be enough. You get a game called helix with the hard drive the game is alright.

This is also NOT compatible with the new Xbox 360 slim models.

3/5 due to false information from microsoft and it slowly being outdated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB)
Xbox 360 Hard Drive (20GB) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
Used & New from: 8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews