Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy remake
I loved the original AP13 directed, written, scored, edited and lord knows what else by John Carpenter. When I first heard about the remake of this and Ethan Hawke was going to be in it I was quite excited because Hawke had done such an amazing job in Training Day. He makes a great leader of the police and criminals. The storyline though is a lot more complex than the...
Published on 17 April 2005 by Matthew Lee Dykes

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Die Hard 2 than Carpenter, but not bad at all
The 2005 Assault on Precinct 13 is an above-average remake, an efficient Saturday Night Special that never quite gets the adrenaline pumping in the action scenes as much as it could but doesn't trash memories of Carpenter's no-budget classic as much as expected. If anything, the template here is more a scaled down Die Hard 2 minus the planes, even going so far as to...
Published on 14 Dec 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More Die Hard 2 than Carpenter, but not bad at all, 14 Dec 2007
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
The 2005 Assault on Precinct 13 is an above-average remake, an efficient Saturday Night Special that never quite gets the adrenaline pumping in the action scenes as much as it could but doesn't trash memories of Carpenter's no-budget classic as much as expected. If anything, the template here is more a scaled down Die Hard 2 minus the planes, even going so far as to borrow both central plot twist and one of the more memorable killings. Ethan Hawke is in Tom Cruise-lite mode - all the focused self-righteous concentration with none of the Scientology - and Laurence Fishbourne offers a smooth update of Darwin Joston's cool criminal but Maria Bello is wasted in a nothing role that exists solely to serve Hawke's redemption backstory. There are a couple of neat new plot twists and one unexpected killing, but mostly this delivers familiar genre thrills with a comforting lack of originality. It's certainly more effective than the French near-remake Nid De Guepes/The Nest.

The DVD extras, like the film, are satisfying without being particularly outstanding, though it's a shame the trailer isn't included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a vanilla twist in sight...(spoiler), 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
An update of the Carpenter classic, which itself was an update of Rio Bravo, the film is slightly different, this has more to do with police corruption, rather than a gang getting revenge.

It's a slightly different film for Hawke to be in, he must have been funding something, but he really excels in this movie.

There is some sort of back story involving Hawke and a NARC style opening, but that just sets the mood for the rest of the film, showing that Hawkes Character is weak, thus making the group vulnerable.

Then we have Fishburne as the 'bad' guy. He is all swagger in this and very little else. It's as if he's saying 'I was just in three of the biggest science fiction films of the last ten years which were not Star Wars and don't you forget it!!!'.

Byrne is wasted, looking moody and cold. The rest of the cast are okay, especially Bello, who does convince as a 'shrink'.

But what is most striking about the film is how brutal and relentless the film is. No one is safe, and the director doesn't flinch when disposing of characters (Bello the most significant), and this makes the film a little more urgent.

It's nothing special, not a patch on the original, and Fishbourne becomes annoying toward the end, but for a little standalone action movie, it passes the time, and the brutality makes it deeply unsettling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining enough remake, 1 Jan 2009
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING-MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

In 1976, John Carpenter made the original version of this film. It was a masterpiece in sustained tension, a modern day western with brilliant performances from a largely unknown cast.
This remake does contain enough original elements to make it an entertaing film in its own right. For example its the cops trying to get in the Precinct this time in order to silence suave crime lord Marion Bishop(Laurence Fishburne, before he testifies against them. The performances are generally good. I wasnt sure of Ethan Hawke as the hero cop, but he won me over in the end. The film really belongs to Fishburne who is excellent as the urbane Bishop.
What is missing is the clinging claustrophobic mood of the original, and its really just a seies of elaborately staged set pieces. A decent enough effort, doesnt hold a candle to the original. 3 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A worthy remake, 17 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the original AP13 directed, written, scored, edited and lord knows what else by John Carpenter. When I first heard about the remake of this and Ethan Hawke was going to be in it I was quite excited because Hawke had done such an amazing job in Training Day. He makes a great leader of the police and criminals. The storyline though is a lot more complex than the original film but it is still as good as. There are some real shocks and "wow didn't see that coming" moments. Plus the occasional laughing moment. Try and spot the guy who played the cop in the original, he's in there somewhere. A must buy if you liked the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pointless remake, 31 Aug 2005
By 
Nick Brett (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
A remake of a film rightly regarded as a classic. This is a by the book remake with the exceptions that the bad guys are crooked cops and the lead characters have their names switched around (this time the prisoner is called Bishop).
So, precinct closing down - prison bus stops for shelter from weather, precinct laid under siege from bad cops trying to kill one of the prisoners. The rest is very close to the original, some scenes are almost duplicated.
This actually does not add anything to the original and as such seems a little pointless. If you are going to re-make a classic or cult film then it has to offer more then this one does. The original may be a little dated, but it was tense and tight filmmaking, this is a lazy and flash attempt to cash in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK update of a classic., 10 Jan 2006
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
I only just about remember watching the original film years ago. It was a hard hitting,gritty,violent film that probably shocked quite a few and is regarded a cult classic. This is more a modern day remake with an MTV make-over. With a strong all star cast including Laurence Fishburne, Gabriel Bryne, Maria Bello, Brian Dennehy and even rapper Ja Rule pops up, to mention a few!
It's an ok action film probably enjoyed more by those who haven't seen the original, otherwise you compare the two and already know what will happen. The violence is turned down, only a 15 to reach a wider audience maybe? Not a classic, but not a bad film and definatelyworth checking out. It has some good action scenes, well acted and overall a film that will entertain if you don't over analyse it with the original. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping action movie, 31 Jan 2010
By 
S. C. Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen this on Sky television for the first time I thought it was a very gripping film. I knew straight away I had to add this to my film collection. I particularly like the extra twist in the story in how they manage to hold off the assualt on the precinct, as well as who those people are who attack it. I won't spoil the fun by revealing this but thought I would mention this as it adds to the film's high rating which I have given it. I think Ethan Hawke plays a very good lead role and is very believable as the main hero of the story, despite his young looks. The film keeps you guessing where the next attack will come from. All those fans of guns and modern weapons will enjoy those used in the film too. I particularly like the fact that the assault takes part during a blizzard too, which adds to the desperation of the attempts to break out from it. A must see film, particularly for those who enjoy films like Die Hard, Heat and Collateral. A highly recommended buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Action all The Way on"Precinct 13!"., 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
There are not many movies that surpass the original,but this does,its as exciting as the original if not,more so,slight difference to the original story,but bullets fly and action abound,its like "die Hard" in a police station,with plenty of familiar faces not to mention Brian Denahey from "first blood",playing what he plays best??.Lots of twists,double crosses and surprises,this is good all round action and entertainment and probably one of the best action movies in the last 20 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing special but at least it doesn't try and copy Carpenter's classic., 27 July 2014
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
The best thing you can say about this remake is that for the most part it is its own film, just using John Carpenter's 1976 classic as a blank canvas.

Ethan Hawke and Laurence Fishburne are never that convincing enough for us to care about them,and the whole film whilst done quite well is a bit of a drag. There are some nice plot twists but the climax is too over the top and not believable at all. For an action film there is a lack of it. Ok remake in a decade full of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent DVD, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assault On Precinct 13 [DVD] (DVD)
The first and, in my opinion the better of the sequals. Mr Hawke,Mr Fishburn are both great, as is Mr Byrne as one of the rogue police officers, and Mr Denehy as the officer who wants a peaceful end for his pension - some hopes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assault On Precinct 13 [UMD Mini for PSP]
Assault On Precinct 13 [UMD Mini for PSP] by Jean-Francois Richet (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
£9.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews