Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce doing what he does best.
Bruce Willis plays the part of a veteran negotiator who's been there and seen it all. However one hot day things take a turn for the worse and after a fateful turn of events he decides to get away from the city and take a new job in more tranquil rural surroundings. Things don't always seem to go according to plan, and despite an initial peaceful settling in period things...
Published on 8 Jun 2005 by John Kimble

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
I don't know just quite why I enjoyed this film. I found the violence upsetting in some scenes, yet the film keeps you guessing and runs at a pretty hefty pace. A sort of cross between Pulp Fiction and your average cop vs. bad guys movie, but with an adrenalin fix.
Published on 2 May 2006 by Jones the Film


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce doing what he does best., 8 Jun 2005
By 
John Kimble (N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bruce Willis plays the part of a veteran negotiator who's been there and seen it all. However one hot day things take a turn for the worse and after a fateful turn of events he decides to get away from the city and take a new job in more tranquil rural surroundings. Things don't always seem to go according to plan, and despite an initial peaceful settling in period things are about to get very complicated for Bruce who finds he has ironically become the victim of a hostage situation.
I saw this film in the cinema a while back and I'd been hearing that this was the best movie Bruce had appeared in since Die Hard, which I enjoyed, so obviously I was looking forward to it.
Hostage isn't exactly the most original concept, but it does all come together well. There's a decent story and a quality cast to help things along and keep you watching to he end
As you'd expect with Willis there is a bucket load of action and several good twists that keep the film interesting and very easy to watch. It isn't all blood and guts though and when I went with my girlfriend she loved it so maybe this is one for everyone.

Weather it's as good as Die Hard is debateable, but I think it's a good quality action film that any fan would enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HOSTAGE KEPT ME AT THE EDGE!, 15 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Blu-ray transfer of this great thriller preserving its 2.35:1 PANAVISION ratio is suberb. The soundtrack includes a remastered 5.1 HD track which BOOMS! .This disc is region free, so it should play on all Blu-ray players. Beware of the Canadian Blu-ray release,although also excellent, it is formated to 1.85:1. Even though the movie was filmed in Super 35mm, the PANAVISION theatrical release is more impressive on the BIG screen. Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take this film hostage., 13 Aug 2005
By 
DVD Fan (london, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a very good film, mix of action/ thriller that is well acted and directed. Bruce Willis plays a cop who decides to move to a quieter area for an easier life where they have "no crime Tuesday" but this goes wrong when 2 brothers and there recent acquaintance upgrade from car theft to hostage taking, but they pick the wrong house and Bruce must does his best to solve this quickly for his own personal reasons!
It's a good action thriller if a bit predictable but I did feel some things were left unanswered by the time the film had ended but still very entertaining despite this one minor gripe. Fans of Willis or good action films will enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 2 May 2006
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I don't know just quite why I enjoyed this film. I found the violence upsetting in some scenes, yet the film keeps you guessing and runs at a pretty hefty pace. A sort of cross between Pulp Fiction and your average cop vs. bad guys movie, but with an adrenalin fix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable!, 19 May 2006
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
We watched this as a family and were really entertained on a night in with popcorn. Bruce Willis is really great in this. We loved the tension & excitement in this movie, it had us biting our nails. The cinematography is good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one to own, 24 July 2005
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Now this IS a good film. Great character development early on and later on in the film you are gripped on the edge of your seat.
This is not your everyday hostage situation and the plot is very clever. I don't think this film should be compared to the Die Hards as both are good in their own right. If anything Die Hard script is much more predictable, but then that's because it was made awhile ago and is looking dated I guess.
I read the other reviews and decided to buy rather than rent. I'm glad I did, cos this is a top film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brucie does it again, 21 April 2010
By 
T. Bunting "TaBunny" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hostage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is not your typical bangs, car chases etc Bruce Willis film, it is infact a lot better. There's suspense and good acting throughout and a brilliant twist at the end, blu ray is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 9 Sep 2008
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Bruce Willis is always in danger of being a parody of himself, most often typecast as the maverick save-the-world cop a-la-Die Hard, but in fact he has tried to explore other character portrayals in recent years. Yes, he's a cop again in this one, but he never looked as if he was about to do any yippee-kai-yays at any time. Thanks mainly to a solid writing base from a Robert Crais novel of the same name, Hostage is a pretty good thriller and not as formulaic as many might expect. The odd thing though is that there were a few signature images that reminded me of other seemingly unrelated films, notably The Crow - one of the hostage takers, a psycho named Mars and played by Ben Foster, looked bizarrely like Brandon Lee's portrayal of Eric Draven a decade earlier.

Bruce Willis' real-life daughter plays his fictional daughter in the film who along with his wife is also kidnapped in an unusual twist on the standard hostage fare, so that the under-pressure negotiator Jeff Talley not only has to get a man and his two children safely out of his home that has been taken seige by three would-be car-jackers, but at the same time he has to try and save his own family who have been abducted as a direct result of his involvement. Never conventional or predictable, this is actually worth watching even if you think you've seen it all before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruce was back on form here..., 25 Jun 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Hostage is a pretty decent film with plenty to keep you entertained. Bruce, playing a predictably, burnt out negotiator finds himself embroilled in a new and deadly situation when a rich accountant's fortress like home is broken into by teenagers and they are taken Hostage.

If that wasn't enough for Bruce to be getting along with, he also has to deal with the fact his estranged wife and child have been kidnapped. Bruce finds himself facing an impossible choice... does he rescue his wife and child, thus condemning the life of the accountant and his children, or see to it his own family's life pays forefit for his non compliance?

Yes, there are implausable twists - but Bruce Willis is excellent here, settling into his world weary, but as ever smart ways. Don't confuse him with his Die Hard character however, John McClaine, for there's liitle of the dry humour here which made the Die Hard films such a joy to watch. Here, Bruce's character is a downtrodden man who faces an impossible choice.

It's a decent film all round, just at times don't expect to get a lot of answers at the end of it.... just what was that all important disc all about???? It's unanswered questions like this which wil frustrate the viewer, but if you can put plot holes aside and focus on Bruce doing what he does best, you'll enjoy it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce At His Best, 4 May 2007
By 
T. D. Mooney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hostage [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
For any Bruce Willis fan your going to love this film. Theres plenty of classic Bruce action scences to keep u entertained. This film is in my top 50 fav films of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hostage [UMD Mini for PSP]
Hostage [UMD Mini for PSP] by Florent Emilio Siri (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews