Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my most favourite film.
This film is the my favourite films to watch, i have seen it like 30 times or so and never get bored of watching this film. Its funny, the action sequences are good, theres a good plot, the whole thing is basically the whole humour cop/bad guy theme which is a genre that delights me. The difference with this one is that we get an LA tough beet cop and a kung-fu specialist...
Published on 8 Jan 2007 by Amo, UK

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rush Hour Blu-ray
Very disappointed. Has not been remastered. Picture quality is no better than the Dvd. What a waste of money. I thought the idea of Blu-ray is to have far better picture and sound. Not so with a lot of the older ones as the companys are too lazy too re-master them. They just put the same quality onto a blu-ray disc just to get more money out of us suckers. Highly...
Published 21 months ago by Tigeress


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my most favourite film., 8 Jan 2007
By 
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This film is the my favourite films to watch, i have seen it like 30 times or so and never get bored of watching this film. Its funny, the action sequences are good, theres a good plot, the whole thing is basically the whole humour cop/bad guy theme which is a genre that delights me. The difference with this one is that we get an LA tough beet cop and a kung-fu specialist from Hong Kong who we first think speaks no english. The story and twists in the film make it spectacular, there are some really very amusing lines in this film as well.

Overall a must see if you are wanting a fun filled, action packed film thats not heavy and will put a smile on your face when finished. Like i said i enjoy watching this film the most, because it cheers me up every time i watch it. PS this one is a lot better than the second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fastest Hands In The East Meet The Biggest Mouth In The West, 13 Feb 2005
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Today, Jackie Chan is one of the biggest names in Hollywood, and the huge success of this film (it grossed over $120 million at the box office) certainly helped him, and gave him that little leg up that he needed to really get in there, afterwards enableing him to make some big budget movies that have themsleves done pretty well. Just when you think you're fed-up to the back teeth of Hollywood's seemingly endless stream of buddy-cop comedies, along comes one like 'Rush Hour' and all is forgiven.
Chan plays Lee, the Hong Kong cop who flies to the States to investigate the kidnapping of little Soo Yung, the daughter of Chinese consul and close friend Han. The trouble is, the Feds want him out of the way so they can get on with solving the crime themselves. So jabber-mouthed LAPD 'tec James Carter is brought on board to keep Lee out of the way - or, at least, that's the intention. Lee pn the otherhand has other ideas and goes about hunting down the kidnappers on his own.
The thing that characterises a Jackie Chan movie is the stunts. Not only the technicality and regularity of them, but the fact that he does them all himself, every single one and for this he has become particularly well known. In 'Rush Hour' the stunts are in abundence, and some of the scenes near the end of the film come to mind. The great thing about this is that when your watching the film (this or anyother Jackie Chan movie) and you see these amazing stunts that make you gasp, you know that they are all done without stunt doubles and make them all the more real, and all the more terrifying to watch.
Probably the main reason for this films huge success is the brilliant teaming of Jackie Chan and the hilarious Chris Tucker. The fastest hands in the east, meet the biggest mouth in the west. Thus giving the audience exactly the right amounts of both action (mainly from Chan) and comedy (mainly from Tucker), and therefore providing for every type of audience.
If you have the delight of getting this film on DVD then you will dicover a whole world of extras which inclucde a short film, seventeen featurettes, a look behind the scenes of the movie, loads of deleted scenes which were filmed but were not used in the final version, cast and crew stills (photos), and last but not least a trailer. This makes the DVD a much better buy and gives the fans something to get their teeth into as well.
Overall, 'Rush Hour' is a wonderful martial arts action movie that provides the right mix of comedy and action to entertain just about everyone. If you are a fan of Jackie Chan, Chris Tucker, martial arts films, or you just want to see some of Chan's brilliant stunts and fight sequences, this film is a must have and deserves a place on your shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete Subtitles & Specs, 31 May 2011
By 
MAIN FEATURE:
VIDEO: 1080p High Definition Widescreen 2.40:1

AUDIO:
DTS-HD Master Audio: English 7.1
Dolby Digital: Castilian Spanish 5.1, German 5.1, Italian 5.1, Thai 5.1, Czech 2.0, Latin Spanish 2.0
Dolby Stereo: Hungarian 2S

SUBTITLES: English, English SDH, Arabic, Bulgarian, Castilian Spanish, Complex Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Estonian, Finnish, German, German SDH, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Italian, Italian SDH, Korean, Latin Spanish, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovenian, Swedish, Thai, Turkish

SPECIAL FEATURES:
May not be in High Definition. Audio & subtitles may vary.

EAN: 5051892011686
ASIN: B003IHVKRO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, Funny and Fantastic, 22 April 2007
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Rush Hour is fast, funny and Fantastic. It is 2 hours of non stop entertainment. I have seen the sequel, No where near the Classic. Jackie Chan is amazing as the martial arts expert cop from Hong Kong. Chris Tucker is Hilarious as the fast talking cop from America. What happens when two people like this meet, Excitement and entertainment. This is Jackie's Best Hollywood Movie. I have seen a few Chris Tucker movie, this is his Best performance. I hope the third in the series will entertain as the First. If you have not seen this movie, then i recommend this movie. A great action comedy movie for all type of audience to enjoy. One of the best cop buddy movies since Lethal Weapon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and Action!, 10 Aug 2003
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Chris Tucker does an amazing job of being funny and being an action man! Personally i thought the mix of him and Jackie Chan would never work, but thankfully i was proofed wrong! Jackie Chan with his usual amazing action and at a couple of times he was actually funny. A good storyline, not too complicated, which is pulled off nicely. The extras are also quite interesing, but nothing amazing. You could easily watch this film a couple of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great DVD but......, 15 July 2001
By 
S Whittle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Its a great film, and the DVD has some excellent features, but for some reason when the actors are speaking chinese no subtitles appear to tell the viewer what they are saying. WHY? Its not a major thing, but still is dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rush Hour Blu-ray, 26 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed. Has not been remastered. Picture quality is no better than the Dvd. What a waste of money. I thought the idea of Blu-ray is to have far better picture and sound. Not so with a lot of the older ones as the companys are too lazy too re-master them. They just put the same quality onto a blu-ray disc just to get more money out of us suckers. Highly disappointed with the quality on this. If you have the Dvd then don't waste your money on the blu-ray. It's no better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best film........ever, 3 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rush Hour [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
Chris Tucker makes this film. Although Jackie Chan is amazing, Chris Tucker is the real star, a real 'brother' with heaps of attitude and some of the funniest lines in film history. this video was the soundtrack to the summer of 2000. All my friends knew every line and still use them in everyday language today. Buy this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, poor DVD, 3 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. S. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Brilliant special features, excellent picture and sound (except for a spot in the 5.1 version near the beginning) and a lovely movie. Unfortunately, The DVD has no English subtitles for the Chinese speaking parts. This is inexcusable. If you want the subtitles, get the VHS version as well.
Good film, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and funny, 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rush Hour [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I must say that I thouroughly enjoyed this DVD. Jackie Chan, a man who does all his own amazing stunts, comes back with a comic collaberation worthy of many awards. He combines comedy and action together wonderfully and with Chris Tucker acting as the new supercop, this film is definately worth a look. Jackie comes to America looking for the presidents kidnapped daughter and is teamed up with Chris (who doesn't believe he speaks English). Although this review doesn't represent the brilliance of this film, Jackie's amazing human feats teamed up with the witty comedy of the film makes this an excellent add on for the Jackie Chan series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rush Hour [UMD Mini for PSP]
Rush Hour [UMD Mini for PSP] by Robert Littman (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews