Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars129
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: UMD Mini for PSP|Change
Price:£2.45+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 February 2005
Resident evil: Apocolypse is great as an action film, but not much else, when i first saw it i was amazed, especially at how real they made nemesis appear (although i would have liked to see his hand tentacles and maybe a mutation.) but after comparing it to the games, and especially the new 'Resident evil 4' i realised that Apocolypse does not have the fear that the games produce.
To me Resident evil is about sneaking down a dimly lit corridor, low on ammo, trying to avoid the decomposing zombie reaching out for you. not running through a city street with guns blazing, throwing punches and kicks into the undeads face , and enough flashing lights to cause a seizure.
However, dont get me wrong, i love everything about the resident evil franchise, from the games to the books, and while i enjoy the films, they need to reassess what resident evil is.
so 3 stars for being a good actioner but not much more.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
A dangerous virus leaks out, turning the population of an entire city into meat-eating, bone-munching zombies. Even the dogs are zombified. Strangely enough, all dogs in Raccoon City are over-sized Dobermans… Meanwhile, the secret organization Umbrella (heavily responsible for just about every zombie apocalypse this side of Hades) sends in its specially trained super-zombie killers to eradicate anyone in town who thinks he knows something above top secret level. These are just two of the subplots in “Resident Evil: Apocalypse”, featuring Milla Jovovich as – surprise – a genetically enhanced superhero with a penchant for zombie-slashing. “Resident Evil” doesn't deserve a closer analysis, but it's great fun as entertainment, at least if you want to be entertained, something I readily admit that I wanted to late last night… But no, it's hardly an Academy Award winner, LOL.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
It amazes me how some reviewers get so ate up over this film with regards to it's accuracy in relation to the video game(it's not real-honest). People need to realise it is only inspired by the video game. I must say that I have never played the video game and have only seen the movies.
There is no need to go over the plot as others have done that and you can also read the sypno. I just want to say that people shouldn't buy this expecting some deep meaningful piece of writing genius. It's an action/horror film for crying out loud! the majority of the cast are zombies. Take it for what it is-fast paced action entertainment.
As for the "Alice genetic mutation thing" I find that it progresses naturally from the first film. I watched this expecting just a couple of hours of mindless entertainment and that is what I got.
I prefered this film to the first, although I did enjoy the first one also.
Even my wife enjoyed the films and she isn't into science-fiction/ action/horror(she prefered the first one).
I would strongly advise anyone who has not seen the first film to watch it prior to this one so that your not left scratching your head. I look forward to R.E.3.
To all those moaning about the films accuracy-put down your control pads, get a girlfriend, move out of Mum and Dads house and go outside and get some fresh air!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
THE SECOND OF THE RESIDENT EVIL MOVIES HAS A MORE HEROIC HUMAN MORAL STORY. AFTER THE FIRST AND THE EVIL SCIENTISTS WHO WORSHIP THEIR SCIENCE ABOVE HUMAN LIFE AND LET THE ZOMBIE PLAGUE LOOSE.
THE HEROIC COMMANDO TEAM FAILED TO STOP THE ZOMBIE PLAGUE ESCAPING. NOW RACOON CITY IS BEING EVACUATED, AND A DISABLED FATHER IS TRYING TO RESCUE HIS DAUGHTER FROM THE ZOMBIES.
ALICE(MILLA) AND A SMALL GROUP OF MERCENARIES EMPLOYED BY THE FATHER GO IN TO GET THE DAUGHTER.
IN THE END ALTHOUGH THE FATHER IN HIS WHEEL CHAIR WITH HIS COMPUTER SUPPORT, IS KILLED AND EATEN BY ZOMBIES TRYING TO RESCUE HIS DAUGHTER.
ALICE AND THE LITTLE GIRL WITH A SMALL NUMBER OF PEOPLE ESCAPE RACOON CITY IN A HELICOPTER.
BUT THE HELICOPTER CRASHES !
IT SEEMS ONLY ALICE SURVIVES. SO ON TO RESIDENT EVIL EXTINCTION.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
R.E.- Apocalypse is an all round escapist and enjoyable action movie - with zombies thrown in. If you appreciate actors doing most of their own stunts and don't mind the style being a bit like a music video, then do watch this! And then watch the whole thing again with the cast commentary. You'll see that the actors are mostly mental, but great fun! As a woman, I found it refreshing to see yet another movie where the girls get to do a lot of the exciting stuff - even more than the guys! The acting is decent and above average for the genre, and Milla is great in this.I was also pleasantly surprised to see Oded Fehr in something quite different from The Mummy. I am not familiar with all the Resident Evil games, but from what I've seen, the movie has captured the atmosphere just fine and added some more action. It is perfectly okay to watch this without prior knowledge of the games. It is not, however, suitable for those seeking intellectual entertainment.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2010
I got exactly what I wanted,

Milla is an excellent and beautiful talented actress,

The film is outstanding and Milla is fantastic as usual

It is a brilliant film and well worth watching over and over.

ten stars out of five!!!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 January 2016
I’ll start by saying that Resident Evil 2 (or ‘Apocalypse’ to give it its correct name) wasn’t that well received. The first film was (loosely!) based on a computer game and kind of went some way to revitalise the ‘zombie’ genre (or at least bring the undead back into the mainstream again). However, whereas the original was widely well received by people who like a good B-movie, its second outing was pretty much trashed. And, yes, I can see why – but I still liked it!

It carries on nicely from the original after a zombie outbreak occurs in a secret lab complex under a major (fictional) city. Now the virus has been released on the above ground population and the city is basically falling to the numerous walking corpses while the authorities struggle to maintain order. Throw in the only survivor from the first movie (a semi-naked Milla Jovovich) and you have your film.

I’ll start by listing its – numerous – faults. The cast are wafer thin cardboard cut-outs and every piece of dialogue is by-the-numbers and feels like it’s been written by a first year film student. There’s no such thing as ‘character development’ and you’ll see every plot point coming. They even bring back the ‘zombie dogs’ from the first film and sort of rehash the scene again. The villain (yes, there’s a human villain as well as the zombies) is – again – your typically badly-written Bond-villain rip-off. Then you have the ‘Nemesis’ – which is basically a man in a rubber suit pretending to be a monster. Everything here is ‘style over substance’ – the story (and maybe I should put ‘story’ in quote marks?) moves from one stylised fight-scene to another. You really will have to leave your brain at the door to get over the gaping holes in the plot which lead up to all the major characters getting together.

Yet, despite all that – I confess to actually owning this film on DVD and watching it every few years. I found it quite fresh at the time. I’ve been a fan of the zombie genre since the seventies and missed them so much that I was quite glad to see a big budget film where you get to see a glimpse of society falling while the zombie outbreak is underway. The trick to getting something out of RE2 is basically lowering your expectations suitably to ignore all its faults. You’ll probably have to know what Milla Jovovich’s movies are generally like, i.e. superhuman female kicking the hell out of numerous faceless baddies (or zombies in this case). Don’t expect too much. It’s a complete B-movie where you can wander in and out of the room at will and still know exactly what’s going on.

I like it, but even if you do really hate it as much as the majority, it’s still head and shoulders over every last sequel which follows (and there are a lot of those!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 February 2014
As it is the case with most sequels, this second instalment of "Resident Evil" franchise is significantly inferior to the first film. Below, more of my impressions, with some limited SPOILLERS.

This film begins 30 days after the contamination of the Hive described in the first "Resident Evil" movie. In opening scenes the Umbrella Corporation attempts to unseal the Hive in order to eliminate its undesirable occupants and reclaim this huge, precious facility. It is suggested that this attempt doesn't go very well... Some days later Alice (Milla Jovovich) wakes up in an abandoned hospital in Raccoon City, naked, bruised and unable to remember jack... And then the film really begins.

The biggest problem with this film is that there is virtually no scenario, just a succession of shootouts and running. There is hardly any dialogs which would merit to be remembered, the sense of humour seems to have been completely eaten by zombies, most of decisions taken by people (both villains and good guys) doesn't make the slightest sense and let's not even talk about character development...

Milla Jovovich was asked to play here just a standard issue superhuman shooting machine and was clearly forbidden by the director to do and say anything else than shooting - and her two principal sidekicks, with whom she joins ultimately after more than 40 minutes (!) of film are even worse!

Sienna Guillory plays Jill Valentine, a police officer belonging to the Special Tactics And Rescue Squad (S.T.A.R.S.) who has the habit of coming to work dressed as a streetwalker and greatly praised may she be for that, because this former model is a supremely beautiful woman with such a figure, that Phidias and Praxiteles would KILL for the privilege of sculpting her (in more sense than one...). BUT, an actress she is REALLY not and even saying two lines of dialog is for her clearly an effort... And as for her character being an action hero, well, let's just say that she cannot even hold correctly the prop gun they gave her, because this thing clearly scares her...

Oded Fehr plays Carlos Oliveira, a mercenary from Umbrella Corporation private army - but being a simple soldier, he is completely unaware of all the evil plans of his bosses and in this film he actually is one of the good guys. Oded Fehr, who usually plays Bedouin holy warriors, demons from Hell or Arab terrorists, has of course all the necessary competence and physical attributes to make an awesome, legendary, bad@ss mercenary - but he is not really allowed in this film to do much. His character is just a subdued sidekick of Alice...

Another big issue with this film is that everything is centred around Alice and it really is hard to understand why is she SOOO important? Alice! Who the (----) is Alice!? But even worse, Alice enters the movie for real only after 40 minutes and in the meantime nothing really very important happens...

The second part of the film (once Alice appears) is slightly better than the completely useless first 40 minutes, but the operative word here is "slightly". There is a couple of good action scenes, but they are few and short. Of course, between those good action scenes quite a lot of munitions gets expended but mostly it is just a shooting of various fish in the barrels.

There is one sequence, involving an elementary school, which is not bad and will certainly delight all those who simply hate kids and puppies. It also makes sense that in the middle of an anthropophagic zombie infestation an elementary school is a particularly dangerous place, because playful kids need hearty balanced meals on a regular basis...))) On another hand the director couldn't follow this idea until its logical conclusion, because then this film would probably be banned in most countries...

The ending logically opens the way for the next film in the franchise and asks again the same question: Alice! Who the (----) is Alice?

Bottom line, this film is really not good and I managed to suffer through it all the way until the end only with some fast forwarding here and there (especially during all the one sided shootouts). This DVD is definitely NOT a keeper. Avoid!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2011
This is Great, I bought the episodes back to front . lol so Started of with Exinction, which is still my faverite of the episodes, although yet to buy the first one. I did get Afterlife too, and although it was pretty good, wasnt to keen on Mila with shaved head lol The ending on the Arcadia, was strange, and no idea who this woman in charge of the fleet of choppers inbound, wearing that red spider amulet is, so I think probably be another film in the workings, dont know really.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2016
Having bought a copy of this DVD many years ago from Woolworths and not having watched it for a while I was more than a little upset when my Samsung Cinema System DVD Player crashed when I clicked on Play Film. However the DVD played okay in the Toshiba unit plugged directly into the TV, and since has also played in a Toshiba TV with in-built DVD player, even if there were some seconds where the disc whirred before playing. As such I decided to replace the disc in case it was slightly damaged. Sadly the copy I bought here has the same problem. This cannot be the fault of the seller but appears to be a slight coding problem of the data on the disc.

Just wondering if other purchasers have experienced the same issues as me?

The seller was very quick and, again, is not at fault here.

It might be the Samsung Cinema System but there are glitches from the main menu on the Toshiba units too and films 1, 3 and 4 in the series (and all other DVDs) play fine on the Cinema System.

Great film though from a series which is due to be added to in 2017!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)