Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade (Blu-ray version)
This 1998 production directed by Steve Norrington is finally released on Blu-ray in the U.K.; this 50 GB disc is encoded using MPEG-4 codec and is in full 1080p resolution with English DTS master audio 6.1, there is also Dolby 5.1 Russian, German, Italian and Spanish soundtracks along with Dolby Stereo Spanish, Portuguese, Czech and there are 13 sets of subtitles...
Published on 14 Oct. 2012 by Milt M. R. Ingarfield

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars the blu-ray is cropped
I got the blu-ray very cheap so I'm not that bothered but when I just compared it to my DVD I could see nearly a third of the picture is missing at the sides so the movie loses a lot of it's cinematic quality, which for a movie this good is not ideal

The good news is that the transfer is very good, but the the DVD doesn't look too shabby either...
Published on 25 Dec. 2011 by vailsy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blade (Blu-ray version), 14 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 1998 production directed by Steve Norrington is finally released on Blu-ray in the U.K.; this 50 GB disc is encoded using MPEG-4 codec and is in full 1080p resolution with English DTS master audio 6.1, there is also Dolby 5.1 Russian, German, Italian and Spanish soundtracks along with Dolby Stereo Spanish, Portuguese, Czech and there are 13 sets of subtitles including English, German, Italian, Castilian Spanish, Dutch, Latin Spanish, Portuguese, Czech, Russian and Italian included in the extras are 5 featurettes which include La Magra, Designing Blade, The Origins of Blade, A Look at Dark Comics and The Blood Tide these are in standard definition, the original theatrical trailer is also included and is in standard definition also.

The first question to ask has the wait been worth it?

In my opinion it is a resounding yes this film has never looked or sounded better, I have owned this Film both on VHS and DVD and this latest incarnation on Blu-ray has made this comic book adaptation even more impressive.

The dark atmosphere of the movie is given more depth with the deeper blacks and brighter colours on Blu-ray and the battle scenes involving swords have a satisfying clang and scraping sound and the rat-tat-tat of the machine guns now leap out of the speakers as they rip across the scene along with the crunch of bones as Blade stomps and punches his opponents this brought to life by the thumping 6.1 soundtrack and the new cover art is also an improvement to the earlier DVD sleeve it is also the full 120 minute uncut version of the film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Region Free Blu-ray, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As my review states this is an excellent blu-ray release. The picture is incredible with the image looking very sharp and clean without losing any of the atmosphere. The extras look to be the same as the UK DVD release and the audio is an English DTS-HD Master 6.1 track.
Most important for those of you in the UK this disc is Region Free - but, beware....be sure to buy the June 2012 release. This is the USA release. The Canadian release from a few years ago is region locked! The same applies to Blade 2 and Blade Trinity.
Definitely worth the upgrade to blu-ray and still one of the best vampire movies ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best Blade movie now on bluray, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already consider the first Blade the best of the lot, but the cheap bluray release only strenghtens it. With great pic quality and nice sounds it should be a must buy dark action/vampire movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..AWESOME!!!!..", 25 May 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This movie is just pure class from start to finish, one of the best vampire movies ever made, Wesley snipes plays blade perfectly, this movie has so much visual style and a cool thumping soundtrack, its super bloody and gory, fantastic story, theres nothing bad to say, this is a classic already and a must own for any movie fan, the original will always be the best, and this version has the awesome black cover art like the U.S version. Must buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie has it all., 5 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Everything you could possibly want in a movie is in Blade. Horror, suspense, some comedy, a great story, gore and loads of action. Wesley Snipes is perfect as the role of Blade and if you ever wanted a movie of the PC game Nocturne then Blade's the perfect movie for you. This film was so sucessfull it made 2 sequals (which are inferior to the 1st)
Blade in my opinion is the best vampire movie ever made. That intro with the disco has to be one of the best action scenes in movie history. This music's great and the special fx are superb. Plus its extremly brutal and violent at times. This really makes Blade Trinity look like a cheap hollywood film.
Blade is destined to be an action classic. Get this movie today if you havent got it already. Blade scores along the same line as an action masterpiece the same as Terminator and Terminator 2. A must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !! !! !! !!, 13 Feb. 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Blade is the bets film of its year by miles and has a great cast! Blade was origonally a comic and this is a great, very dark, adaptation of them! It has a unique blend of a great story, bloody violence and great acting (with a decent sound track to mix)!
The first thing that struk me by this is how much violence there is in it! It isnt exatly 'Cannibal Holocaust' or 'BrainDead' but its certyanly soomething for a comic book adaptation!
The story is great considering it was inaspired by a comic book! There are many twists and great fight/action scenes along the way! It was really filmed with style too, helped by a cool soundtrack!
The cast (as i said earlier) is good and Westley Snipes acts the best ive ever seen him in this trilogy!
For the action fan this should be a trat as it has loads of it, even though it comes under the category of a horror. There are loads of cool weapons for Blade to use (with extreme skill) and the fight scenes are among the best! (as with the sequel)
There is a bit of a debate over weather this is better than its sequel, i cant make my mind up really as i love bloody films (this may be the main reason why i love a film and hate it), this film has lots of gore but Blade 2 has loads of action, way more than this! You make your mind up!
I would highly reccomend this to anyone who gets the chance to see it! This film doesnt have a double disc edition yet but this single disc edition has a surprising amount of extras worth seeing!
Id buy it if i were you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BLADE = GOOD, 30 Dec. 2005
By 
K H "k21h" (Galway ,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The best way to describe Blade would be ''a bit of fun''. Usually ''a bit of fun'' means a slightly entertaining , stupid , allright-ish , forgettable film but a film you wouldn't complain about.In this case Blade is closer to ''a bit of fun'' than an epic masterpiece . But that said, Blade manages to take all the good bits of mediocre films and a good dose of stuff from good ones too.
Now to get all that bull out of the way , first and foremost Blade is a highly entertaining , thouroughly enjoyable action movie. It has SUPERB ACTION , a very good soundtrack and allthough the story isn't Shakespeare it does the job and is easy to understand. Anyone who complains about the storyline or faults of the film is in the wrong type of audience for a movie like this. The acting has been described as some people as ''wooden'' but I disagree and believe it was perfect casting.
Wesley Snipes was born to play Blade and is the perfect actor to show who Blade is: a badass mother****** who hunts down vampires and destroys them with samurai swords while being ultra cool in the process. Blade isn't a character that allows an actor to express his array of talents and therefor Wesley Snipes ( in my oppinion a good actor ) is more suited to playing Blade than any other ''more acomplished actors'' like Kev Spacey or Tom Hanks. ( for obvious reasons )
I can't talk about Blade without giving Stephen Dorff a mention too as he delivers an impressive performance as the arrogant , hotshot leader of the vampires. I don't know who S.D is and I haven't heard of him since but I will always remember his role as Deacon Frost in Blade. Along with the dissapearance of Dorff the only place yuo will find Snipes today is the bottom shelf of Chartbusters which is sad as I believe he is very underrated and could have gone on to star in bigger , better productions.
Back to the film itself , it is more of an action movie than a vampire movie and thank God it doesn't concentrate on the Vampire mutation and how to kill a vampire thing too much as we have had a million versions of it in the past.
Blade kills the vamps with silver swords and silver bullets and they can be killed with sunlight to. Garlic stings them but you might as well throw boiling water on them. The turning into vampire issue is more DNA style than supernatural as evil cells take over good one. Also a new concept is thrown in with the vampires ''regenerating'' i.e healing quicker if they have an arm chopped off ( the arm grows back in a week ) .
Any action fan will love Blade and I would strongly reccomend it to be rented.
See all of your reviews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Daywalker, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Half human and half vampire, Blade's function in life is to rid the world of vampire's, he is driven forward by the notion that his mother was killed by his half brethren.

This is no ordinary vampire film, this is nothing to do with bearing crosses and creatures making music of the night, this is armoured weaponry, dazzling swordplay and a protagonist that is as cool as anything that has leaped off of the comic book page. Wesley Snipes {perfect piece of casting} is Blade, a much troubled superhero {aren't they all?}, he has to take a formula suppressant to keep away his inner vampire cravings, aided by trusty pal, Whistler {Kris Kristofferson}, they wage war against all blood suckers and here they must stop the sinister Deacon Frost {Stephen Dorff} from executing his monstrous plan.

There are no cranial pondering's here in this piece, this is a joyously high velocity action horror movie, containing great choreography and retaining its comic book heart, Blade is pure popcorn fodder for the MTV generation, in fact director Stephen Norrington utilises his music video background to great effect as the combat scenes are scored with delightful sledgehammer precision. Blood brains and gore flow freely as the film hurtles towards its head splitting conclusion, loud, dark and tinged with brooding menace, Blade is hugely recommended for a ripper of a night in. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If you wanna survive you better learn to pull the trigger"", 16 Aug. 2007
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
After just watching Matrix I was expecting another load of nonsense from this film. Another Sci-fi. However I was pleasantly suprised, and from that day on the original Blade has been and still is my all time fave film.

Wesley Snipes is simply brilliant in this, I've never seen a cooler character than Blade. From his cool sword moves to his funny sarcastic comments "You've met Mr Crispy at the Hospital, what do YOU think!".

In a way I think that Blade is slightly under-rated, however that's not necessarily a bad thing, who knows, if Blade had been more successful the sequels might not have been as good!

I've re-watched all Blade films to the point that I've learnt some russian sentences. And to anyone thinking of purchasing this film or all 3 films i strongly recommend that if you haven't seen it by now you really should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Meat, 16 April 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blade [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
As vampire action movies go, Blade felt fresh. Snipes was at his best, cool, athletic and totally ruthless. The production values were high so the locations and SFX didn't look cheap. The fight choreography is as good as it gets and the story about a half vampire stalking his prey is littered with dry humour and interesting characters. The screenplay never lets up and rather than just give us relentless action, we actually get to understand the vampire society as well as Blade and his motivations. Chris Kristofferson lends ample support as the grizzled weapon tech Whistler and Stephen Dorff doesn't let his size (relative to snipes) get in the way of being a really decent enemy. It spurned two sequels which kept the high standards and a TV show which appears to have been well received by our Amazon friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blade [UMD Mini for PSP]
Blade [UMD Mini for PSP] by Steve Norrington (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
£30.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews