Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing
If you buy no other music DVD this year make sure that you have this one.
Set in Old Havana's beautiful Gran Teatro on a warm August evening the packed theatre is full of anticipation as Mick Hucknell walks onto a deserted stage apart from his pianist to sing "A Song For You," you might be forgiven to think it might look a bit desperate but suddenly the lights...
Published on 28 Dec 2005 by Richard

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This DVD is of the dress rehearsal or of a more resent visit POOR. Below average no energy
Don't get ripped off. Saw this concert some years ago on TV. Stunning. This DVD is of the dress rehearsal or of a more resent visit POOR .
Below average no energy. Guess Mick doesn't have the rites to the original.. Very disappointed.
Jan
Published 3 months ago by Mr Ian S Malek


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, 28 Dec 2005
By 
Richard (Axminster, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
If you buy no other music DVD this year make sure that you have this one.
Set in Old Havana's beautiful Gran Teatro on a warm August evening the packed theatre is full of anticipation as Mick Hucknell walks onto a deserted stage apart from his pianist to sing "A Song For You," you might be forgiven to think it might look a bit desperate but suddenly the lights shine on a young string section gleaned from the Havana orchestra who sound like silk and accompany Hucknell perfectly.
As the concert developes the stage and background transform slowly with scenery being added on with each song. Simply Red join Mick Hucknell on stage and they must be one of the best bands he has ever assembled. The rythm section are tight the horn section laid back. Kenji Suzuki plays a brilliantly seductive guitar and the backing singers so accomplished.
The concert is more or less in two halves slow ballads to begin with like a tempting treat of chocolates
The "second" part begins with "Sad old Red," played in a very swinging jazz mode. This followed by the evocative "Holding Back The Years" to a latin rythm that has the enthusiastic audience dancing in the aisles. Bunny Wailer's "Love Fire" gives Hucknell a chance to harmonise perfectly with his backing singers and the audience love it. This is followed by the Hall and Oates sounding "Sunrise" the electric atmosphere of the auditorium penetrates from the concert through the TV screen.
As the first bars of "Perfect Love" play on stage on come a group of young Cuban female dancers of the contemparory dance institute of Havana. The whole spectacle is vibrant with colour superb dancing and of course Mick Hucknell's voice which has never sounded better.
A trio of young horn players from Havan augment the band and the 24 year old trumpeter has to be heard to be believed.
"Fairground" is next and now the male dancers join the girls, and if anyone has ever seen Cuban Ballet they know what to expect. The routine,timing vividness compliment this great song perfectly.
The latin rythms have got the whole place dancing and "Something got me Started" Cuban style is a knockout.
After thanking the orchestra, band, dancers and the "public" Mick Hucknell finishes with "If you don't know me by now" a perfect end to a perfect concert. I hope Simply red go back again.
The production of this dvd is first class, the sound is of the highest quality as is the photography. It is accompanied by a pleasant documentary on how the concert was put together and a walkabout through old Havana. There is also a video of "Perfect Love."
I can thoroughly recommend this dvd as a refreshing tonic to all the gloom and bigotry in the world. It will make you feel happy and will definitely put a smile on your face. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply reignited, 10 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I always had a softspot for Simply Red and up until recently I'd forgot all about them. Then the BBC showed this concert over the Christmas holiday and was blown away by it. I hooked up my digibox to the hifi system and was mesmerised. Even though it wasn't 5.1 surround, the sound quality was just amazing for a live performance - the full range of acoustics and tones were explored. The concert starts in a more relaxed, subtle fashion and at first I thought it was going to be like this all the way through. I was wrong! Mick Hucknall lit up the stage and so did the rest of his musicians and dancers. The Cuban flavour of the music was particularly good and seemed an unlikely combination at first but soon made sense. It left quite an impression on me after I saw it and wanted to know where to buy it. Amazon obliged. Now I can't resist listening to their greatest hits CD until I see this concert once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just pure Music!!!!, 5 Feb 2006
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Beautiful show!!!
Excellent Audio quality, Magic performance, wonderful cenario!!!
Just unmissable!!!
A must have guaranted!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best music DVD ever ?, 17 Nov 2007
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I'm fortunate enough to have a projector and good-ish surround sound system at home; an excellent setup for concert DVDS, of which I have a dozen or so. The downside is that the projector can be a bit unforgiving on the visuals, particularly contrasty concert lightling.

The production of Cuba however stands out as being simply sensational - it's beautifully shot and lit; a pleasure to look at as well as to listen to, and looks fabulous even at high magnification. The audio quality is also superb, and really does justice to the almost exclusively acoustic / orchestral treatment of the songs.

Musically, the highlights are So Beautiful, It's Only Love, For your Babies and Fairground, old favourites which all benefit form the subtle orchestral reworking. My one criticism would be that a few classics from the albums up to Stars are missing, such as Turn it Up, Jericho, Money's too Tight and Heaven. However you can't have everything, and even without these it's still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 30 Dec 2007
By 
KT (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As with the other review, I purchased this after I was mesmerised by it when it was shown on TV. I have played it over and over again and never get bored with it. Vocals, band, dancers, venue are all outstanding. It is soulful, energetic and has a 'real feel good factor'.You will not be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best !, 23 Mar 2008
By 
S. D. Lambert (Eastleigh Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The Best Music DVD i have, never stopped playing this great DVD . Mick & the Band play CUBA all the hits & more with the Cuban feel fantastic vocals by Mick, & the band are fantastic , great musicans superb Music DVD great Sound & Vision also there is a documentry of the cuban concert & a couple of promo videos ,all in all ten out of ten highly recomended ! if there is one music DVD buy this one ! if you like Simply RED & great live Music ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 3 Dec 2010
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Even if you do not love Simply Red, but appreciate Cuban music, you will enjoy this. The support are all Cuban musicians and their style comes through in this live concert. Watched this many times. Prompt delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing!!!, 29 July 2010
By 
Lynda Marks (middlesex uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I first saw this concert on TV and recorded it on Video. I was so enthralled with it as I really think it is the best concert Simply Red have ever done. As I no longer have a video I just had to have it on DVD and have watched it a few times since receiving it a couple of weeks ago. Mick Hucknall is brilliant and very talented. If your'e a Simply Red fan then this is for you. Plan to see them in their farewell concert this December and can't wait!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away!, 27 May 2010
By 
Paul Alexander (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Wow, what can i say about this awesome dvd that hasn't been said in the other reviews. Firstly, i'm not a massive simply red fan, i'm more into rock music, but amazon listed this dvd in their recommendations to me so i read the reviews on their site and decided to take the plunge and buy it. And how i'm glad i did! The sound quality on my surround sound system is absolutely wonderful, one of the best i've ever heard, and i own well over 100 concerts on dvd. Mick's voice is on top form, soulful, soft, powerful, melodic. The Cuban feel gives old songs a different texture, which really works well. I love it! Whatever your music taste, buy this, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Red in Cuba - verdaderamente magnífica, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As a big fan of Simply Red I really loved this DVD - I have a CD of the concert which is also excellent - I travelled to Cuba during February 2014 and when I was in Habana, I visited the Theatre where the concert took place - I loved the bonus part of the DVD which had some great shots of the city and its people - i would have loved to have been there at that time to witness the concert - Cuba is a wonderful place and the marrying of the 2 is magic - the cuban dancers and musicians appearing towords the end of the concert add a different dimension which really adds to the whole spectacle - a truly wonderful concert ! Mick you are the greatest!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005]
Cuba! (Uk Only) [DVD] [2005] by Simply Red (DVD - 2005)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews